Isaac Orion makes his debut!

I know that this is way overdue… My only excuse is that I have been BUSY!  Most of you know already… however…

I would like to announce that Isaac Orion Laube is here!

He was born on Mother’s day (How amazing is that? God is so faithful!) May 9th 2010 at 8:02am.  He weighed in at 6 pounds 6 ounces and is 18 and 1/2 inches long.

I wrote on Friday, the 7th, that I was 36 weeks and full term.  It never occurred to me that I would be sharing the very last pictures of me pregnant… that my one and only bare belly picture was the last simply because I would never have the opportunity to take more!

On Saturday Ryan and I set out to get the last few things ready around the house so that we wouldn’t be in a huge rush right at the end of my pregnancy.  We had things split into two days…  We would do the yard and house work on Saturday and the last little baby things on Sunday after church.  If we had only known! 

Ryan headed outside to clear our alley and do the yard work and I set out to vacuum and dust and do some other small chores…  Five o’clock rolled around and I was just done!  (Done working but certainly not done with the work!)  I couldn’t believe how tired and sore I was because I had done almost nothing!  I was having contractions every 20 or 30 minutes and told Ryan that I was just going to sit down and drink a ton of water because I probably had just not had enough.  So I sat…  I kept a lid on it until about 8pm when I finally told Ryan that they weren’t really slowing down.  In fact I could time them about 7 or 8 minutes apart. 

Ryan started to get worried and I assured him that every woman has good practice contractions in the last few weeks of pregnancy.  We watched a little TV and went to bed at about 11pm.  I laid awake for hours.  The contractions were strong enough that I couldn’t sleep through them but it was four weeks early so I just decided I was being a wimp.  I pulled out my What to Expect When You’re Expecting book (which I had not picked up since my first trimester) and read about the stages of labor and started to wonder…  

Finally at about 2am I started to time the contractions.  While Ryan slept beside me I timed my contractions at 3 minutes apart and 45 seconds long for a full HOUR!  At 3am I woke Ryan up and let him know we needed to get ready and go. 

Poor Ryan.  You have to realize that I had been quiet about everything so he went from peaceful sleep to rushing around the house packing a daddy bag at 3am from a page in a book since we hadn’t gotten that far and getting me ready to go to the hospital in a matter of moments!

I got up and took a quick shower and away we went… 

I was checked into the hospital at 5:10am…

100_7169.JPG

And then they checked me.  Imagine my surprise when they told me I was already at 8cm and 95% effaced!!! 

Well, I wasn’t too shocked… those puppies hurt!!!   

100_7172.JPG

They rushed to start and IV and in the rush they totally blew my vein.  I’m pointing at the huge blood pocket that developed over less than five minutes…  It’s more than two weeks later and it still hurts but at least the bruise is finally starting to fade.

100_7173.JPG

 Ryan decided that there should be documentation of my contractions.  I guess this would be a good time to tell you that by the time I was checked into the hospital it was too late for any pain killers whatsoever.  They talked about the possibility of an IV push but it ended up being too late for that as well. 

100_7175.JPG

 So I was just breathing through these puppies.  In the end, the only pain killer I had through the whole experience was Extra Strength Tylenol for muscle pain.  They tried to give me Vicodin but I was determined to breastfeed and couldn’t figure out how that was supposed to work.  Vicodin knocks me out!

I had a nurse that almost got seriously decked!  She kept coming in the room and hiding in the corner…  As soon as a serious contraction would hit me she would come over and start asking me questions. 

100_7177.JPG

I did my best to breath through the pain and answer every one.  About 5 minutes before they set me up to push she told me… 

“I just have to say that I seriously admire your control.  I’ve never seen anyone push aside the pain that way and keep talking!  You’re my hero!” 

It was then that I realized she had been doing it on purpose to see how far she could push me!  As much as I seriously appreciate the compliment… HOW ANNOYING!  She even had me signing paperwork until I was in transition and my hands were shaking so bad that I couldn’t hold the pen… then she says…

“No worries, Daddy can sign all of these for you.”

What?!  Why was she having me sign them then!!!?  Oh well, at least I stayed a lady and got some kudos for it!

Here I am about 20 minutes out from pushing!   

100_7178.JPG

When the time came it came fast!  After about 20 minutes of pushing Isaac Orion Laube made his appearance. 

100_7180.JPG

Tiny and perfect… 

100_7183.JPG

They were worried about him being so early so they put an oxygen mask on him for about five minutes to make sure his little lungs dried out.  But there was nothing to worry about! 

100_7186.JPG

He weighed in at 6 pounds and 6 ounces.  They said that if he had gone full term he would have been well over 8 pounds!

100_7188.JPG

He was 18 and 1/2 inches long and ready to stretch out!

DSC_3720.JPG

 Such a sweet little guy…

DSC_3712.JPG

 Here I am shortly after his birth looking a bit worse for wear… and a bit shell shocked!  (The orange paper mache flower was my Mother’s Day gift from the hospital staff.)

DSC_3716.JPG

 Holding my son (WOW) shortly after his birth. 

DSC_3728.JPG

 Ryan in full ‘Shock and Awe’ mode.  Remember… he had exactly 5 hours to get used to the idea of being a daddy TODAY! 

DSC_3743.JPG

 “I’M A BOY!”

DSC_3748.JPG

 Ryan wanted to document the very first middle of the night feeding… 

DSC_3758.JPG

 Here I am shortly after the clock shot, burping Isaac. 

DSC_3762.JPG

 Daddy taking a turn… stay awake!

DSC_3764.JPG

 Ten perfect little toes!

DSC_3770.JPG

 Baby LoJack!  No really…  It’s an alarm system that locks down the maternity ward if you take baby too close to the doors.  Pretty cool…

DSC_3771.JPG

 Daddy’s first night time diaper change.  Go Ryan!

DSC_3775.JPG

 Mustache kisses!

DSC_3781.JPG

They sent us all home the very next day since we were doing so well.  Here Isaac is all wrapped up in the baby Air Force blanket I’ve had in the making for years.  Talk about dreams realized… 

DSC_3789.JPG

 Nothing like daddy’s hands…  Or pirate mice!

DSC_3796.JPG

 Kissing cheeks! 

DSC_3801.JPG

 Ready to go home.  30 hours after labor!

DSC_3809.JPG

 Too tiny for his car seat!

DSC_3817.JPG

 Here we go!

DSC_3824.JPG

He slept the whole way home all tucked in and warm…

DSC_3828.JPG

 When we got home I took one look at the bruise on my arm and just knew that I had to document it!  YUCK!  It got much worse before it started to fade and as I said before, it still hurts more than two weeks later!

DSC_3833.JPG

 So in love…

DSC_3842.JPG

 He loves to lay with his hands tucked up under his chin… 

DSC_3866.JPG

 And he has the longest little fingers…

DSC_3869.JPG

 The caption for this picture should be “Oh, I think he’s hungry!”  But what Ryan really said was… “Oh man do I feel sorry for your boobs!”

DSC_3876.JPG

 Nothing calms Isaac down like daddy eating his feet!

DSC_3878.JPG

 I love his little profile…  cute button nose…

DSC_3879.JPG

 Daddy’s mouth and chin…

DSC_3880.JPG

 Then it was time for his very first bath! (Well, first bath at home!)

DSC_3884.JPG

 Go daddy go! 

DSC_3886.JPG

 Good job daddy!

DSC_3887.JPG

Just about done… 

DSC_3903.JPG

 Hmmm… what have we here?

DSC_3906.JPG

 I’ll take that camera mom!

DSC_3910.JPG

 Getting dressed after bath time and wide awake. 

DSC_3920.JPG

 So chill…

DSC_3922.JPG

 Nothing like baby kisses!!! 

DSC_3925.JPG

 So this is love…

DSC_3930.JPG

I can’t believe that after more than 9 years of infertility, loss, and heartache I have a baby in my arms.

Thank you so much for all the years of prayers and support!  You have all truly impacted our lives!

Stay tuned for more pictures…  Did you expect anything less?  🙂

All my love,

Courtney

 

 

19 thoughts on “Isaac Orion makes his debut!

  1. Courtney…I know I’ve already said this, but you’ve waited soooooo long; I’m just so amazed and thankful to God that you finally got your wish.  You’ve always wanted this and now you have it…it amazes me every time I think about it.  Praise God!  Isaac is perfect!

  2. Courtney, you and Ryan are such an inspiration! Your faith and courage blows me away and I couldn’t be any happier for both of you. Isaac is so perfect, and it’s almost surreal to me that he’s finally here. The baby you’ve dreamed of and longed for is finally here. And he’s a Texan Woohoo!!!!! Love you!

  3. You looked beautiful throughout your labor 🙂 AND I can’t believe you held out that long at home! I’m beyond thrilled for y’al – he’s a  beautiful baby 🙂

  4. tears kept coming to my eyes as I read Isaac’s birth story. Talk about God’s timing being perfect & for His faithfulness in answering prayers. I am just so thankful & filled with JOY to read about sweet baby Isaac’s entrance into the world & see his little face. To GOD be the GLORY!!!!!!!!!!! 

  5. I caught the story on FB but love the inclusion of the photos here! Thanks for the heads-up on the nurse “messing with you” to check on you. Geez. I’m not nice when I’m scared, and I’m sure the pain of childbirth will put me in that frame of mind, so there’s no telling what I’d say to someone if they did that! Maybe I’ll have the same graciousness as you now that I know that nurses do that in such a situation!

  6. What a wonderful birth story. I can’t believe you waiting that long before going to the hospital you crazy girl….but everything turned out perfectly…minus the bruise of course. 🙂 What a handsome lil man you have there. *hugs*

  7. This birth story is over the top amazing!  I am so thankful you had such a “perfect” story!  Mother’s Day-so wonderful!   You looked stunning in labor.  🙂  I hope you have your blog printed-what a gift it will be to your son.

  8. I’m so sorry it took me so long to get over here and read this!  I forgot all about coming back to see it!  I’m glad I found it though.  I wouldn’t want to miss it.Oh my, Courtney, I had tears in my eyes over and over again as I read this and looked at the pictures.  I went through it slowly and soaked in everything.  The expressions on your faces are just priceless.  You are seriously glowing after his birth!  I have never said that about anyone before, but I definitely noticed it here.  Oh this brought such a huge smile to my face!  God is so good!  I just sat here and remembered all the years of praying every night for God to bless you and Ryan with a baby.  And I only was along for this journey, and thus praying for you, for the last 3 or 4 years of this, not all 9+ like you went through!  I am amazed at your courage and strength and God’s faithfulness.  Again I say, God is so good.Okay, how on Earth did you look so gorgeous during and after his birth?!?!?!  Seriously!  I can just about guarantee you that I will never look that good if God ever blesses me with the chance to give birth.  I am amazed.  I delighted over all the details of this post as I soaked in the fact that you finally have a baby.  A son!  WOW!  This is a wonderful note to end the night on.  Good night!Oh, and I forgot to say…CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!  Extremely late, I know.  He is a beautiful boy.  And whoa, he definitely has his daddy’s chin!  🙂

Leave a Reply

