Summer Thunder Terrors…

So, it would seem that we have entered the season of nightly thunder storms.  It is still an hour until sunset here and more than two hours until dark and it’s pitch black outside with high winds and driving rain.  That alone would be impressive if it were not for the crashing and booming of thunder.  I had to turn off my car alarm a few minutes ago! 


I’m not here to tell you that though…  I’m here to regale you with yet another dog story! 


I was making dinner when this latest storm started up.   Both boys came running and since I was cooking I told them it was okay and to go lay down.  I finished up dinner and then realized that Gandalf had stayed in sight of me the whole time but I hadn’t seen Yoda since the moment I shooed him out of the kitchen.


I went and tried his favorite places to lay down, but I couldn’t find him.  I won’t lie, I started to feel a little guilty… I was distracted and not as gentle as I should have been when I shooed him away and he really is a big baby.  In fact last year during a storm he shook so hard that he hyperventilated and passed out!  With all of these thoughts spinning in my head I started to search for him in earnest because one thought was coming to the surface over and over…


He’s old.  11 and 1/2!  It is my fondest wish that when it’s his time to go, he goes at home, naturally, and preferably in his sleep.  But the thought that he might have had a heart attack and died of fear in some corner made me feel queasy!


(How’s that for morbid?) 


I called for him and searched high and low… starting to feel just a bit of panic.  I even went into the basement wondering if I had accidently shut him in after their last walk and then just imagined that he came into the kitchen with Gandalf in the kitchen… 


And then I found him… You’re not going to believe this!


DSC_1902


He was sitting in the corner of the shower, shuddering…


Keep in mind that he passionately hates baths and this is the scene of the crime, and that he stayed put long enough for me to get my camera, in fact I had to pick him up to get him out!  So this picture truly does say a thousand words!


I swear that tomorrow he’ll be in the tub with a mattress pulled over his head! 


I’ll let you know if he does!


Courtney 


 

11 thoughts on “Summer Thunder Terrors…

  1. How funny is that! We found Parker in the bathtub once… quivering because the smoke alarms went off. We couldn’t find that dog anywhere! Maybe our dogs are related!!

  2. <table id=”HB_Mail_Container” height=”100%” cellspacing=”0″ cellpadding=”0″ width=”100%” border=”0″ unselectable=”on”><tbody><tr height=”100%” width=”100%” unselectable=”on”><td id=”HB_Focus_Element” valign=”top” width=”100%” background=”” height=”250″ unselectable=”off”>That is too cute  – minus him being scared, of course. 🙂

  3. Poor little puppy. I love huge thunderstorms and was on the local skywarn list with our National Weather Service Station for a while with our older daughter before she left home. I’ve always been nutty when it comes to watching clouds and storms forming. I suppose I helped my kids not to fear them as much as most kids do by getting them into watching weather too. It’d be so much nicer if the storms didn’t do damage or hurt people. I love your page and all the beautiful pictures you post. What kind of camera do you use? Is it digital?

  4. LOL ! What in the world.  So… obviously thunderstorms are worse then a bath!  How funny!I see in a comment above you and I have the same camera!  I LOVE mine! 

  5. Awww poor baby!  We’re stationed in England thank goodness we haven’t gotten any of your storms.  You can keep them!  I think my border collie would do the same thing as Yoda…if you clap your hands she startles.  You’ll probably have a lot of company in bed as long as this continues LOL

  6. Poor Yoda! That breaks my heart! I’m glad he was ok though. That’s the cutest picture! My parent’s dog Eboni does the same thing during storms, so we have to make sure to keep the bathroom door closed or she’ll go hide and huddle up next to the bathtub!! Hope you’re having a great weekend! love ya!

Leave a Reply

