Aufweidersehen my sweet boy…

Eight years ago Ryan gave me a wonderful gift for our anniversary.

He took me to the pound and let me pick out a puppy! 

The moment I saw him I knew he was mine…  A rambunctious black and white ball of fur and teeth that I knew would be enormous and shed like it was going out a style…  A puppy that made every single one of our family members think to themselves “What were they thinking!?”

I was thinking that I was in love and that my life would never be the same.

We named him Gandalf… and our lives never were close to the same.  (And yes, that’s me.)

puppy2.jpg

He chewed EVERYTHING!  Curtains off the rods, the tablecloth off the table, the table leg, laundry off the line, he unraveled a whole crocheted blanket about two rows before I finished it (and that was back when I was just learning and it took me almost 3 months to make it!) the couch pillows, walls, and Ryan’s two hundred dollar steel toed work boots. 

But I loved him…  we all did.

conedog.jpg

He grew to monstrous proportions!  And still believed he was a lap dog!  Oh the laughes we had!

lapdog.jpg

He would walk with me wherever I went and lay out with me when I gardened… He was my shadow…  I know God made him just for me.

Flagdog.jpg

He loved to run and play in the grass and enjoyed everything about life… Oh how shiny and good the world looks through the eyes of a dog!

DSC_7812.JPG

He thought he was people and even attempted to take Grandpa’s RV for a spin!  πŸ™‚  You just couldn’t be sad around the G-man.

DSC_1171.JPG

He walked beside me for eight years… He moved with me to Germany and back again to Texas… He’s seen almost as much of the world as I have.

100_5996.JPG

He always had a smile for anyone that took the time to notice…

100_4176.JPG

He was beautiful and sweet….

100_4175.JPG

He loved his daddy and his mommy and his brother with all of his heart and protected us all no matter how scared he was.

100_4171.JPG

When I was sad he cuddled with me… He kept watch over me when I was sick, when Ryan was deployed, when I lost my babies, when my heart was breaking… And he stayed by my side for my whole pregnancy as if he knew that something joyful was happening!

DSC_3471.JPG

He has been a part of so much of my life that I can’t imagine the rest of my life without him…

DSC_3556.JPG

He’s people… he’s family…

DSC_4422.JPG

He’s a son, a big brother…

DSC_4403.JPG

And as of today he’s gone…

DSC_7754.JPG

Ryan and I said goodbye to Gandalf today.  His hips and legs just wouldn’t hold the big guy anymore.  

DSC_3506.JPG

I’ll never forget those beautiful brown eyes that seemed to know just what you were thinking… I’ll miss talking to him on lonely nights and just knowing that he got it.

DSC_0150_00.JPG

I’ll miss the begging every night for his rawhide treat.  I’ll miss the big happy face smiles when he got his favorite thing… FOOD!  His toothy grin and his snuffly nose…

DSC_6103.JPG

I’ll miss him…

My world just lost a little sunshine today and heaven got a little bit brighter…

“No the journey doesn’t end here.  Death is just another path, one that we all must take.  The grey rain curtain of this world rolls back, and all turns to silver glass and then you see it.  White shores, and beyond, a far green country under a swift sunrise.”

~Gandalf the White from Return of the King~

DSC_5718.JPG

Goodbye my sweet boy, you know how much we love you, for always.

Mommy

Thank you for all of you that loved him with us…  you know that he loved you back… because nothing about Gandalf was small… especially his heart.

19 thoughts on “Aufweidersehen my sweet boy…

  1. I’m crying so hard I can barely breathe. What a beautiful tribute to such a sweet, precious boy. I’m so sorry Courtney. Please know that Gandalf will be so deeply missed.Love you.

  2. My sincere condolences for the loss of your beloved Gandalf.  I know just how you feel.  I’ve lost several friends, and now we have a mini schnauzer (I see you have one, too) with diabetes.  Once, in deep grief, I asked The Good Lord about seeing my friends again.  Something told me to open the Bible that was on the coffee table in front of me.  There was an answer in a passage on the opened page that filled me with joy.   I was amazed that it answered my question perfectly–too much so to be a coincidenceSince then, I have searched over and over, and never found that passage again.I suggest you google “Rainbows Bridge poem.”  It’s very comforting.

  3. I am reccing this post because of the wonderful tribute to your beloved dog.  I know that so many will join in grieving with you over the loss of Gandalf, because he’s part of your family.  I know you love him, Courtney.  May the wonderful memories never fade, and may God comfort you in this time of loss. 

  4. Courtney…I am sorry for your loss.  When my dog passed away it broke my heart.  I was devestated for a long time.  I know you have a big void in your family now.  My love and prayers go out to you all, especially as you have so many other things going on.

  5. Sorry for you loss.  I can feel your pain.  I lost my 1/2 Lab and 1/2 St. Bernard, 140 lb. best friend a year ago.  I love the visual tribute to your fur buddy.

  6. I completely understand and feel horrible for you.  My childhood dog Wolfie got the bad hips & legs when she was 13, and we had to put her down as well.  Such a horrible time.  I picked her out of her litter.  She was almost the smallest one, but had beautiful brown eyes, and when I walked into the pen at 4 years old she was the one sitting in the back, and the one who licked me so gently when I went up to her.  She was a good girl all her 13 years, and was my best pet.  I still miss her, and it’s been 12 years since she died.

  7. Oh Courtney!  I’m so sorry that he had to put him down, right in the middle of all of this craziness in your life!  He had such a good life with you and Ryan!  I loved reading this and seeing the pictures.  This was a beautiful tribute to Gandalf.  What a sweet boy.  I’m amazed at all he has been through with you in his life!  What a faithful friend.  Hugs!Oh, and I loved the slideshow in the last post.  It made me get all teary all over again, even though I’d seen most of those pictures before.  There is just something about putting music to pictures that makes me cry.

Leave a Reply

