Vier~FOUR~Cuatro

There are now

7337271_ead81b790c

days left until I move home to the States.

~~~~~

Things are spinning quickly down to the wire!

Ryan and I got an unexpected call yesterday that threw a huge wrench into our plans.

PetAir called to let us know that the dogs’ flight on the 14th of April had been canceled.  The forecast for the week came in with a temperature on the day they land in Phoenix above 85 degrees.

While I appreciate the care they are taking to make sure my boys are safe I personally think that the fact that the plane won’t land until late that night should have some bearing on canceling a flight only days before hand… but hey that’s the way the cookie crumbles.

So, now the boys are flying out on Thursday morning (yep in TWO days) and we have to make arrangements for them to be picked up without one of us there!

This is not a happy dog mom.  I do NOT like the idea of putting them on the plane and then not being there when they come off.  Especially when three years ago they basically had nervous breakdowns… they DO NOT like to fly and it’s three years later and both are well into their senior years… 

But, there’s nothing we can do about it so the house is abuzz with preparations for sending them off.

On a happier note I wanted to share a cute story I got in an email with you!

“While walking along the sidewalk in front of his church, a minister heard the intoning of a prayer that nearly made his collar wilt.  Apparently his five year old son and his playmates had found a dead bird.  Feeling that proper burial should be performed, they had secured a small box and cotton batting, then dug a hole and made ready for the disposal of the deceased. 

The minister’s son was chosen to say the appropriate prayers and with sonorous dignity he intoned his version of what he thought his father always said from the pulpit;

“Glory be unto the Faaaather and unto the Sonnnnnn,

And INTO THE HOLE HE GOES!”

Until tomorrow,

Courtney

 

 

13 thoughts on “Vier~FOUR~Cuatro

  1. I guess Im a little lost on the whole pet travel thing…. since I havent been on here for a few weeks. But I thought the boys were leaving with you? Isnt it pretty expensive for them to travel on their own? I know we had that whole issue with our dog when we flew on leave with him last Spring. Hopefully they get their safely and without to many stresses. Our vet has told us about considering a light medicine for our dog to help him relax with on the flight since he was a total mess when he flew last.Hope everything goes well!

  2. giggle giggle giggle…that made me chuckle right out loud.  Too funny.Oh, I’m so sorry about the dogs travel schedules!  I know when we were deciding on whether to take our cat to Germany I read about the whole temperature flight thing.  It certainly can be tricky.  I hope all goes well and they aren’t too traumatized by it all.  Any news on your flights yet?  I’ve made arrangements to borrow my moms car on Saturday so I can come down to visit you. (we only have 1 car)  Just let me know if anything changes.Oh and this number is pretty cool… reminds me of all the old movies I like to watch!

  3. @kcornchips – Yep the boys were supposed to fly with me but Delta bought out NW which is the airline I’m on and so the cargo has already switched over… so they have to fly seperatly and go through Atlanta instead of with me.  So Yes it is expensive for them to travel on their own but we no longer have a choice due to the heat embargo and Gandalf’s size (over 100 pounds)  Also with a pet carrier you aren’t allowed to tranquilize the dog in any way.  They said if they even think the dog might be on anything to relax them they will cancell the flights… so the boys just have to suffer… I’m all around ticked because this carrier won’t let anything in the kennels either… except a thin blanket or t shirt and Gandalf has arthritic hips… so for over 23 hours he’ll just be laying on hard plastic… I’m so glad I’m never doing this againg!!!!!!

  4. @babybooties33 – Okay as of right now nothing has changed… I’m on flight…  NW0051 coming into Detroit at 1:55pm in the E.M. Mcnamara terminal.  I have to board my next flight at about 7pm in the same terminal.  I’ve been checking every day and nothing has changed but if it does I’ll write ASAP.  So where were you wanting to meet!?  EEEEEEEEKKKKKKKKK  I’m so excited!!!!!

  5. Boooooo that your sweet dogsters have to go before you.  My dogs are young, and I’m sure they would be freaked out on a plane, then to land and us not be there.  Poor guys!  I hope they’ll be ok and make it through with flying colours.  Do they know your family well enough to feel comfortable for 3 days without you?  As a fellow dog mom, I so feel for you right now.

  6. @fallensparrow – Ok…so you arrive at 1:55pm.  By the time your flight actually gets to the gate, you get through passport control, and customs and recheck your luggage, I’m guessing it will be somewhere between 2:30 and 3pm.  I wouldn’t expect at the time of day it to take much longer,  DTW tends to be pretty efficient.  That’s our home airport, so we use it ALL the time.  In addition, we have found for whatever reason, flights from Europe to DTW often times are a little early.  Not always… but alot of times.Now, once you recheck your luggage, head up stairs to where the check counters are.  I’m guessing you are checked through, but if not you can check in again.  At the FAR END of the check in (if you face the check in counters … to your left) there is the enterance to the Westin Hotel.  Go there.  Follow the long long hall down to the escalator.  While you walk the long hall you can gaze at the planes.    Take the escalator downstairs, then make a right and there will be a large reflection pool that is next to the little restaurant.  We’ll meet there.  This restaurant has an enterance back to the Terminal that is open most of the time.  The ONLY time I’ve ever seen that enterance closed is when Mark had a late flight and the airport was NOT busy at all.  Otherwise, it is always open AND is NEVER busy!    So, you don’t have to fight the main airport security lines!  YEAH!   We often use this enterance because it is so much less of a hassle.  This area in the Westin is really the only place where ticketed and non-ticketed people can mingle, except of course the check in area and domestic baggage pick up areas.There is a little bar/lounge area where we can have a coke and/or snacks… or if you want to at the actual restaurant we can do that too.  It’s all very open and pretty relaxing….. very ‘Zen’ ha ha ha.  Actually, it all does have a rather Asian flair.  Plus… the bathrooms here are super nice.  So if you need to freshen up a bit, plenty of space to do that.  Not like in the main airport where you have to fight for a dry sink!  I’m very excited too!!!  YEAH!  Let me know if anything above wasn’t clear.  I’m very familiar with this airport.  Unfortunately, there isn’t a GREAT deal in and around the airport where to could take you off site. See you soon!!!!  (oh I just love saying that!)

  7. Oh poor Gandalf.. I feel sorry for him…  That is sad that you can’t give him anything to help with the athiritus!! Will they be together atleast?

Leave a Reply

