2 Songs

Yes, this challenge, as I have said in every entry, has been difficult… some parts of it more so than others.  However this request, to pick two songs, is IMPOSSIBLE!!! 

Music is so intertwined in our lives… it colors memories, evokes feelings, is wrapped around our lives from birth to death.  It opens the floodgates of heaven, stirs the soul, breaks your heart, brings healing, gives courage, it changes you from the inside out. 

How do I pick TWO?! 

That’s is very like asking me to pick a favorite day of my life!  Do I choose the day Ryan and I fell in love?  The day I got saved? Our first kiss?  The day Ryan proposed?  My wedding day? The day I found out that I was pregnant with Isaac?  The day my son was born?  The day my son said my name for the very first time?

They all have a song… how do I choose two?

z220592603

1. If I must choose… I’ll begin with my favorite worship song… for now. 

Revelation Song” by Kari Jobe.  This song breaks down to my very soul… I can’t help but sing along and lift my praises to God…

“Filled with wonder, awestruck wonder
at the mention of your name
Jesus your name is power
Breath, and living water
Such a marvelous mystery

Holy, holy, holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come
With all creation I sing
Praise to the King of Kings
You are my everything
And I will adore you.”

It never fails to lift me out of where I am and transport me to the throne room… who can ask for more in a song?

http://youtu.be/FObjd5wrgZ8

2. My second song would have to be “Storybook Love” by Mark Knopfler

Yes my second favorite song in all the world is the theme song from The Princess Bride… lame, I know. 

This song is part joke and part all seriousness.  Ryan and I are preschool sweethearts… our love was destiny… it was a dance for years and years and in the end… I get to lay down every night beside the boy that captured my heart at seven years of age.  So…

“He said, “Don’t you know, I love you, oh, so much
And lay my heart at the foot of your dress?”
She said, “Don’t you know that storybook loves
Always have a happy ending?”
Then he swooped her up just like in the books
And on his stallion they rode away

My love is like a storybook story
But it’s as real as the feelings I feel
My love is like a storybook story.”

http://youtu.be/swDwWEMKbM0

I can’t say I’m happy to leave it here… but that after all is the challenge…

Courtney

4 thoughts on “2 Songs

  1. Aah, Storybook Love. I never noticed the song before meeting Steve. He photographed a friend’s wedding and put the pics to music on a DVD for them. He chose that song. It will ever be Steve’s song in my heart. I’m glad I never noticed it before him.I don’t know what I’m going to do when I get to this challenge. What do I pick?!?!

Leave a Reply

