Word to the wise…

*EDIT AT THE BOTTOM* 


When you have three days until company (that you actually want to impress) arrives, it’s not a good time to decide to do all of your spring cleaning… including a detailed catch up on your yard work.


Here in Germany we have cobblestone gutters and driveways…  Little weeds and tufts of grass grow in the cracks and we are responsible for keeping them debris free. 


I haven’t done it since Ryan left. 


In my defence most of that time it’s been so cold that nothing grew… but these last few weeks they’ve been coming up gradually and I just didn’t feel like it.  So I took this opportunity to get it ALL done. 


I spent 6 hours on my hands and knees with a special trowel like tool they use for this purpose, cleaning my gutters, sidewalks and driveway.  Today I can barely type or close my hands…  My legs are screaming… I had trouble sleeping last night because my back hurt so bad…


But that didn’t stop me.  Today I mowed the lawn, washed the dogs, did all the laundry, cleaned out my car, rearranged my kitchen and cleaned every window in my house… inside and out… all 18 of them…


I can barely sit here I’m so sore… and guess what?  Oh I bet all of you who know me and my OCD ways could guess…


I still have to clean the house.  The whole house.  And a few other things of course!


That includes:




  • Go on base and get gas (it’s up to $4.24 a gallon! YIKES!)


  • Buy bottled water for the car ride


  • Clean kitchen


  • Clean bathrooms


  • Scrub shower


  • Vacuum whole house (all three floors)


  • Mop


  • Put out towels and rugs


  • Fold laundry


  • Take out the trash


  • Thaw chicken and prep ingredients for dinner Monday night

All when I can barely move… 


Then I have to wake up early Monday morning and throw dinner together into the crock pot, take the boys out and take off for my 2 1/2 hour drive to the airport, pick up my Aunt and then turn around and drive another 2 1/2 hours back home.  


Never again! 


Always do the spring cleaning a few weeks before the visit then touch up for the visit!!!  Now I have to try and enjoy myself for two weeks! 


The good news is that when they are gone (June 23rd) I’ll have less than 6 weeks left until my husband will be home again!  After half a year!!!  I will NOT be saving all the yard work and cleaning until the last minute then!  (Oh who am I kidding?  You know I will… no matter how OCD I am I’m also a terrible procrastinator)


So I’m out!  For real this time… Take care everyone…  Oh and by the way, I have fuel for my eye phobia from yesterday.  I was weed eating and a rock kicked up and hit my face just about half and inch below my eye and actually cut me!  See?  Too delicate to feel safe!!!! 


Auf Wiedersehen!
Courtney


 


P.S.  And you know what?  Transformers is just about the coolest movie ever made!  It ROCKS!


 


*EDIT*


P.P.S.  I just broke out this bag of cookies that I bought on the economy…  (In a German grocery store)  As I was sitting here chowing down I started looking at the bag.  It has the ingredient info on it in about 15 different languages… in fact there isn’t room on the bag for much more than that.  One sentence is repeated over and over in every language.  How do I know?  Well it’s the only sentence on the bag in BOLD!  Would you like to know what this mysterious sentence is?  In every language?


“Can have a purgative effect in an excessive quantity is consumed”


I looked it up just to make sure I was reading it right…


pur·ga·tive –adjective







1. purging or cleansing, esp. by causing evacuation of the bowels.


Of course the serving size is written only in German so I’m not too sure what an “excessive quantity” entails. 


Don’t mince words do they?


If there was every anything that makes you not want to binge eat cookies… This is IT!


Gross

12 thoughts on “Word to the wise…

  1. LOL You are such a goober! And um…Courtney?  RYC Theres always spellcheck!Silly girl. Love ya, have a great visit and kiss the boys for me.

  2. I’m the same way with my OCD…I hate germs but I also love procrastinating so I feel your pain (not literally though, it sounds horrible )! Good luck with getting everything done and I’ll say a little prayer that your guests want to sit around and visit for the first couple days so you can recover.  I’m glad your eye is okay…you might want to buy goggles for the next time though, that’s scary. And I totallly agree about Transformers, it was so GOOD!!!  And YAY, YAY, YAY that Ryan will be home fairly soon (God willing – OCD thing) and I will keep praying! Love ya!

  3. lol @ those cookies!  I hope you don’t have any issues after eating them!You are one busy lady!  Way to go on being so productive… but you’re crazy to do it a couple days before company comes!  I hope once it’s done you’re able to enjoy yourself and just chillax.Have a lovely day!  Talk to you when you get back!

  4. Woah girl! You are one busy lady!!! I bet you are exhausted! And…I don’t think going on a cookie binge is a good idea (LOL).  So I wanted to tell you what my wonderful hubby bought me yesterday for our 5 year anniversary…a Canon Digital Rebel XTi.  I CAN’T BELIEVE IT!!!! I am SO EXCITED!!!!! Remind me again what kind of camera you have? I don’t know if you have something similar, but I would LOVE some pointers! Our actual anniversary isn’t until June 21st and we are going to Hilton Head Island.  I want to take some pics of the sunset at the beach and would really love any suggestions you have for settings for that kind of light.  I always LOVE your pictures and you’re a lot more experienced that I am.  I LOVE photography, but don’t really know that much AT ALL about using the proper settings.  I can’t believe your only 2 months out from seeing your hubby!!!! I know you must be SO EXCITED!!!

  5. oh dear.  I hope you have a great visit with your family.Wow…you get your gas on base and pay US prices!  We don’t.  We have to fork over the 1.50 Euro/liter (with exchange rate read $8 a gallon!) when we rent a car!  EEK!  I can’t believe you did all that just days before company.  I do the same thing though! LOL

  6. I’m so sorry you are so sore!  I know how you feel though.  We went to my grandma’s on Friday and by the time we  were done I had succeeded in getting a big blister on my thumb, bruising my other thumb, taking some skin off my index finger, hurting my back, severely sunburning my shoulders, and then to top it all off I wacked my head into the car door.  I think yard work is dangerous…  Lol.Enjoy your visit!

  7. YEAH for getting all that work on the house done! Waiting till the last minute definatly does make for a bit of a chaotic couple of days. lol! BUT all is done, which is a job well done! The bottom cookie story…too funny….never seen that on a container of food before. lol! The things we find out in life. Hope everything else is going good right now for ya. Sorry I’ve been a bit MIA with all these computer issues….missed reading your posts. Your seriously a WONDERFUL writer. Have you ever thought of writing a book or anything….who knows, maybe you could be the “Jane Austin” of modern-day. lol! Hey, nothing wrong with dreaming. *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

