The Arc de Triomphe…

Guten Tag…


So, to continue…


The next day dawned clear and sunny! 


We awoke early and walked to the little restaurant we had eaten dinner in the night before.  We ordered crepes and coffee for breakfast and it was fabulous!  


Then walked across the street to catch our bus.  We rode the bus to the Champs Elysees and walked along the most famous street in Paris toward the Arc de Triomphe.


213c


 It was a cold but pretty morning. 


216c


 And there was so much to see!


217c


 After a leisurely stroll we reached the top of the street! 



 221c


And, of course, took pictures of us in front of the Arc.



222c


 We walked through the underground passage that takes you up to the base of the Arc and took pictures underneath it.


230c


 It is 50 meters high (165 feet) and 45 meters wide (148 feet)


241c


 There are 12 streets radiating out from the Arc.


243c


 It was commissioned in 1806 to celebrate the victories of the Great Army and was completed in 1836.



245c


 At it’s feet lies the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier…  The tomb is inscribed with “Here lies a French soldier, who died for his country.”  The soldier was buried there in 1921.


247c


 Ryan and I standing under the Arc with our backs to the Champs Elysees and in the distance is the Grand Palace and the Obelisk. 


249c


 After taking our fill of pictures we hiked up the 284 stairs to the observation deck.


250c


 It was quite a relief to make it to the top at last!


251c


 This is the view down the Champs Elysees toward the Grand Palace from the top of the Arc de Triomphe.


252c


 My mom at the top!


253c


Dad and Ryan… 



255c


 One of the other avenues…


256c


 Ryan and I in front of the Eiffel Tower!


257c


 The Butte Montmartre and the Basilique du Sacre Coeur!


258c


 Ryan and I…


259c


The main street into downtown Paris! 


260c


 Dad with the Basilique in the background.


261c


 Mom and Dad…


269c



 The Eiffel Tower…


264c


 Another view… 


266c


 Me with the Basilique in the background.


267c


 The Parisian skyline.


268c


 Ryan and I…


270c


 After we hiked back down those 284 stairs we walked back along the Champs Elysees and found… EEEK… GASP!  A STARBUCKS!!!!! 


Here we are posing with our spoils!


271c


 Ah so good….


272c


 And after a lovely stroll with some Starbucks we moved on to the Eiffel Tower!


But I’ll save that for tomorrow…


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney

12 thoughts on “The Arc de Triomphe…

  1. Oh me too!  Me too!  It’s driving me crazy not knowing.
    I’m so completely jealous of your journeys.  Was you mom just beside herself?  I remember you saying that Paris was her dream.

  2. I was just thinking yesterday how much I wanted to bottle up a starbucks and send it to you in the mail. I wasn’t sure how I could do that, but I’m so glad you found one recently!

  3. The pictures are beautiful, I have always wanted to go to Europe and see the concentration camps. My Grandpa was in World War II and I have always been very interested in Europes history. Grandpa never said much about it. He had a great big book that was about World War II and if we asked about it he would just show us the pictures and descriptions in the book. I find it sad that that great generation is almost gone.
    Amy  

  4. Once again, such beautiful sights!  I just, shockingly enough, had my first Starbucks over the weekend.  It was very good, but we don’t have one near my house so I better not get hooked on it.  I can’t wait to see the rest of your pictures!

Leave a Reply

