Summer in Deutschland: Part II ~Manderscheid~

On Wednesday morning, we set out to begin our adventures! 


What better way to begin our adventures than with castles!? 


DSC_2123


We set out to explore the castles of Manderscheid.


 DSC_2133


They really are quite a sight in any season.  (And I would know, as I’ve seen them in every season!)


DSC_2127


Me and my Aunt Betty!  Oh how I’ve missed her!


DSC_2128


We parked at the bottom of the lower castle and began the long climb up. 


100_0646


 What a beautiful place it is…



DSC_1989


At this time of year the very walls are blooming!


DSC_2107


We climbed into the watch tower.


DSC_1990


Look how narrow those stairs are!


DSC_1991


The top had it’s share of wild flowers too.


DSC_2093


From the top of the watchtower.


DSC_1992


 Look at those ferns growing out of the wall.


DSC_1995


So much to see.


DSC_1999


 


DSC_2007


Me, of course!


DSC_2003


 


DSC_2006


The climb was so steep that we had to take it in stages…


DSC_2014


But I won’t complain because it allowed me plenty of time to take pictures!


DSC_2028


Uncle Mike checking out the lower buildings.


DSC_2016


You can’t help but try and picture what it would have looked like whole.


DSC_2017


And what kind of lives were lived here. 


100_0648


 What would it have been like to look out upon this valley from your home? 


 


DSC_2026


 


DSC_2030


 To see the second castle across the gorge knowing that it was the home of the enemy. 


DSC_2031


 I admit my imagination runs away with me when I walk here.


DSC_2034


A place weighty with history…


DSC_2038


And so we added a bit of our own!


DSC_2042


 


DSC_2106


My turn!


100_0647


We stopped for a rest about halfway up…


DSC_2045


There was a war memorial there for the first and second world wars.


100_0649


There was a nice place to sit in the shade to catch your breath.


DSC_2048



And when your breath was caught a spectacular view! 


DSC_2050


 Then we were off to finish the climb.


DSC_2052


 There was an enclosed room still standing on the upper levels.


DSC_2059


 


DSC_2095



 The last little bit of climbing before we reached the base of the tallest tower.


DSC_2068


 


DSC_2070


 We have to climb up there?


DSC_2072


 


DSC_2086


Oh but what a view!


See those cars?  That’s where we started this climb!


DSC_2077


 The very tip of the tower.


DSC_2081


Hey look, there are the benches we just rested on…


 100_0654


  After we had drunk our fill of the view we headed back down to street level.


DSC_2088


 By the time we got down we were hungry!  So we ventured into the Burg Cafe for some lunch!


 DSC_2120


We have no idea what it is exactly that we ate (the top thing on the menu there) but it was delicious! 


DSC_2115


 After lunch we headed home, but took a small detour to check out the woods!


Beautiful day! 



DSC_2141


 Me again!


DSC_2145


 Isn’t my little car so cute?  🙂


DSC_2153


 I agree Aunt Betty, it’s time to head home!


DSC_2156


 So we did!  We spent the afternoon relaxing and getting ready or our next day’s adventures!


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney


 


 

7 thoughts on “Summer in Deutschland: Part II ~Manderscheid~

  1. My best guess ist that you ate some sort of pork with potatoes. I know “mit pommes” means w/potatoes, and I’m pretty sure “Fliesch” is pork. I’m not sure was “Flieschkase” is, but if I had to guess I’d say sausage? Defiantely something with pork. That’s what 4 semesters of German will get you! The ability to order in a restaurant. Not much else. I still wish I could read your rant, I keep looking at them and wondering, “What did they do????”

  2. @michellek25 – Yep, that’s what two years of living here gets you too.  I know it was pork.. some kind of processed sausage like pork served with fries but it was in meatloaf form and had the consistency of bologna.  I probably don’t want to know but it was yummy!  As far as my rant goes it would be too mean… we had a good time.. there was just frustration with that “I’m an American! Ruler of the known world and old to boot!  Bow down” attitude…  I’ve learned to have a deep respect for the people and culture here and that just rubs me the wrong way… I’ll get over it!

  3. I love seeing your beautiful pictures of Germany….I visited it once for one month and that one month of being there I couldn’t get enough of all the sights….it’s a beautiful country. Someday, I’m sure I’ll return….slightly envious (in a good way) that you have this time to have this great adventure of living there. *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

