Our first Thanksgiving as three!

This year was our first Thanksgiving as a family of three!

It was a wonderful day and we have so very much to be thankful for.

It started with a very happy and smiley boy!

“Okay mom take your picture… oooo what’s that!?”

DSC_5690

“Okay I’m lookin’!”

DSC_5691

“Look mom it’s my elephant!”

DSC_5702

Then we got everyone up and dressed for the day…  I LOVE those ears!

DSC_5707

“Whatcha talkin’ about momma?”

DSC_5708

Then we watched Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade! 

“Look momma it’s starting!”

DSC_5712

“Whoa… that’s really far down!”

DSC_5716

My boys settled in to watch it…  It’s amazing how much they don’t look alike… I mean… you would just never know that Ryan was his daddy unless I told you right?

DSC_5728

Isaac found his favorite part of Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade.  Tom the Turkey!  (He is sponsored by The Food Network and we do watch it quite a bit!)

“Get in my belly turkey boy!”

DSC_5734

“No really, I mean it!”

DSC_5746

Isaac took a nap and then was up and ready to eat Thanksgiving dinner… See his shirt?  It says “Baby’s 1st Thanksgiving turkey carrots sweet potatoes peas.”

DSC_5750

He and daddy came out to find mommy hard at work in the kitchen… It takes a lot of time and effort to make a tasty Thanksgiving feast without a bit of dairy… Just think about that… no butter, cream, heavy whipping cream, ice cream, whipped cream, milk, sour cream…  It was a feat!

DSC_5759

A few hours later they came back to find one tired momma with one monster mess on her hands.

DSC_5764

But my turkey came out beautifully!  I couldn’t be more pleased!

DSC_5767

Just look at the beautiful bird! 

DSC_5769

Sage stuffing with fresh herbs, carrots, parsnips, celery, sausage and a pinch of this and that.  It was amazing!

DSC_5772

Roasted garlic mashed potatoes.  I had to make these with olive oil butter and non dairy coffee creamer.  They were pretty good too!

DSC_5773

Herb gravy… eh… not so hot… I’m a very bad gravy maker.  Too bad all the cheater packs have milk in them because this is not a strong suit of mine in the kitchen!

DSC_5774

Our feast…

DSC_5775

Of course there was a home made pecan pie for dessert… not my favorite but the only dessert in my bag of tricks that doesn’t use milk or butter!

DSC_5776

Mommy showing off her turkey to her turkey!

DSC_5778

“Say hi baby!” (And yes he’s changed into a Star Trek shirt that says “I Just Boldly Went” because he did and we lost his cute Thanksgiving shirt to day old peas… *snort*)

DSC_5780

Time for Isaac’s Thanksgiving feast!  He isn’t too sure… 

DSC_5793

Does this set up look familiar?  Yep it’s just like his shirt…  turkey carrots sweet potatoes peas

“Okay momma… Give it to me!”

DSC_5797

We decided his food for the day would be turkey.  In goes the spoon…. he isn’t too sure…

DSC_5801

MIND MADE UP!  NO MORE!!!!  Shortly after we switched back to squash and all was well… the meats will have to wait for a while…  We tasted it out of curiosity and let’s just say I don’t blame him… YUCK!

DSC_5805

After dinner we decorated for Christmas! 

DSC_5807

DSC_5815

Pretty! 

DSC_5812

Somewhere in there Isaac went down for his afternoon nap and mommy and daddy pulled the wishbone in front of the Christmas tree…

DSC_5819

Then we had pie! (Well Ryan had this pie as that is home made vanilla lemon whipped cream on top!)

DSC_5824

Ooooo good pie! (And good down time… I’m exhausted!)

DSC_5828

Stay away from my pie!

DSC_5830

We spent the next few days enjoying each other and leftovers… It was a lovely holiday weekend!  

I hope all of you had a wonderful holiday with family and friends.  Take care!

Courtney

P.S.  Now I can say it… MERRY CHRISTMAS!

 

11 thoughts on “Our first Thanksgiving as three!

  1. Sounds like a GREAT holiday!! šŸ™‚ I have to say, even though I don’t like stuffing or mashed potatoes, I would try yours! They look good. And can I just add that you look FABULOUS!! How did you JUST have a baby?!?! I am impressed šŸ˜‰

  2. All the food looks SO yummy!! Beautiful dishes too! It really looks like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! MERRY CHRISTMAS my beautiful friend! Love you!@glittrnglamr – You should see her in real life, she’s gorgeous! And her personality matches too. She’s the best

  3. Looks like an amazing Thanksgiving! I’m glad you enjoyed it! I can’t believe we completely forgot about the Macy’s Day Parade this year. It completely slipped my mind. You son is so adorable, I love the ears too. šŸ™‚

  4. I didn’t’ get to watch the parade this year ( I overslept!) but I feel like I did because of your post! :)I think you might have said, but I forgot…why can’t you have dairy?

  5. I love that picture of you and Isaac at the table.  So sweet.I love that you set up the picture of Isaac with the baby food like the shirt…and how you focused on Isaac in one and the food in the other.  The food looks so pretty in your dishes!  Well done on the no milk meal!  My mom is allergic to milk protein, too.  It is always “fun” trying to make a meal for her side of the family.  Mom can’t have milk; Boppa can’t have caffeine, chocolate, salt (which rules out many meats), or sugar and he can only have certain amounts of liquids and certain amounts of particular veggies; cousin Shelly is a vegetarian; Aunt Judy only eats certain foods; Uncle John and Diane are diabetics; the little ones don’t like all the fancy foods; and of course everyone has their preferences on  pies and such.  Oye!  So I can understand your pain.  And I applaud you.    Oh, and I love the pictures in front of the parade.  And holy cow- I am always amazed at how much Isaac looks like Ryan.  CRAZY!

Leave a Reply

