My Next First Kiss…

My sister asked me a question the other day and it got me thinking.  I sometimes don’t realize that there are many things I don’t really talk about and this is one of them. 


My sister asked, “Are you nervous to see Ryan again?  Do you have those first date jitters since it’s been so long?”


My answer is yes!  That is exactly how I feel…


Let me try to nudge you into my shoes for a minute so you can see where I’m coming from.


For those of you that are married imagine what it would be like to have no contact with your spouse for six months…  No hugging, no kissing, no other funny buisness!  No casual touch when he walks by, no holding hands, no one brushing back your hair, no one to listen to you ramble on about your boring life or listen to you laugh.


Today pay attention, how often do you and your husband touch?  How often do you speak or just take notice that you’re not alone in the room? 


Imagine you have six months of solitary existence with those things gone from your life and then answer me this.


Would you be nervous?  Would you have doubts in your head that you still remember what it’s like to kiss your husband?  Would you have doubts that you even remember how? 


The funny thing is that I always do.  I panic for days ahead of his return that I won’t remember how! 


(Now I have to say before I get a lot of strange instructional comments that I know that I know how, it’s a little hard to forget!  I think I just close off that part of myself so that I don’t go nuts while he’s away.) 


It’s funny that I don’t worry about anything else… I just get wiggy over that first kiss!


In fact, it feels a lot like the nervous anxiety before your actual first kiss!


So YES I’m nervous and excited!  AND, I fully believe that I’ve discovered the secret to a GREAT marriage!


Frequent separations! 


You know what they say, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder!”


For us at least it’s true! 


Well, I’m off to finish up my preparations!  I’ll be back when he’s home! 


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney


 

22 thoughts on “My Next First Kiss…

  1. I wouldn’t know how it would feel since my hubster have been married probably longer than you have been alive.  but, I do understand that sometime seperations do help to make the heart skip beats from not having them near your side 24/7.   but 6 months I don’t think I could handle that every year.   A week sure…  Is he making the miltary a life long commitment?   Just be sure you let him breathe when your hugging him hard!   take care!

  2. Oh Courtney I’m so excited for you! I love that you’re nervous about seeing him and kissing him again. So sweet! I can’t wait for pictures that have Ryan in them again. To see you whole again… Yay!

  3. Oh hun, I’m just so excited for you! And for Ryan. After all, he’s been living an almost exclusively male dominated life for the same last six months! Now he’s gonna have his woman in his arms, at long last. His reward for doing what he does best. I would imagine that he’s got some nerves going on too, although, knowing Ryan like I do, I’ll say they probably aren’t as bad as yours! You are such a goober! LOLAnd this song Courtney, it’s absolutely perfect, but then you know that. Okay, do your thing, clean your house, but don’t over do it. And make sure you tell Ryan how much we love him and how proud we are of him.Love you kiddo, Me

  4. When I came back from Kosovo, I had similar feelings (to a lesser extent of course!). I was wondering, do I remember what he looks like in person… do I remember what he smells like, will it be different, etc. It was so funny… I wasn’t expecting that at all! I’m so happy and excited for you. I hope the reunion is so sweet!

  5. Hehe… I always thought it was abstinence makes the heart grow fonder… ;). Just do like Queen Victoria told her daughters, close your eyes and think of England. 😉 Have fun!

  6. Ben went on a 6 month deployment right before we got married and I was so nervous when he was coming back! I got huge butterflies when I saw him, but it was an awesome feeling!

  7. I’m excited to hear all about your firsts together again… so excited for you!  Make sure you breathe it all in when he holds you in his arms.  Smell him, hear him breathing you in, fell his heart beating.  I wish you a very romantic reunion!

  8. I think I would be nervous!  Randy and I have haven’t been apart for more than three days since we got married (6 1/2 years ago!), so I have a hard time imagining what that would be like.  I’m so excited for you!  I’m glad you’re getting your man back, you’ve waited a long time.  Way to go girl.  Have fun!

  9. THIS IS SO EXCITING!!!! I have butterflies just thinking about it!!! I’m sure you’ve said this before, but have you been able to talk to him on the phone or through email while he’s been away or have you had NO CONTACT???  You must be SO HAPPY! Can’t wait to see pics…by the way, thank you for the compliments on my pics…I’m not fishing for compliments though, feel free to critique some of my work…I only want to get better! Love you!

  10. You know, that makes me think long and hard about the way that Orthodox Jews (and the Jews in the Old Testament) did things.  They don’t touch, at ALL for the days of the woman’s unclean period.  All the women I’ve heard talk about it, say that when they finally do get to touch again it’s like a honeymoon, every month.  In this world of instant satisfaction, birth control, casual sex, no commitment, etc…it makes me think how much we’ve really destroyed in our “improving things”. 

  11. How exciting. It’s true that absence does make the heart grow fonder.There’s nothing like that “first” kiss after they’ve been away for such a long time. I remember the last time my husband came back from a deployment I cried right there on the spot from the relief of being able to just look at him.

  12. I’m the same way when Marvin is deployed! YAY for him being home so soon! And absence DEFINATELY makes the heart grow fonder! 🙂 It just sucks while you have to wait, LOL!

  13. AAAAAAAWWWWWW….this post put tears in my eyes!! I can’t imagine what 6 months would be like. The most Sterling and I have been seperated was three weeks when he worked for a different trucking company. THAT was awful enough!! Cherish those kisses….EVERY one of them. Never take advantage of the moment….even if you have been back together for a long time. I know that when I see Sterling’s truck pull into the lot out here….I get SO excited!!!! Is today the day for you and Ryan to be reunited? I am so happy for you. Enjoy. Love you.

  14. My husband is leaving today for a bass tournament on the AR river and I am going to be by myself for only 3 nights and I’m sad! I don’t know how you do it! You are a very strong woman!!!!

  15. Oh, my you hit this right on the nail. My hubby is coming home in just a week…only for one week and than gone again but….each seperation right before he comes home….I get all nervous. I KNOW anything I do would be fine…we know this in our mind…but still I always wonder like “am I gonna satisfy him in bed or what if I forget something as simple as how to kiss”. The wonderful part is even having these “concerns”….everything always turns out perfect and that’s what counts. So keep that in mind….”it’s all gonna be perfect”. *HUGS*!

Leave a Reply

