Summer in Deutschland: Part IX

This will be my final entry for this last trip…  Serves me right for taking so many pictures! 


The final day of adventures dawned bright and clear.  We made our way back to Zeltingen and bought tickets to take a river boat tour!


We sat next to the dock and waited for our ship to come in…


DSC_2854


Finally, it did!


DSC_2857


We sailed up the Mosel River towards Traben-Trabach.  


DSC_2870


 What a day for a boat trip!


DSC_2874


We spent another day admiring the many vineyards…


DSC_2878


And the cute little villages…


DSC_2880


 Look, it’s me! 


DSC_2904


 Every bend in the river brought beautiful views…


DSC_2907


 And sights to remember!


DSC_2914


100_0818


We passed many other river boats along the way…


DSC_2915


We moved around the boat… from shade to sun, 


DSC_2923


 From aft to stern…


DSC_2926


 Wherever the best pictures awaited! 


DSC_2932


 


 DSC_2941


 After a few hours we finally made it to Traben-Trabach.


DSC_2942


 We docked and left the boat to walk around the town.


DSC_2945


 We headed up a side street in search of a place to eat! 


DSC_2949


 It kept going and going and we were getting hungry!


DSC_2951


 Finally, we stumbled upon a little donner shop.  We ducked in, ordered, and proceeded to head upstairs to await our food.  It was the tightest and steepest staircase we’d ever seen!


100_0830


 The view from our table was awesome!



100_0832


 Once we finished lunch, we headed back out onto the street and found an Eis cafe.  We bought some ice cream cones to enjoy on our way back to the docks.  I have only this picture of Aunt Betty heading in because, understandable, my hands were a bit too busy with my yummy pistachio and tiramisu ice cream to worry about my camera!   


DSC_2953


 We came back out on the river and spent the last few moments eating our ice cream and enjoying the view.


DSC_2954


 I want to come back to this place with Ryan and explore it a little bit more.


DSC_2962


 As we were standing there we were approached by another old friend!


DSC_2964


 He put on quite a show for us! 


DSC_2983


 Stunning bird isn’t he?


DSC_2984


 What a picture!


DSC_2989


Finally our boat arrived, we boarded, and headed out for the ride back downriver. 


Along the way we saw a campground!  We couldn’t help taking pictures… this was just such a great way to camp!


DSC_3019


Do you see how that tent is attached to the trailer?  There are also potted plants and patio furniture!  Each person is also responsible for mowing the grass around their area!


 DSC_3085


We rounded a bend into another town…. 


DSC_3023


On the opposite bank we saw these ruins!


DSC_3037


At one point we passed under a cliff only to see this on it’s face…


DSC_3089


We were also privileged to see some workers toiling in one of the vineyards.


DSC_3112


This was an excellent idea for the last day!


DSC_3061


 We got to relax and enjoy a beautiful day and sightsee at the same time!


DSC_3068


 We even got to peek in on a Floh Markt (Flea Market!) 



100_0821


And then we saw again the docks and the cataract.  We were back again!


DSC_3124


We made our way home and enjoyed a restful afternoon…  It was a lovely trip!  One I’ll long remember and be grateful for!


100_0842


And in the end my Aunt Betty survived my driving!  (She was nervous that riding on the Autobahns would scare her.)


DSC_3128


This ends the last of my pictures!  I hope you’ve enjoyed them all.


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney


 

11 thoughts on “Summer in Deutschland: Part IX

  1. This very well could be my most favorite set of pictures you’ve ever posted. I just love the little villages, and all the beautiful scenery from the boat!Have a great weekend! Love you!

  2. I really enjoyed reading about your trip and looking at all of your beautiful poscard-quality pictures! Thanks so much for sharing. I hope your hubby has a safe trip back home soon!

  3. I just love your posts.  Those little villages are so cute and I love the tents on the trailers!  How fun!  The swan was gorgeous…made me think of The Notebook.

  4. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! You make me want to go to Europe!! I can’t believe your man will be home so soon.. I know you have to be beyond thrilled. I know I would be. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

