Snow days…

Guten Tag!


The last few weeks here in the Land of Fairy Tales have been so cold… Winter seemed to have an unbreakable grip on the land…  Only a week ago I looked out my window to see the first REAL snow of the winter… On March 21st… the first day of spring.


DSC_0458


 It was a soft powdery snow… quite lovely…


DSC_0460


… and it made a picture postcard perfect night.


DSC_0471


 The boys and I tucked in tight for the night and spent a cozy evening watching TV and missing daddy…


And woke up to this!


 DSC_0549


 As much as I long for warm weather and spring I have to admit that my heart just soared at the sight.


DSC_0552


 The sky was so blue and clear and the blanket of white covered a barely hidden blanket of green!


DSC_0556


My little German cottage all covered in snow.


DSC_0557


 I took the boys outside for a romp in the snow… Yoda loves snow!  He was just too cute…


DSC_0487


 The promise of spring… 



DSC_0543


 Enchanting… 



DSC_0559


 Even in the snow there is promise…


DSC_0562


Gandalf just ran around and ate the snow!  See the smudge of white on the tip of his nose?


DSC_0570


 He is a beautiful dog if I do say so myself!


DSC_0571


 After a few hours of frolicking in the snow we all came inside to warm up and rest…


DSC_0504


 It was a lovely and rather lazy afternoon!


DSC_0509 


 That evening when I went outside I saw this little promise that the warm days of spring were not too far distant.


DSC_0492


 I’ll stop here for the day! 


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney

15 thoughts on “Snow days…

  1. I love that Schnauzer stretch!!  It’s funny how all schnauzers have the same characteristics.
    What a beautiful post!  The pictures were so pretty.  

  2. Well I’m glad you got the snow, and not me!  We’ve had so much snow here in KS this winter. I am definitely ready for spring! I love your schnauzer! Aren’t they the greatest? šŸ™‚
    Have a wonderful day!

  3. You’re site takes SO long to load for me. I wonder why!?!? (pictures maybe!?) And I have high speed! Haha! ;-D
    I had to show Chuck the pics of the boys laying on the living room rug. I asked him, “now honey, isn’t that just cozy to see. Two dogs laying around!?”  He just smiled and kinda rolled his eyes!
    We got our package! I LOVE it!!!  It has joined the pink blanket in the nursery, so while Mira is wrapped up in the wee morning hours, now so will I! (I had to wear it around the house first for awhile though). The rainbow blanket is what we cover her with at night!  Your love covers us through and through!
    Love you!

  4. Hi! I found your site throught the AF wives blogring and spent most of the weekend reading and looking at your pics of Germany and Paris I had no idea just how beautiful both places are! The pictures of the snow are just gorgeous! I hope you dont if i sub to you- i would love to continue to read about your stay in Germany šŸ™‚ -Jamie

  5. As much as I get so tired of snow there is just something about the way it transforms everything it touches. The last storm we had, I was actually excited about it. It is so beautiful when all you have to do is sit at home and enjoy it. I do not like driving in it, and there are very few opportunities for me to just sit at home and watch it.
    Your dogs are beautiful, the last storm we had Bruno(min pin) was hardly able to get around it was so deep. He literally jumped around like a rabbit.
    Amy

  6. Snow is pretty cool even though it should be spring, but I know how it is in colder climates.  When I lived in  Kansas once it snowed in April.

  7. Beautiful pictures!  I am normally in awe of the snow and in love with it.  I want to take tons of pictures of all the different little miracles of snow, but by this point in the year, for the first time EVER, I am tired of snow!  I can’t believe I’m saying that but I’ve had enough by this point.  Lol.  But I’m glad you got to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

