Lynne’s Trip to Manderscheid

Guten Tag!


We arrived home from Paris after midnight and fell straight into bed… we were so tired!


The next morning we got a bit of a slow start but when we got moving we headed out for a day of exploring!


We took a long drive through the forest and got a few pictures! 


IMG_9260


Here’s Lynne soaking it all in…


IMG_9266


Can you just hear it? 


“If I were King of the Forest, Not queen, not duke, not prince.
My regal robes of the forest, would be satin, not cotton, not chintz.
I’d command each thing, be it fish or fowl.
With a woof and a woof and a royal growl – woof.
As I’d click my heel, all the trees would kneel.
And the mountains bow and the bulls kowtow.
And the sparrow would take wing – If I – If I – were King!
Each rabbit would show respect to me. The chipmunks genuflect to me.
Though my tail would lash, I would show compash
For every underling!
If I – If I – were King!
Just King!
Monarch of all I survey — Mo–na-a-a–a-arch Of all I survey!”


IMG_9269


One of the things I love about The Land of Fairy Tales is that there is always an unmarked road or trail… begging you to find out where it goes!


IMG_9272


Lynne says this picture is here giving thanks that she’s not at work… and that it’s too cold for this tee pee to be full of spiders like it is in the summer!


100_6314


Well hello!


100_6315


Wether you are a trained photographer or an amateur enthusiast… sometimes a long arm is all the equipment you need!


100_6312


This picture has a story…  We were driving through some scary switchback roads when we came upon a little bridge… Lynne begged me to pull over on the shoulder so she could get a picture… Doesn’t sound scary right?  Well in Germany there really aren’t shoulders… this picture was taken at a dead run so we didn’t get knocked off the road!  Pretty though huh?


IMG_9274


At the end of our journey we found ourselves at the castle.


100_6317


Lynne had to have a picture of this… a lonely light pole in the middle of the field…  She’s right, it does remind one of the lamppost in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.


IMG_9283 


“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.”


Except… this is Manderscheid and I didn’t dream about it…


100_6318


Lynne on the bridge to the jousting fields.


100_6320


 The upper castle of Mandershceid.


IMG_9295


 Me on the bridge…


100_6321


Lynne in front of the Manderscheid castles…


100_6331


 Aren’t bridges wonderful things?



IMG_9284


Lynne using her telephoto lens to see every detail of the castles! 


100_6334


 And get a few amazing pictures of them…


IMG_9291


 Another great “professional” shot!


100_6335 


 We took about 15 pictures before we got this one… Do you know how hard it is to get two people AND two castles in a picture from the end of your arm?


100_6332


On the way home from the castle we passed through some pretty country and saw some cute little villages…


IMG_9311


After going home and warming up a bit we decided to head to Dirk and Nichole’s for dinner.  We arrived about 45 minutes before they opened so that we could hike around the area and I could show Lynne some of the places I haunted when we first moved here to Germany.


100_6339


 At one point in our walk we crossed a bridge that went over the train tracks…


IMG_9354


…and we had the great luck of being there when a train passed under us!


100_6343


This is the gate to an old house tucked back in the hills… There is quite a bit of superstition from the villagers about this place…  They say it is haunted!


IMG_9356


After we had finished our walk it was on to The Landhaus Biehl and dinner!


IMG_9362


 When you order dinner here the meal begins with a bowl of soup… A broth made from wild game that is heaven!!! 


100_6358



The soup is followed by a lovely salad of fresh greens and a homemade dressing that is to die for… we of course ate it before remembering we were taking pictures…


 And of course you must have something to drink!


100_6359


 After you finish your soup and salad out comes your main course!  Lynne got Puntenschnitzel Formosa, it’s a steak of turkey breast schnitzeled, topped with white asparagus and smothered in hollandaise sauce.  It is then broiled over to brown the sauce.  This is one of my favorite dishes!!!


100_6360


 And of course every meal comes with some kind of potato dish… these are Nichole’s famous home fries!


100_6364


It was a wonderful dinner to finish out a day of fun!



100_6357



 Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney


 

12 thoughts on “Lynne’s Trip to Manderscheid

  1. It is too early in the morning for me to be looking at all that yummy food!  Makes me very discontent with my cereal! 
    RYQ:  I have no idea about the TB test.  It could be something like William’s diabetes (though that is not contagious, of course; is TB?) and we had to have a letter from his regular doctor stating that it was well controlled and would not interfere with his parenting abilities.  Maybe it could be taken care of as easily as that.  Surely that would not just disqualify you.  I might ask my social worker about that. 

  2. I LOVE your photos.. they are absolutely beautiful!  I can see God’s glory & wonder in all of them.. You are one lucky chica! 🙂

  3. Courtney,
    These are beautiful pictures, I know having Lynne visit was a nice diversion for you. The nice thing about you having company is that we all get to see the beautiful places you visit! Thanks for sharing these with us too!!!  

Leave a Reply

