Hot soup for a cold day!

Guten Tag!

So, for the last few weeks I’ve been obsessed with finding or creating new soup recipes. I’m a lover of good hearty soups for cold weather and I’ve been cold! I figured it was time to branch out from the one soup I actually make!

In the last week I have found two recipes that I have basically reworked from the ground up and I thought I would share just in case some of you are wanting a nice warm soup!  And can I just add that I made them both Crock Pot friendly?  I love my crock pot!

Chicken Tortilla Soup (YUMMY!)

You’ll need:

1 pound boneless chicken breasts.
2 (10 ounce) cans diced tomatoes of your choice
1 (10 ounce) cans of enchilada sauce
1 medium onion, chopped
1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chili peppers
1 can sweet corn (drained)
2 cloves of minced garlic
2 cups of water
2 (14.5 ounce) cans of chicken broth (optional 3rd can for prep cooking)
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
1 bay leaf
1 ½ teaspoons dried cilantro

I start this soup the night before. I put the pound of chicken in the crock pot with 1 can of chicken broth, some chili powder, seasoning salt, a little pepper, about a teaspoon of lime juice and a few tablespoons of barbecue sauce. Then I cover with water and cook on low all night.

When I get up the next morning I remove the chicken breasts and shred them, rinse out the crock pot and then start adding the ingredients. If you want to skip this step you can put the raw chicken right in with the other ingredients and just shred them about an hour before eating but I don’t think it gets quite as much flavor this way.

So next morning…

Place shredded chicken, tomatoes, enchilada sauce, onion, green chilies, corn and garlic into crock pot. Pour in water and chicken broth, and season with cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, cilantro, and bay leaf. Cover and cook on low setting for 6 to 8 hours or on high for 3 to 4 hours.

When it’s all done and you can’t wait another moment scoop into bowls, top with cheese of your choice (I prefer Kraft Mexican blend) and tortilla chips!

~~~~~

The second soup (and I must admit my favorite!) is my Corn Chowder!!! When I was back in the states I had this lovely Corn Chowder at Applebee’s that they stopped making. I’ve been craving it ever since… so I did my best to recreate it!

Courtney’s Corn Chowder

You will need:

1 onion diced
1 green bell pepper diced
1 tablespoon butter
1 can of chicken broth
3 cans of sliced potatoes drained and diced
5 or 6 rings of a jalapeno pepper (I get the jarred stuff and then deseed them and chop them… You can leave the seeds in for a bit more spice.)
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon paprika
½ teaspoon chili powder
4 cans of creamed corn
3 cups of milk divided
¼ cup flour

Saute onion and pepper in butter until tender. Put in crock pot. Add all other ingredients except for ½ cup of milk and the flour. Cook in crock pot on low for about 6 hours. About ½ hour to 1 hour before eating, whip flour and remaining mild together and add to soup to thicken (you can double this if you want a creamier chowder) Let simmer the remaining time and serve! This is great with some homemade bread rolls!

Well there you have it! I hope you enjoy these! I know I sure am!

~~~~~

I of course have more pictures to share later but I just wanted to make sure I got these written out!

Courtney

4 thoughts on “Hot soup for a cold day!

Leave a Reply

