Oh Holy Night

As much as I try to kid myself into thinking that I’ll have all my picture editing, cleaning, and baking done in time to make a nice long post before Christmas I think it’s safe to say I won’t make it. 


So I’m going to recycle an old post from a couple of years ago.  Something that was heavy on my heart then and that has been heavy on my heart again this season.


~~~~~


My favorite Christmas song is Oh Holy Night.  In the last few years this song has come to mean so much more to me…


O holy night, the stars are brightly shining;
It is the night of the dear Savior’s birth!
Long lay the world in sin and error pining,


These first three lines simply say that we, the world, are laden by our sin and on this night our savior from that sin, Jesus Christ, was born…. Simple and amazing.



Till He appeared and the soul felt its worth.


This line quite literally floors me. My spirit identifies with this. Jesus came into this world and the souls of man leaped in joy. I sometimes dream that this will be the most amazing part of heaven. To see your creator face to face and feel your spirit recognize its maker….



A thrill of hope, the weary soul rejoices,


This line makes me tremble. To feel that hope, that joy. To be a horse that has after a long journey scented water and feels refreshed at just the promise of a sip.



For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn.


A new beginning for all of mankind…Something coming in the world that no man could really know or understand.   The simple knowledge that things would never be the same.



Fall on your knees, O hear the angel voices!
O night divine, O night when Christ was born!
O night, O holy night, O night divine!


I never really thought about it…. That Christmas carols really say something.. I find that I often don’t really see things as an adult. There are so many things in life that I learned as a child and just took at face value.  Now as I grow older I have begun to look around and see things with new eyes… To re examine those things that I have taken for granted far too long…  it’s quite a journey.


Adieu until after the holidays my friends.  May you and your family have a wonderful Christmas season.


“Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. His mercies are new every morning. Great is Your faithfulness. The Lord is my portion says my soul, therefore I hope in Him”
Lamentations 3:22-24


Courtney

13 thoughts on “Oh Holy Night

  1. I love this song.  Great comments on each line.  The funny thing is that the site I was at just before yours had done the same thing with the same song!  I’ve definitely thought a lot more about the song between the two sites.  It is very true that we don’t really think much about the words to the songs we are singing.  So thanks for making me think.  Can’t wait to hear more from you after Christmas.  Have a merry Christmas!

  2. beautifully written by friend…i needed that tonight…its my favorite christmas song too and I actually just sang it before getting on the internet because I am singing it hopefully (Lord willing) next week at church.  I love when you wrote ” to see your creator face to face and feel your spirit recognize its maker….”   WOW courtney…WOW…i have no words to say after that..so powerful and beautiful and makes me look forward even more to the day of His return!  Merry Christmas!Love, April

  3. Happy New Year!!!  I hope your Christmas and New Year were amazing and I can’t wait to hear all the stories. I love the picture of you two at the top of this site, so very cute!!!

Leave a Reply

