Stirrings of spring…

Good morning!

First thing first!  Check out my new look and header!  Ahhhh spring!

It feels like forever since I’ve had a chance to write… even longer since I’ve had the desire…

Things are picking up in my little part of the world.  Ryan and I spent the weekend shuttling furniture that we’ve sold to it’s new owners and packing.  Our calendar is filled with dinner dates for that last visit before I leave and the end of my time in Germany is drawing ever nearer. 

I have spent weeks now trying to process just exactly how I feel about this upcoming move and where we will now live.  I’ve come up empty.  So I’ve written bandaids… I keep telling you that I’ll write more later… the simple truth is that I don’t know what to say!

We are happy to be going home and sad to say goodbye to this glamorous part of our lives.  I’ll always look back on this season of my life with awe. 

I’ve lived in Europe for three years… I’ve seen cities that predate the birth of our savior.  I’ve walked where Roman centurions once stood guard over their great empire.  I’ve looked into the eyes of a Gargoyle that has seen hundreds of years of Paris history.  I’ve walked through the arch that once saw a biplane fly through as a victory dance in WWI.  I have gone to festivals that celebrate fall and the slaughter of pigs and markets that dwell on the festivities of Christmas.  I’ve heard carolers sing the original German carols and I’ve had small children dressed up as the three wise men ring my doorbell to ask for money to feed the poor…  I have experienced more in these three years than I ever thought I would… 

So to close this chapter of my life is sad… but it is also a great relief. 

I find it so comforting to know that in a few short weeks I’ll once more call a place home that has an emergency service number!  That’s right, for three years I’ve not had access to 911.  I have a number I could not remember and lived in fear that if anything happened I wouldn’t know what to do.  I will call a place home that has businesses open past 6pm, fast food, real cell phones, where I can speak English and be relatively sure that I’ll be understood, where if I get lost I’ll be able to stop and ask directions!

I am excited about going to a new base, finding a new house and making it my new home.  But I’m worried to.  It’s the calling of a military life to stride boldly into each new tomorrow, each new challenge, to be strong for your family, to make a home with what little you bring with you that remains unbroken… and I can do those things!  I CAN!!!  But that doesn’t mean there isn’t a part of me that wishes I could just go to sleep and wake up in a few months when it’s all done…

So as you can tell…  I’ve been a bit conflicted.  There are still a thousand thoughts swirling around in my head… I still can’t REALLY tell you how I feel because half of the time it doesn’t feel real. 

Add to all of that the fact that for the past months I have been in a stupor.  The dark of winter affected my much more strongly this year than any other living here.  I’ve been dormant and closed in. 

I have felt like a little seed buried under the dark grey clouds and mists of winter for all these long months.  I have been cold, dormant, and inactive. 

Today changed all of that!  It brought a feeling of spring to my very soul!  The dark clouds of winter burned off to reveal the bright azure blue skies of spring… the mists are gone and gentle spring breezes that ruffle your hair have taken their place.

I, as a child of the desert where change occurs seldom and slowly, am always amazed by the new world that is revealed in only a few days in this place!

The signs of spring have sprung up all around Ryan and I on this little slice of land we call our home.  Almost like a fairy tale filled with sprites that awaken little spring seeds overnight.

These little beauties were the first that we noticed… they sprung right out of the mossy grass of our yard… 

DSC_7300

One of them opened up to seek the sun on it’s face today…

DSC_7302

The tree in our front yard is beginning to bud with new leaves and flowers!

DSC_7309

 Each shrub and hedge has signs of new growth…. 

DSC_7303

 Hidden and quite but there if you look…

DSC_7304

And my gorgeous red tree in my front yard is about to bloom… I hope that I’m here long enough to see it!

DSC_7312

 I even found a patch of snowdrops tucked into a quiet corner of my front yard… what a delight to see these little white angels dancing over the dormant front lawn… 

DSC_7305

 This is the little succulent that I planted in my flowerbeds last fall… it burned in the snow but is coming back strong with a new amazing color!

DSC_7308

 So to honor my new feelings of awakening I decided to bake for Ryan’s office…  I spent my lovely spring day with the windows thrown open listening to an Oompah band play in the Gazebo down the street play (ONLY IN GERMANY!) while baking 7 dozen Cinnamon applesauce muffins!

DSC_7318

 Yummy!!! 

It is now 11pm and I’m exhausted!  I will say Guten Nacht and fall asleep dreaming of another glorious spring day!  Perhaps tomorrow I’ll take my camera on a nice long walk!  It’s seems time for me to be out and about!

Auf Wiedersehen!

Courtney

 

12 thoughts on “Stirrings of spring…

  1. MMMMM…. those muffins look good!  I so know how you feel.  So many wonderful memories you will take with you …yet home calls… but at the same time, you don’t really know how home will feel!  As much as I really didn’t like being surrounded by people ALL the time living in a bigger city like Munich…. here, where everyone drives everywhere… I miss the interaction with people.  It’s strange.  And yes… everything seems very …… new.  I’m very curious to read your posts after you’re all settled in for a month or two…..  I continue to pray your move home goes smoothly.  Get out with that camera!    We want some parting pictorials!

  2. WOW, I am seriously in awe of all that you have experienced while in Germany. What a blessed time in your life!! I hope that you can find peace as you prepare to leave! I understand that it’s hard to close this chapter in your life & I pray that God will guide you through it.America will be excited for you to come back!! πŸ™‚ Your muffins look YUMMY!!! I seriously wish I could try some, your husband is a lucky man πŸ™‚

  3. I can’t imagine the excitement and anxiety you must be feeling. We are moving across town and I am ecstatic. I can’t imagine moving across the world! lol You will have so many memories built with all of your adventures. The way you write, you should be an author and write books. I always wanted to do that and even started a few and then my life would sidetrack me and that would be the end of that. lol I hope that your last moments in Germany are spectacular and i hope that your home in the states will be just as precious to you. Love you.

  4. What great tales you will have! The memories will be sweet. I can’t wait to welcome you home… home isn’t what it used to be, but it is still the greatest country on earth.

  5. Your enthusiasm for the Spring changes and the impending change of location is enticing and fun!  May the travel home be routine and uncomplicated for you, so that the transition may bless you in profound ways.justmecm

  6. I would be feeling exactly as you are if I were in your position.  I’m sure of it.  The beauty and new experiences must have been amazing in Germany, but HOME is home.  I’m glad you’ll be closer to your family.

  7. Oh how I love spring!! I will miss Germany also, I have gotten to see so much of it! I am glad you will be back in the states! The muffins look delicious!

  8. I can never imagine you at a loss of words. lol! But I understand your conflicting feelings of leaving a place you learned to love to venture to a new place to build to love. That’s how I felt when Imoved from florida to jersey…although not quite as adventurous from europe to texas. Anyway, proud of you girl- you can do this. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

