3 Movies

As with every other part of this challenge so far this was difficult for me.  I suppose I should just say that the entire 10 day challenge has been… well… challenging!  To pick only three movies is asking a lot from a child of the movie generation!  Add to that fact that Ryan and I are ardent collectors and lovers of film and you have asked the impossible of me!  We collect everything; old black and white films such as Fred Astair and Ginger Rodgers movies, John Wayne westerns, comedies, dramas, romantic comedies, B movies, horror films, name it and we probably have it… 

So here we go… THREE MOVIES!  Uhg…

z220592603

My all time favorite movie is a toss up so numbers one and two are a tie for first place… as strange as it will seem.

1. Pride and Prejudice. 

Any version of this movie will work in a pinch but if we are talking favorites it simply MUST be A&E’s excellent version with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth.  I love it.. it has been an all time favorite of mine since I saw it for the first time in 1997.  I had just suffered my very first broken heart and spent many nights laying awake wallowing in my misery.  One night I was flipping channels and a beautiful dance scene full of dresses caught my attention and I just kept watching.  Six hours later the movie was over, my eyes were gritty with lack of sleep and I was in love with Mr. Darcy A whole new facet of beauty had been added to my world and I quickly purchased the film for my very own.  Mr. Darcy went a long way over the next six months towards healing my broken heart and for that he will ever have a spot there. 

firth

2. Princess Bride

I have loved this movie for as long as I can remember.  I love the silly romance, I love the tongue-in-cheek witticisms, I love the silly story, I love the swordfighting, I love the piracy on the high seas… I LOVE IT ALL!  I am privileged beyond words to be living this movie in my own life… in a way.  I thought all my life that I wanted to marry the classic tall dark handsome brooding poetic man…  As a teenager I would have gladly married Mr. Darcy, and though he still makes my heart pitter patter, in reality Wesley is more my type.  Ryan and I have a perfect marriage… for us!  I love our silly romance, I love our tounge-in-cheek witticisms, I love our silly story, I love our life and this movie is like a lovely inside joke of a photo album for it.  Though you’ll never here either of us say “As you wish!”

princessbride454_screen

3. Star Trek.  Any of them will do… I love them all.

You think I’m joking?  I named my dog Spock, do you need farther proof?  I grew up watching the original series with James T. Kirk, Spock, Bones, Uhura, Scotty, and Chekov at my father’s knee.  All my childhood imagination is tied up in them… and in their adventures.  I still love watching every movie… though the original cast will never be replaced for me.    

star-trek-2009-020-01  

There are so many more… John Wayne movies that are near and dear to my heart, Star Wars, P.S. I Love You (which is my I-need-to-ugly-cry movie) and oh so many more…

Until the next impossible task.

Courtney

4 thoughts on “3 Movies

  1. “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.””You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.””Hello Lady”And this is why I call you Daughter of my Heart. Silly girl…Love your choices. Love you!

  2. Gosh, we have to do only 3 movies? These choices are a neat reflection of you. For me, the 2009 Star Trek is one of my all-time favorite flicks, but I don’t think it will hit my top 3.  We’ll see what I come up with in a few days…

  3. The princess bride is awesome…. first time I saw it was **cut to flashback scene** on laser disc…. in fact, I think that was the only full length feature I saw on the lost format.  😀  I have to say I’m a star wars geek at heart too…. though my favorite trek is still next generation.

Leave a Reply

