4 Books

This was an impossible challenge and I am not at all satisfied with the results.  I AM A MAJOR BOOKHOUND.  I’ve read thousands over my lifetime… perhaps tens of thousands.  There is no way to pick four… I did my very best.

z220592603

1. My number one favorite book has to be the Bible.  It is the only book ever written that lives… It can comfort me in any situation, it is relevant in every part of my life.  No matter how many times I’ve read through it, it has something new to say.  I always find solace, help, comfort, healing in the word.  I am never disappointed if I truly make the effort to listen.

2. My second favorite book is Crocodile on the Sandbank by Elizabeth Peters.  In truth the entire 18 book book Amelia Peabody series is my favorite but as I’m only allowed to pick one book the first one will do.  This series is about a heroine named Amelia who is a proper Victorian English lady who travels to Egypt as a tourist and finds a life she never knew she wanted.  She becomes a detective, an archeologist, a wife, a mother…  and the next 17 books follow her life and the lives of her family.  In fact my email signature is a quote from Amelia.  Words to live by.

“It is much more sensible to be an optimist instead of a pessimist.  For if one is doomed to disappointment, why experience it in advance?”

3. My third favorite book would have to be Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin.  I have been in love with the story for all of my adult life (not to mention Mr. Darcy).  It fascinates and inspires me!

4.  I’m cheating for my fourth book.  I can’t pick one so I’m going to pick an author because in reality just pick one of her books and you’ll have a favorite of mine.  Colleen Coble.  I recently discovered her through Booksneeze.com and a free book given to me for review.  In the roughly two months since I have read EVERY SINGLE BOOK she’s written and I’m chomping at the bit for more.  I’ve hooked my mother and sister on her as well and have hopes to hook every single one of you!  🙂  She writes Christian fiction romance/mysteries.  I LOVE THEM!  She is a well versed and intelligent writer that keeps you guessing until the very end and just plain delivers.  I highly recommend you give her a try!

Okay that’s all I’m allowed for this round!

Courtney

5 thoughts on “4 Books

  1. I meant to see if my Library has her books. Logging off here now to go check!  But before I go, you should know that I’m probably gonna take a pass on this challenge. I’ve been reading ahead and I can’t narrow the book thing down, or the songs….they ask too much!

  2. @sulimb – I can understand that… it’s actually been quite a challenge for me to really narrow things down…  I just love that it’s challenging me to spend some time here for a change!  Let me know if you find her!  I loved EVERY SINGE SERIES and her single book Wild Fire is about the RIM!  Fantastic all!

  3. @NightCometh – I struggled and struggled with this!  I finally chose to pick the Bible, one clasic and two contemporary authors… one who writes about modern times and one classical times…  P&P and Jane Eyre were neck and neck…  P&P won by a hair’s breadth.

Leave a Reply

