4 Wheelin’!

In the few weeks I’ve been back in the desert there is one old past time that I’ve been able to take back up… and boy is it ever a BLAST! 

4 Wheelin’!

I go with my Dad, my uncle Noel, my cousin Brittany, my cousin Matt and his wife Debbie.

We’ve been able to go out a couple of times, before it got way too hot. 

At the moment I only have pictures from our first time out but they paint a picture!

Here we are getting ready to head out!  Yes, I am perfectly aware that dad and I look like dorks!  But hey, it keeps the dust out of our eyes and the sun off our ears… there is nothing worse than the tops of your ears burning…

04

The girls!  (Me, Debbie, and Brittany)

04

Brittany sporting her awesome goggles and a winning smile!

04

Me and Matt.

04

Matt and Debbie.

04

Uncle Noel and Brittany.  (Okay just for those of you who don’t know let’s clear this up a bit… Brittany is Noel’s daughter and Matt is his son.  We are actually all cousins but because Noel is my Dad’s age I’ve always called him Uncle… Hmmm… did that actually clear the water for you?)

04

Once we had our fill of taking embarassing pictures we were off!  Uncle Noel and Brittany in front… then Dad and then waaaaaay back there… ME!

04

Me and Dad.  (Huge thanks to Debbie for taking the time to take these while we were riding!)

04

Just nothing like it!

04

What a beautiful day for it!

04

Eyes forward you!  Actually we were going slow and checking out the scenery… The Saguaro were in bloom.

04

Look at how filthy I already am…

04

After a few miles of exploring the desert we topped a ridge and saw we had circled around to Lake Pleasant.

04

We rode for a few more minutes and found ourselves down in a wash where the trees were still green and there was still a good amount of water.

04

In fact Matt found enough to play in!

04

Debbie was thrilled!  (Oh if she only knew what was coming…)

04

We followed the wash and found the Agua Fria river!

04

And it had more than enough water to make us all happy…

04

…and WET!

04

Matt was mimeing swimming in the water but he looks more like he’s practicing for water ballet 🙂

04

Here I am in my  “4 Wheelin’ Pin Up Pose” as Ryan calls it. 

04

Matt coming around with a GREAT idea.

04

He decided that it would be fun if we ALL got wet.  You should have seen the wall of water that Rhino could kick up… oh wait you can!

Here I am all nice and dry and dusty getting ready to take my turn.

100_0348

Here we go!

100_0349

Oh no wait it gets much better…

100_0352

WHOOSH!  See all that water up in the air?  That’s about to fall back into my lap and shock my vocal cords into a blood curdling scream. 

100_0350

How can it be that after three years of freezing my toosh off in Germany this five minutes in the summer desert could make me SO COLD!

100_0356

Embrace it right?

100_0357

Who’s next?

04

Dad?  Well, let’s go!

100_0359

Oooo good one Matt!

04

See the water pouring out the bottom of the Rhino?  And poor Uncle Noel spitting it out?

100_0362

Dad enjoying his misery…

100_0363

And Uncle Noel’s famous words… “Who says this is FUN!?”

100_0364

Matt being gleeful! 

I have to admit that finding this waterhole to play in was a treat.

100_0358

HE DID IT!

04

After we were all done playing we stood around in the sun relaxing and trying to dry off.

04

We rode about another half an hour up the wash before calling it a day.  This is why I love the desert!

04

I think it agrees with me!

04

Me and Debbie almost dry…

04

The guys!

04

 

04

Brittany enjoying being tired and dirty!

04

Dad with his bike at the end of a great day!

04

Matt.

04

That was the end of our day.  We had such a wonderful time!  I wish life allowed for us to do this EVERY weekend!

We loaded up and headed out…

100_0366

When we pulled into the driveway Dad looked over at me and just laughed…  He insisted on taking a picture to show everyone just how dirty I was.

I admit it’s funny enough to share.

100_0367

I got him back by having mom take a shot of us both… 

100_0369

Nice eh?

The only thing way that this could be any better would be if Ryan were here!

We can’t wait to take him!

Auf Wiedersehen!

Courtney

 

14 thoughts on “4 Wheelin’!

  1. OH MY…its looks like you guys had TONS of fun! :)Glad you are enjoying your time with your family. SOON we will both be in the state of TX and need to set up a meeting, or at least find out how far we are from each other. lol.:)

  2. Oh my gosh, that looks AMAZING!!! I love four wheeling! I can’t wait until Marvin & I move back home (God willing) and we can go four wheeling all the time & jump terraces and ride in the creek and whatnot. Your trip looks like so much fun! We’re still waiting to hear about your trip to your new hometown though! Silly girl, goofing off and not posting about that!

  3. looks like you all had a blast!!!  I bet you are sooo glad to be home!!!  love all the pic’s, I think the one after the water fall splash was the best….

  4. Looks like so, so much fun! And the desert can be beautiful too! Love that scenic shot you took. Happy to hear your having such a great time with the familia. *hugs*!

Leave a Reply

