10 TEN 10

There are now

1aa78242b4054456

days left until I move home to the States.

 

Today as my extra tidbit of information I would like to share a recipe with you.  Homemade Chicken Pot Pie!

This stuff is soley responsible for my extra 5 winter pounds…  Darn you Chicken Pot Pie!

Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups cubed cooked chicken
  • 4 cups frozen southern style hash browns (thawed)
  • 1 (16oz) package frozen mixed vegetables (thawed and drained)
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can cream of onion soup
  • (I use two cans cream of chicken soup instead of the onion)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup (8oz) sour cream
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • Pie crust for top and bottom of two pies

The first step is to mix the first 11 ingredients into a large mixing bowl and stir well. 

DSC_7590

 Then get out your two favorite 9″ deep dish pie plates.

DSC_7593

 Next make your pie crust!  You can use frozen but I prefer to use my own.

Pie Crust

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2/3 cup shortening (chopped)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup ice cold water (1/4 cup added then add as needed)

(You will need two batches of pie crust)

DSC_7594

 Then cut your dough ball in half and roll it out  (excuse the poor quality of this dough… I ran out of flour!)

DSC_7596

 Line your pie plate and press in.

DSC_7595

 Then fill with the lovely guts!

DSC_7598

 Roll out your second piece of dough and cover.

DSC_7599

 Pinch together the edges and clean off…

DSC_7600

 Using the extra dough make pretty leaves for your pie!  (Optional of course!)

DSC_7601

 Next cut slits into the top for venting…

DSC_7602

 And you have a lovely ready to bake Chicken Pot Pie!

DSC_7592

 The best part of this recipe is that it makes two.  One is made to freeze for up to three months!

DSC_7604

Bake the one you intend to eat today covered at 400 degrees for 35-40 minutes then uncover and bake until golden brown.  (Personally I found that I had to cook it for about half an hour longer than recommended before taking of the foil… but that may be because of the deepness of my pie dish, the fact that I messed with the recipe and not the cooking times, or my German oven!  So play with it!)

For the frozen pie; bake at 425 degrees for 30 minutes then reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake an additional 50-55 minutes or until golden brown.

 DSC_7618

Top with a bit of cheese if you desire.  And the most important step?

ENJOY!

 DSC_7626

If you intend to eat it ALL the first night make it just like this!  If you’re going to have a TON of leftovers you might want to leave the bottom crust out of the recipe.  When you go to reheat it the next day it’s dry and bready and therefor extremely HEAVEY!  So if you anticipate this lasting for a few days just cover it with a crust…  (On the bright side this means you only have to make crust once!)

Until tomorrow!

Courtney

 

13 thoughts on “10 TEN 10

  1. OH! That looks SOOO good.  I’ve been looking for a good pot pie recipe.  I’ll have to try this one.Ok… your crust looks WAY better then mine ever do.  I’m totally into doing things from scratch … but pie crust is the one thing I cheat on with Pilsbury ready bake crusts.  Mine never turn out…. and I’ve tried and tried and tried for years.  I finally gave up about 3 years ago. 

  2. I just noticed you have a cool crust thingy …. does that keep it from sticking to your work surface???  That’s my biggest problem …. transferring it and having it break and crumble and come apart.

  3. @babybooties33 – Yep that mat is a lifesaver!  It never sticks… also if that’s a huge problem for you try making the crust to the recipe and then pat it into a ball and then dust with about a tsp of flour and toss it and roll it around in there until it isn’t sticky… then when you’re rolling it out don’t ever be afraid to dust it with flour to keep it from being sticky and then when you’re picking up your dough fold it in half and then in half again for easy tranportation… AND GET A MAT!!!  LOL 

  4. I will definitely be making that recipe!AND…. all of your Polish Pottery makes me very, very jealous.  My Grandma would have a frenzy.  She has several peices like you, but a different design. :O)10 days?? Wasn’t it just 16 or something crazy like that? Time is flying!

  5. I love homemade chicken pot pie!!!!I love your pie plates too!!! I have regular glass ones! Yours are super cute!!!I might make this tonight, since you brought it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

