Playing the Grasshopper

Good morning!


I have a thousand things to do today and probably won’t get any of them done and I’m happy about it!!! 


Ryan and I awoke at 6am this morning to watch the gorgeous sunrise.  It revealed crystal clear sapphire blue skies and wisps of fog that clung in the valleys and river beds…  We have the promise of 0% chance of rain, no clouds all day, and 74 degrees!  I’m going outside today and I’m taking my camera! 


There is this little nagging voice in the back of my head that says I’m playing the grasshopper again but I’m shaking the voice off and going out to dance in the sunshine!


You learn to do that here in Germany… it’s like the people are connected to the sun… when it comes out… so do they!  No matter what they are doing, no matter what their plans, when a sunny day arrives they throw all other plans out and find a way to spend the day outside.  They work in the garden, they cut firewood for winter, they walk, they bike, they visit, they eat out of doors.  Anything to soak up the sun!


I know I talk about being excited to move back stateside, being closer to family and the conveniences of America.  It’s true, I’m ready to go home… but I’ll forever be grateful for the opportunity of living here…  It’s been an amazing experience and I’ve learned so much about myself here. 


Here I sit with my morning cup of Earl Grey, making plans to play hooky!  I have only five days left to get ready to leave Germany for a full 33 days but I’m pretty sure I can manage it without today!


So I’m off to chase the sun along with the rest of my fellow townsfolk!


DSC_1920


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney

10 thoughts on “Playing the Grasshopper

  1. Hey, I still haven’t gotten Teddy’s crib up…it can wait as well. 🙂 Enjoy the beautiful sunshine and have a cup of tea for me. Sounds wonderful. Roger and I saw the pictures of your bugs. When I saw the first one, my eyes bugged out and I said I’d prefer the fleas. At least they are small. But I am anxious for them to be gone as well. Do you think the bug situation will be worse when you come back from home? Or will the cooler weather kill them off? Do the spiders bite? When I was growing up, we lived in the country and got gigantic wood spiders that would bite when you were sleeping. It wasn’t that  bad. I never felt anything or saw them. But they were creepy looking guys.~Gia:)

  2. Oh sounds like fun!! I love taking pictures! So your going to Arizona for 33 days? Who are you visiting there? Enjoy being outside today!!! and thanks for the comment…

Leave a Reply

