Life… More Abundant!

Just when I was beginning to believe that life was settling down into a schedule again… Just when I was beginning to believe that my sanity was settling back over me…

LIFE HAPPENS!

 

Things are going okay around here.  Isaac is having some pretty bad tummy issues, as in, he basically has an ulcer.  He’s been fussy when he eats for weeks…  We knew he was gassy but when we talked to the nurse about it they said it was probably just trauma from his hospital stay… They were probably right… but I think it was on top of other issues.  As the weeks have gone on and he hasn’t gotten better we started to worry.  

Then a few days ago we noticed some very unusual poop.  🙂  (Ah parenthood)  We took him in because better safe than sorry right?  RIGHT!  Turns out he has dried blood in his stool which means he’s bleeding in his stomach…  So he’s on Prevacid and I spent the morning with a dietician making a plan for my diet to try to eliminate what it is that’s bothering him…

Poor pitiful little guy… 

DSC_4154

Say a prayer for him if you think of it… In other news… He’s now up to 9 pounds and 10 ounces!!!  He gained almost 2 pounds in the past 17 days!  WOW!!! 

DSC_4160

But that isn’t the big news going down around here…

Gandalf hurt himself while we were in the hospital for Isaac a few weeks ago.  He also had to go without his pain meds…  When we came home he could barely walk… It’s been three weeks and he’s not getting any better…  With all that’s going on we can’t afford more in depth vet visits…  Things aren’t looking good for the big guy and I’m heartbroken over it…

That’s still not the biggest news…

We need to buy a new car and due to some circumstances that I’ll explain later we need to do it in the next 5 weeks.  We have simply outgrown the Scion as a trip car and as I do so many long trips with the dogs, luggage, and now a baby we need to upgrade.  The timing is bad.  We really can’t afford it right now but we absolutely can’t afford not to right now.

Still not the biggest news…

We found out just a few short days ago that we are finally getting a house on base.  It’s a few hundred square feet smaller than we were promised but we have to take it or we get bumped… that’s only mildly annoying compared to the fact that they are giving it to us (and therefore charging us for it) a full three weeks early.  This means that for the month of July we will be paying double rent… Just the financial strain we needed right now. 

Here is a picture of the dumpy little 50’s house we’ll be calling home for the next 3 years. 

DSC_4164

I know it’s a blessing and so much more than what so many have so I’m over it but it was just sudden and it’s always disappointing to have a promise broken. 

 We’re actually really excited about it.  This house doesn’t have mold or snakes or plumbing issues ect… and if anything like that comes up there is a 24 hour on call free maintenance service…  Not to mention we’ll save some money and be so close to Ryan’s office and all the amenities that the base has to offer.  The clinic is only a three minute walk away along with they gym!  This is going to simplify our lives in a big way!

However, we have to pack out the whole house and move ourselves too which was not part of the plan.  We were supposed to have movers, but circumstances make it the only option…  This is going to be very difficult to do with a sick baby and serious dietary restrictions for me…

So in about ten days my mom will be coming to Texas once again to help us pack up and move because all that needs to be accomplished will be impossible with only two of us and one car. 

Now for the biggest news…

We just found out that Ryan is deploying.  He leaves sometime mid August for 7 months.  I can’t give you exact dates and locations. 

So in three weeks I’m moving and in a little more than five weeks I’m saying goodbye to Ryan for 7 months… This will be the first time he’s ever missed Christmas (don’t know how that’s worked out!) and it will be Isaac’s first Christmas… He’ll also miss Thanksgiving and my 30th birthday… Not to mention rolling over, sitting up, smiling, babbling, crawling, possibly walking and first words…  I’m heartbroken for him.

This is our life, and we know it, I’m fine just a bit overwhelmed… That’s an awful lot to deal with in 24 hours. 

I’ll let you know as we get more details… but as a result of all of this I probably won’t be around for a while longer… I’m doing my best to stay caught up with you and I miss you all so much! 

Thanks for letting me vent a little…

All my love,

Courtney

Just for fun and to lighten the mood… Here is a slideshow I made to the song “Me” by Plumb. 

 

9 thoughts on “Life… More Abundant!

  1. I hate that hes deploying 😦 I just went through the same thing and my Isaac will be 8 months old when Daddy gets home. Give yourself time to be upset, people say the baby makes time go faster, it will..but you also need to take time for yourself. Its extremely hard, but you CAN do it!Pictures, emails, videos will keep them connected.  Check out hugahero.com and you can buy a Daddy doll with Ryans picture on it, and he can record his voice for Isaac 🙂  Your little guy has had to deal with So much, hes such a fighter ❤

  2. Oh Courtney! What a lot to deal with right now!Call in as many folks as you possibly can to get you packed up. Call on your church, your Sunday School, your neighbors if you know them. Call on absolutely anybody you know!I have been and will continue to pray for you, Ryan, Isaac, and Gandalf. (Although Gandalf is new to that list!)

  3. Oh wow – that is a major amount of stuff thrown at y’all in such a short amount of time! Hopefully the new diet will  help Issac out, and he’ll be back to his happy self in no time 🙂 It’s such a blessing our mom is able to come down to help – but it suks you can’ thave movers! our house on base looked exactly like that one, too funny! I’mm sorry to hear about Ryan deploying so soon – y’all will be in our prayers!

  4. I am so sorry this is all happening to you! Try going to CarMax to get a car. There is one a few exits from Fredericksburg and I can’t remember the exit name since it’s been changed lol. I think Spotslyvania but I am not 100%. It doesn’t sound right to me but it does begin with an S lol. I’m so sorry Isaac is sick! I’m praying for you and the family. I want to cry knowing hubby is deploying. I will pray for his safe return and I hope something happens in which somebody else takes his spot. My hubby usually does things like that and volunteers himself for guys with families. I will pray something happens like that. If you need anything I am here

  5. don’t you have a military clause in your lease?  you shouldn’t have to pay double-ask legal to look at your lease.    or rather, the housing office.I’m heartbroken for you regarding the deployment.  Wish it could be to Korea that way you could just go!  🙂  Will he come home for two weeks sometime during it?I’m glad you are such a great photographer!  at least he’ll get to “see” your life.I hate to ask such a stupid question, but why can’t you just stay in your house til the end of July and then move to Phoenix for the seven months.  You could always put yourself back on the housing list 3 months from the end of the deployment and leave the bulk of your stuff in storage.  The military has to pay for you to stay and it doesn’t have to be in Del Rio.Could the dried blood be anything else?  Seems unusual that he would gain 2 lbs in two weeks if he was really in big trouble?  Sounds like your milk is perfect!  Dairy seems to be the biggest culprit through.  I’ve though about cutting it out too, though I don’t eat much anyway!

  6. Oh my goodness Courtney!  That’s so much to deal with!I hope Isaac feels better soon and the moves goes well and everything else falls into place.  I’ll be keeping you in my prayers.((hugs))

  7. Oh-my-oh-my life really did “happen” as you put it. Your lil man will definatly be in my prayers that his tummy gets better. Prevacid is some good stuff and I’ve seen it work really well on babies/kids when I worked in peds. Plus he could grow out of whatever dietry restrictions you are doing now- so it’s not permanent which is good.  And poor gandolph- definatly also in mhy prayers. That’s certainly a lot to take in w/ the upcoming move and deployment right around the corner. What a wonderful mom you have coming down to help out like that. Hang in there girl and much love!

  8. I’m sorry I missed commenting on your protected post that you did.  I saw that it was there, but I didn’t have time to read it right then.  I think it was basically this though, right?Anyhow, I’m so sorry that all of this is happening at once!  Yikes!  Your little family is in my prayers.  I’m so sorry Ryan is going to miss Christmas for the first time and Isaac’s first Christmas!  That happened to my cousin, too.  He missed his son’s first Christmas.  So they had Christmas via the phone.  Daddy listened in while they opened presents back home.  :)I hope Isaac is doing better and that the move went well!

Leave a Reply

