Lynne’s Trip to Paris, Part III

Bonjour!


After Lynne and I had explored the Louvre courtyard we popped back onto the Metro and went to the Ile de la Citi.


As we came out of the Metro station we saw the back of the Sainte Chapell.  It was built by Louis IX in 1245 and was built to be the reliquary of the crown of thorns.


IMG_9104


It sits right next to the Palais de Justice which is said to house a piece of the true cross.


IMG_9106


We walked around the square and then found a sidewalk vendor and got some lunch!   


100_6211


This lovely looking food is a Parisian variation of the Donner Kebap!


100_6210


I must say we enjoyed it immensely and should I return to Paris, I’ll be sure to visit this place again!


100_6209


The table we sat at with our lunch was apparently for sit in patrons so we took ourselves off and found a nice little wall down by the River Seine to enjoy our food and the hum of the city.


IMG_9109


Such a beautiful view!


IMG_9115


After a refreshing hour of eating and drinking in the view we walked on to the Notre Dame!


100_6212


This is another sight that will never get old for me.


IMG_9230


 The sheer size of this cathedral is staggering…


100_6298


206 feet from the base to the top of the bell towers.


100_6295


 And the details that cover this monument make it fascinating.


IMG_9190


I do not believe that either of us could get our fill of looking…


100_6214


 There are over 5,000 Gargoyles on the Notre Dame cathedral.


IMG_9197


This is the outside of one of the windows… it holds a statue of the Virgin Mary holding the Baby Jesus and flanked by two angels.


IMG_9198


 The three portals on the front of the building are from right to left;


The Portal of the Virgin, the Portal of the Last Judgement, and the Portal of Saint Anne.  This last portal holds some of The Notre Dame’s finest and oldest (12th century) statuary.


100_6215


A close up of some of the gargoyles…


IMG_9196


Above those three portals you see the Gallery of Kings which has 28 statues of the kings of Israel.


100_6299


 This is the Grande Gallery and is the last level of the building before the bell towers.


IMG_9199


Here I am, standing in the Notre Dame plaza which was designed by Haussmann in the 19th century, and holds France’s “Point Zero” which is a bronze star which is said to be the center of the city.


100_6217


It is said that a tourist that stands upon “Point Zero” will one day return to Paris.


IMG_9200


 Here is a close up of part of the Gallery of Kings.


IMG_9192


In the early 19th century the cathedral was in a state of disrepair.  The city planners began talks to tear it down. 


IMG_9201


Victor Hugo’s The Hunchback of Notre Dame was written to draw attention to the Cathedral and raise awareness of the issues.  Funds were collected and repairs commenced in 1845.  Can you imagine all of this being gone?


100_6286


After we had ‘drunk our fill’ of the sights, as it were… we went inside the cathedral.


100_6220


The main hall is flanked by pillars and small chapels.


IMG_9132


The roof is a staggering 155 feet and is supported by flying buttresses.


100_6222


All throughout the cathedral are stations where you can purchase candles to light in prayer.


IMG_9148


 The hall is adorned by dozens of stained glass windows.


100_6227


Each chapel is filled with statuary and artifacts.


IMG_9150


The cathedral can hold up to 9,000 worshippers at any given time.


100_6236


The stained glass dates from the conception of the cathedral to as late as 1965.


IMG_9161


The atmosphere of this place is supposed to instill in the visitor the gothic perception of our earthly limitations compared to the limitlessness of the divine. 


IMG_9151


I must admit that I do feel a certain kind of smallness when I stand here…


100_6243


Here I stand in the reflected light of what mans’ hands can accomplish…


IMG_9156


With full knowledge that these creations do not even begin to touch the majesty of our creator.


100_6257


That these creations, so far beyond anything I could even come close too are the frustrated attempts of man to show their awe of our creator.


100_6268


Whatever else Notre Dame is… it is a humbling experience.  


IMG_9164


One I am privileged to have seen…


100_6261


and felt… 


100_6278


To think that there was a time when this testimony to human creativity was to be demolished.


IMG_9174



That all of this beauty and history would have been lost for ourselves and for the generations to come…



100_6279



And in this modern age where speed and cost drive so many things it would have been a shame to lose this work of art, this building from a long gone age when it was not uncommon to spend hundreds of years working on something, compared to the few short months acceptable in our day and age.


IMG_9177


Though this was my third visit to Notre Dame it was the first time I sat down in a pew for 20 minutes and just soaked in the atmosphere.  I would be lying if I said that I did not come away affected.


IMG_9184


After our long visit inside the cathedral we left and explored the park and the back of the building.


IMG_9214


 Close up the 700 years that this building has graced the earth show in the blackened stone…


IMG_9226


The gothic spire and flying buttresses.



100_6291


 And I’m spent.


I must break here to tell you that I am quite out of things to say….


100_6292



After three trips to Paris I have exhausted my knowledge of these place, I have exhausted every guide book and website I can get my hands on…


IMG_9212


And find that there is nothing else I can say without repeating myself! 


100_6293


So I will end with this…


Though this was my third trip to Paris and though I have no details left to share I will be quite happy to be speechless!  Paris and it’s wonders will always hold a place in my heart.


IMG_9223 



After a long day of walking we headed back down into the metro and caught the train back to our hotel to collect our bags.


IMG_9238 



Once we had collected our bags we found that we had a few hours left before our train back to Germany left.  So we went to the little restaurant that Ryan and I had found last time we were in Paris and had some dinner and relaxed.  One of the men that worked there was kind enough to take our picture!


100_6301 



Once we had finished our dinner and wasted all the time we could we headed to the main train station and prepared to catch our I.C.E. train back to Germany.


100_6307


In a strange turn of events we ended up in a first class car!  This would have been incredibly exciting if it didn’t mean we were closed into a small space with three Parisians who wanted to do nothing but loudly eat bread humus and stinky cheeses for the whole ride!  What a smell!!!   Doesn’t Lynne look thrilled?


100_6308 



We changed trains in Stuttgart and then again in Trier where we caught our last train home to Philipsheim.


100_6311 


It was a trip of a lifetime for Lynne (stolen camera and all) and I left another piece of my heart in Paris…


Au Revoir for today!


Courtney

12 thoughts on “Lynne’s Trip to Paris, Part III

  1. Courtney,
    I hope you are burning these as a slide show, they are so good and filled with such good information. You will want these in the years to come!
    Thank you for sharing these with us, I love seeing every picture, and take in the views along with you. Thank you for taking the time to do this for our enjoyment!
    Blessings, ~Candy    

  2. Thank you, once again, for sharing your experiences with us! It is truely amazing there!
    So, when is your next break from company….so i can plan my trip? haha! 😉
    (((HugS)))

  3. That is one thing I remember and treasure most from Notre Dame: The stained glass!  I was totally humbled to be there, and wish I could have stayed within those walls all day.  To think of the history and the stories behind those walls.  Paris is so wonderful.  I’m glad you enjoyed your time there!

  4. As always, AMAZING pictures…you are quite the photographer!!! Oh…how I miss Paris! I would love to go back there again one day! By the way, I LOVE the picture at the top of your page!

  5. That’s it! If the sightseeing didn’t convince me, the food did! I have to get there to visit you! Haha! (yeah, in my dreams!)
    I LOVE your new header!
    And I love you!

  6. Very remarkable! My Aunt & Uncle met in the service over in Germany, got married on a moutain in Switzerland, and honeymooned in Paris.  There is a picture of my Aunt in front of Notre Dome.

  7. I’m am in awe of all the details on the Notre Dame.  How awful would that have been if it was all lost?  I’m in shock that that could have happened.  Thanks again for sharing your adventures.  If I ever make it to Paris, which I doubt I will, I’ll already know some of the places I absolutely MUST visit. 

Leave a Reply

