Eternal Winter…

Guten Morgan,


When I was a little girl my parents and grandparents used to say that age old aphorism,


“Eat all the food on your plate.  Don’t you know there are starving kids in China?”


Honestly, who’s parents didn’t say that?  Well here in Germany, they have a similar saying that has plagued me since the day I disembarked from the plane and was served my first enormous german meal.


“Eat all your food!  No leftovers or we’ll have bad weather.”


Most of you will remember that I had gastric bypass surgery three years ago now… consequently, space is limited and leftovers are inevitable.


The result?  Bad weather…  almost two years of it now.  Summers that aren’t warm enough, winters that aren’t cold enough, constant rain… over 20 months of bone chilling cold, slush, and grey.  Honestly, it sounds like I’m being dramatic but the Germans can not explain it, they’ve never had weather this nasty or unproductive… Those that know me, have decided, it’s all my fault. 


Oh well, cest le vie right? 


The beautiful spring day I wrote of last week was the last of it’s kind.  I woke the next morning to rain and grey skies.  I decided not to worry about it since the temperatures stayed warmer than they had been.  Spring always takes a bit longer to come out and stay here…


Yesterday afternoon, my hopes were dashed.  I was collecting laundry upstairs and when I came out of the bedroom it was to see this…


DSC_0768


Can’t see it?  How about now?  In the space of half an hour my world was plunged back into the depths of winter… 


DSC_0773


So, of course, we went out to enjoy it… if you can’t beat em’ join em’ right?  Look how fast it’s coming down!


DSC_0788


In my front yard I have a little stone planter and in it a little bumblebee…  my one trip into tacky yard art!  The poor little things wings were weighed down with the snow in minutes!


DSC_0791


Just look at how quickly it blanketed everything!  Even Gandalf couldn’t move quickly enough…


DSC_0775


All the poor brave souls are now covered in ice and snow… 


DSC_0794


I had to take an umbrella out with me since I loathed the idea of getting my new camera wet…  It was covered so quickly, I ducked back under the carport and set it down to see what the dogs would make of it.


DSC_0785


I love this picture!  They poked the umbrella with their noses and then back peddled when it rocked… Gandalf eventually started eating snow off of it and jumping back at the sound his teeth made on the nylon… it was so fun to watch!


DSC_0786


This picture brings one thing to mind…


“Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.  And let endurance have it’s perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”  James 1:2-4


DSC_0792


I hope I prove as resistent to this eternal winter as this brave little flower…


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney


 

11 thoughts on “Eternal Winter…

  1. You pictures look a bit like my town today.Oh for Song of Solomon 2:11-12 to appear! — “For the winter is past, the rain is over and gone… the flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing of the birds is come!”

  2. I didn’t know you had Gastric Bypass.  I’d love to hear more about that.. if you feel okay messaging me? If not, that’s okay!  Enjoy the snow.. Im sure you are more than ready for spring!

  3. LOL – i’m glad you enjoyed the Aflac video!  And the uhh…passing gas video! haha  I had to stop the camera because I started laughing SO hard.  He can be sooooo random sometimes!

  4. That verse is perfect for that!  What a good picture to end the post.  Sorry it’s snowing there!  Yuck!  I’m torn because it is supposed to be spring so I don’t want snow, but it is so pretty in your pictures!  That’s funny about the dogs and umbrella. 

Leave a Reply

