Comfort Food

There is nothing I like so well as finding a new recipe.  One that satisfies and becomes an instant addition to my family cookbook. 

Unless it is the knowledge that this new recipe will not only be an addition to the cookbook but also become instant comfort food.

I like even better when that thing turns out to be a warm soup on a cold rainy day!

I have found an easy, inexpensive, crock pot soup that just made my day today!  So I thought I would share it with you…

Kielbasa Stew

This recipe is made in the crock pot and will make a full 5 quarts!  So be prepared for tons of leftovers and it does freeze VERY well!  This is one of those things I will make and freeze for Ryan in single serving tupperware when I travel.

1. 4 medium potatoes diced (peeling optional, I use baby red potatoes so I don’t peel them)
2. 14 ounces of frozen broccoli florets (I thaw and then chop them into much smaller pieces)
3. 1 medium yellow onion diced
4. 2 (16oz) packages of Polish Kielbasa Sausage (I would suggest dicing the kielbasa into small pieces but you can also do the rounds)
5. 4 (10 3/4 oz) cans Cream of Mushroom Soup
6. 1 tsp salt
7. 1/2 tsp pepper
8. 2qts water

In 5qt crock pot add 2qts water and then stir in all the cream of mushroom soup and stir until smooth.  Add salt and pepper and stir.  Add diced potatoes, onions, broccoli, and kielbasa.  Stir well and cook on high for six hours and ENJOY! 

Courtney

 

 

10 thoughts on “Comfort Food

  1. That’s a lot of ingredients (not number, just quantity!)–no wonder it makes a lot!    My husband will love this; he LOVES kielbasa.  I’ll have to give it a try.  Thanks!!

  2. That recipe sounds soo good right now, especially with the moutains already getting all snowy! If only I wasnt on a diet. And could get some good quality sasuage here.We have been here for 2 years already and only are doing 3. I couldnt see myself doing a extended long tour. 3 years is  more then enough for us here. I feel the same way about the euro, I dont know what your paying right now at the pump either, but a book of gas for us dropped down from 121 to 104, still high, compared to the 67 dollars it was when we 1st got here. I really thought that we were going to be making the most of our money from COLA while he was away, but of course, it dropped just as soon as he left! LOL Isnt it how it always works?Have you been able to hear from your husband, because I know you mentioned that you didnt know if he was going to be able to call you during this current TDY that is doing?

Leave a Reply

