Charlott’s Web

Good morning!

I have a whole five minutes late at night to catch up and I’m taking them!

I would like to introduce you to a new member of our happy little hilltop home.

Meet Charlotte!

DSC_8358 

Yes she is a GIGANTIC spider that lives under the cabin. 

DSC_8362 

This pretty little lady is a Neoscona crucifera spotted orbweaver… more commonly known as a barn orb spider… before you try to talk yourself into thinking that she isn’t THAT big please be aware that she is eating a honey bee!

DSC_8368 

She just makes me weak in the knees and I’m not a squeamish woman.  That is a very big and very hairy spider!

DSC_8369 

Her web takes up a huge section of the area between posts on the deck… But she doesn’t sit on it… she’s up under the beams…

DSC_8372

See her hanging up there?  This picture was taken from flat on my back right under the web… She is about six feet away…  *SHUDDER* 

DSC_8373 

A friend asked me what camera and lens I used to take these photos so here’s the info.

My camera is a Nikon D40 and the lens I used for these zoom shots is a Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6 ED

In other news… 

Things are going well.  We are settling in nicely and enjoying our time with our family.  We miss Ryan so much but it’s been wonderful to be able to keep in touch with him during this deployment… He’s already been gone for over a month… the time is going quickly. 

Well, that’s about all I’ve got!  Take care and see you again soon!!!

Courtney

9 thoughts on “Charlott’s Web

  1. This whole post just gave me the heebie jeebies!! ::shudddddder:: Beautiful pictures though! I think of and pray for Ryan often. PRAISE the Lord for a month already being past! Praying these next months zoom by as well so your family can be reunited for a bit!Love you!

  2. Haha! Way to post a spider post on a site that mostly women use. ;)I pray for Ryan daily–many times more than just daily. The shawl, in our living room, on my rocker, reminds me when I see it.  Love you!

  3. eeeeeekk!! We used to sometimes get these big spiders, black with striped legs… I don’t know what they technically were called, but they always had a zig zaggy line down their webs, real thick like cotton…. I never tried running them away, they were very pretty. Didn’t play with them either though…

  4. We had HUGE spiders all around here last summer, and this year the ones I’ve seen are so small.  To stop from being afraid of them, we named them and fed them flies.  But this year we haven’t been able to do that.

  5. Thanks for the nature lesson.  Glad she lives at your house and not mine.  Once, I was cleaning and thought I saw a clump of dust or a furball from our cats.  I picked it up and it moved!    Needless to say, I dropped it quickly and left the room.   Eeek~!

Leave a Reply

