Crack Balls!

Good Afternoon!
 
Today I want to share a real hit recipe! 
 
We call them Crack Balls!  (Otherwise known as Inside Out Oreos)
 
I got this recipe from a wonderful lady who is a great friend of mine from when we were stationed in Germany.
 
This was a blast to make and they were a huge hit!  I sent 100 of these beauties into the office with Ryan yesterday and not a crumb came back… I’m convinced I just turned the whole office into diabetics… but what a way to go!
 
This recipe will make between 30 and 60 balls (I doubled it to get 100 of them)
 
You will need:
 
  • 2 bags of white chocolate chips
  • 1 bag of original oreos (reduced fat is okay, but double stuff does not work)
  • 1 8oz package of cream cheese
 
Soften the cream cheese. If you have to make the oreos into a fine powder; the best way to do this is by using a food processor.
 
Now you get to be down and dirty!
 
Mix the cream cheese with the pulverized oreos until it is like mud (It will look like mud and you’ll probably have to use your hands to mix it well… I did!) roll the mixture into whatever size balls you would like.
 

DSC_2736.JPG

 Place them on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper and put them in the refrigerator over night. (If you are in a hurry or do it last minute; you can put them in the freezer for about 20 minutes.)

DSC_2740.JPG

While they are in the freezer; melt your white chocolate.

With white chocolate it’s best to do it in a double boiler because it has a very low scorch point.  If you don’t have one just put an inch or so of water in a pot and bring it to a boil.  Then set a glass or metal bowl in the pot and turn the heat down to medium and stir frequently as it melts. 

So put your chocolate chips in the metal bowl…

DSC_2741.JPG

 Set them over the heat and stir as they melt…

DSC_2742.JPG

 Until you get a nice smooth consistency of chocolate.

DSC_2743.JPG

 Watch your chocolate and don’t let it burn… Then dip the balls and place them back on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper until set.  I stuck mine back in the freezer for a few minutes to speed the process.

DSC_2744.JPG

 Then trim any messy edges and serve them up!

DSC_2746.JPG

 Pretty aren’t they?!  These things are so rich and so YUMMY!

DSC_2746x.jpg

All in all I think I spent about an hour and 45 minutes in the kitchen from start to finish for over 100 of these so they aren’t time or labor intensive and they WILL be a hit.

Enjoy!

Courtney

 

16 thoughts on “Crack Balls!

  1. I’m so going to have to make those for Rich to take to work! They do look good, and I’m not an Oreo fan! *lol* I know the guys at work would enjoy it – obviously Ryans unit did! *lol*

  2. How funny…i just bought everything today to make these for our Lifegroup super bowl party Sunday!  Not sure if i’m going to dip them all or just roll them in extra oreo crumbs…maybe half and half!  So….is using your fingers the real trick to dipping…bc i SUCK at dipping..they never look pretty! LOL!

  3. I had a dream about you and this post last night lol. I was dreaming that I was in this house and there on the table were these balls you made and I was thinking how odd it was because you had just posted about them and I look up and you are in the kitchen and so we got to meet in my dream lol.

Leave a Reply

