A Reluctant Queen The Love Story of Esther by Joan Wolf

A Reluctant Queen by Joan Wolf

_225_350_Book_421_cover

A Reluctant Queen The Love Story of Esther by Joan Wolf

This book is a retelling of the biblical story of Esther.  She is a young Jewish woman who is called upon by her people to become the wife of a king to save them.  She goes through months of preparation before her meeting with this man and against all odds is chosen to become his queen.  When circumstances unfold that put the Jewish race, her people, in danger she must find the courage to put her faith in God and go before the king to save them.  It is a story of courage and faith that will inspire you.

This book caught me completely off guard.  I LOVED it.  I think that we all too often forget to give humanity to the people in the Bible.  They are so far removed and we hear their stories from such a young age that they stop being people and become characters.  This book was a rare gift for me… a chance to see this young woman with all her fears, insecurities, hopes and dreams truly put her faith in God and overcome.  I loved seeing the love story unfold between her and the king and to watch the hand of God work in her story.  I know that everything in this book was not historically accurate and that the author took admitted liberties with the story but for me it’s a tool to help me understand one of the best examples about faith.  I highly recommend it!  I’ve known this story my whole life and today I feel like I’ve met Esther for the first time.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

Leave a Reply

