Paris… The City of Lights!

Ah Paris!


In all my life I never thought that I would ever leave the U.S.A.  Let alone for Europe… and when we moved, yes.. I wanted to travel.  Did I think we ever really would?  Did I think it would ever become a reality?  No… I had hoped… but didn’t really hold out hope. 


All my life I have heard about Paris and thought to myself… “Really what’s the big deal?”


Well now I know and I’m here to tell you that… “Paris holds the key to my heart!”


On Monday morning bright and early we went to the train station in Phillipsheim.  We took a train to Trier and then another on to Saarbruken.  In Saarbruken we waited for just under an hour and boarded an I.C.E. train… (Basically a bullet train)  and off for Paris we went!


DSCN1237


We arrived in the City of Lights at about 3pm and walked from the train station, Gare de l’est, to our hotel, La Vieille France.  When we arrived at our hotel it was to find that the lift was broken and our room was on the very top floor!  Yikes!  We hiked all the way to the top, put our bags down, and headed out to find something to eat!


100_4494


We ended up in a nice little restaurant that I would NEVER eat in again!  Word to the wise.  If you ever go to Paris do not eat in a restaurant!  If you have to sit down to eat you are going to be sorry! 


We went in, sat down, and ordered. 


For the appetizer course we all ordered a raw veggie salad… thinking or course… “Salad, okay I can do salad.”  It ended up being a massive plate of cold; corn, peas, carrots, beets, and several unidentifiable things.  All cooked mind you but served cold in some kind of gravy…  SHUDDER!  It’s okay though since they didn’t bring me the cold veggie salad I ordered I didn’t have to eat it.  Oh no… instead I ended up with the cold MEAT salad.  Which is, of course, PATTE!  Oh, there simply are no words.  NO WORDS!  Suffice it to say that I have eaten real Pate in Paris, France. 


For the main course (feeling a bit cautious after that appetizer fiasco!)  Cheryl and I ordered chicken and Denny and Ryan ordered fish.  Safe right?  WRONG!  The fish were these small limp pieces of the kind of fish they put in fish sticks covered in a lemon butter glaze.  It was kind of like ordering fish at Denny’s… Then Cheryl and I got our chicken.  Yep just a thigh and leg of a chicken baked.  It had no flavor and was dry.  Not terrible and not wonderful. 


Dessert was another thing all together.  It was AMAZING and we all almost died!  It was this super thick, super dark, super RICH, chocolate mousse.  About three bites and we were so done but of course we had to finish it all and so we were all about to explode when we left. 


So sounds bad but not terrible huh?  How about if I tell you that between the four of us to eat in this small sidewalk cafe with terrible food that didn’t even really fill us up we paid over $100.00?  Now it’s bad right?


Okay so moral of this little story is… eat at the sidewalk vendors!  They are everywhere and they are CHEAP.  There is every kind of cuisine from all over the world on the streets of Paris and the food is amazing!


Anyway… back to the trip!


After dinner we set out with our maps and cameras!


100_4495


 The streets were amazing… Every building was something to see… Even in the poorer neighborhoods.


Restaurants you recognize from home… and many you don’t…


100_4498


 Restaurants with logos you recognize from the pictures you can buy in Target…


100_4506


And after a lot of walking and some very scary moments (such as walking through the red light district of Paris at dusk) we found the most famous brothel in the world! 


The Moulin Rouge!


DSCN1248


 Needless to say we contented ourselves with pictures from a distance and then hoofed it out of there before full dark!


DSCN1247



 So again we headed out on foot with maps and tour pamphlets.  After about 600 miles and 4 billion stairs (just being dramatic) we stumbled upon the Basilica of the Sacre Coeur on the Montmartre.


100_4516


 It was an awesome sight to behold.  Pardon the fuzzy pictures but it’s hard to get good pictures in the dark!


100_4517


 This one ended up being too cool to not use!


100_4532


And from the Montmartre (a hill 130 meters high, in the north of Paris, primarily known for the white-domed Basilica of the Sacre Coeur on its summit and another church on the hill called Saint Pierre de Montmartre, which claims to be the location at which the Jesuit order of priests was founded. Many artists had studied or worked around the community of Montmartre such as Salvador Dali, Claude Monet, Pablo Picasso and Vincent van Gogh.) you can see all of Paris spread out before your feet.


100_4522


 Seeing the city of lights from the Montmartre and feeling the crisp fall breeze was almost surreal.


100_4527


 Who would have ever thought that I would stand upon this hill looking out over Paris in perhaps the same spot as some of the greatest artists of all time.


100_4535


 When we were done taking in the sites we slowly walked back down the hill into the teeming nightlife of Paris.


100_4533


The lights and sounds and smells of Paris at night can be summed up in a word… Charming!


100_4537 


We finally found our way back to the hotel and fell on the beds just to get off or our feet!


100_4550


The next morning, bright and early we were up and about.  We walked to the Gare de Nord train station and caught a bus for the Arc de Triomphe.  The Arc de Triomphe is a monument in Paris that stands in the center of the Place Charles de Gaulle at the western end of the Champs-Elysees. 


100_4556


The bus stop for it is about half a kilometer away from the actual arc so we walked along Champs- Elysees and looked at all the shops.  We even saw the Louis Vuitton store.  We went in for just a moment and the cheapest thing we found was a small medal keychain that was priced at 220 € (about $315.00) how crazy is that?


Back to the Arc de Triomphe.


100_4559


The arch honors those who fought for France, particularly during the Napoleonic Wars.


100_4561


And today also includes the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.


100_4568


 It is lit with an ever burning flame.


100_4570


As I said in my previous post, so many things here in Europe are so large that they don’t even look big.  It’s as if your brain can simply not comprehend the true size so it scrunches it down to something understandable.  Just to give you an idea of the size of this monument it is over 51 meters (165 ft) in height and is 45 meters wide.  Still can’t grasp how big that is?  That’s Ryan and his dad at the bottom there.


100_4572


 And here are Denny and Cheryl.


100_4577


 Ryan and I in the center next to the tomb of the unknown soldier.


DSCN1291


 It is the second largest triumphal arch in existence.  Its design was inspired by the Roman Arch of Titus. The Arc de Triomphe is so colossal that three weeks after the Paris victory parade in 1919, marking the end of hostilities in World War I, Charles Godefroy flew his Nieuport biplane through it, and was caught in a newsreel.


DSCN1288 


From the Arc de Triomphe we walked back to the bus station and headed for the Eiffel tower. 


100_4585


Again it is hard to explain just how large this is so I’ll show you.  This is a full park and pond under the tower with full grown trees! 


100_4592


Suffice it to say… it’s big! 


DSCN1299


It was an amazing sight to see.  My only regret is that Ryan and I never thought to get the classic picture of us kissing in front of the tower! 


We’ll have to make due with this great picture of Ryan and his Dad overlooking the Seine river with the tower in the background… NOT kissing.  (snicker)



100_4615


After taking in the Eiffel tower and strolling along the Seine river we made our way to the Louvre!



100_4629


 The Musee du Louvre in Paris is the most visited and one of the oldest, largest, and most famous art galleries and museums in the world.


100_4638


And of course the Louvre pyramid which was built in 1989 and serves as the entrance to the museum!



100_4653


 The Louvre was once a palace.  It’s construction began in 1535 and was completed in 1876.  It is quite a site to behold.


100_4657


Unfortunately, as luck would have it, the Louvre is closed on Tuesdays… and that happens to be the day we were there!  If we ever go to Paris again you can be sure that the day we see the Louvre won’t be a Tuesday!



DSCN1338


After seeing as much of the Louvre as we could we walked onto the Ile de la Citi, the island in the center of the Seine River.



100_4673


To the front doors of Notre Dame de Paris.


DSCN1348


Notre Dame was built between 1163 and 1345 and is widely considered one of the finest examples of gothic architecture in the world.


100_4688


It is still the seat of the Archbishop of Paris.


DSCN1352


I have to say that this was perhaps my favorite stop in Paris.


DSCN1354


The interior of this church took my breath away.  Here are the pipes for the organ in front of one of the famous stained glass windows.



100_4696


Can I just say that I love my camera?  Flash cameras are not allowed inside as this is still a functioning church so all of these were taken indoors without a flash!


The windows were phenomenal. 


DSCN1370


 The archways and ceilings just stagger the mind.  It is not hard to believe that this building took 172 years to complete.


100_4694


There were many alcoves with statues and paintings and of course stained glass.


DSCN1358


 It was surreal to look up into this church and have images of Disney movies flashing through your mind.


100_4700


Don’t you expect to see Esmerelda walking down the aisle seeking sanctuary? 


100_4702


 Breathtaking…



100_4710


 I wish that the pictures could portray just how amazing the experience was…



100_4718


 But I’ll have to settle with telling you that the actual sight of this place is much grander and awe inspiring than my camera (without it’s flash!) can show you.


100_4720


 This is the Crown of Light or the Great Chandelier that has been taken down for restoration.


100_4721 



I think this is one of my favorite pictures from the trip.  It looks like it should be a postcard!  (And in light of my recent encounters with Nuns it sooths my heart a bit! 🙂



100_4725


The great Rose window of the Notre Dame cathedral.


100_4705


The length of the cathedral from the Narthex.


100_4729


 This is one of the two iconic bell towers of Notre Dame.



100_4731


 The bells are some of the only things that survived the looting and destruction during the French Revolution at the end of the 18th century.


100_4735


 The outside of the Rose Window.



DSCN1376


Us posing in the gardens behind Notre Dame.




100_4747


After Notre Dame we spend some time perusing the little sidewalk shops and buying souvenirs.  We had a wonderful time…  We then walked back to the bus station and caught a bus back to our hotel.  We collected our baggage and walked back to the train station to catch our train home. 


As we boarded our train and looked back over the city of lights just beginning to come awake I realized that a piece of my heart would always belong in Paris.


I never understood how people could be so enchanted with a city, I have always been a mountain and lake girl myself.


But in the short two days that we walked it’s streets I fell in love with the city of lights, the city of L’amour.


Not to mention that Ryan and I can hold each other close, look deeply into each others eyes and say…


“We’ll always have Paris!”


Au Revoir!


Courtney




 

14 thoughts on “Paris… The City of Lights!

  1. WOW! I haven’t ever been to Paris, but I’d love to go and you definitely took me there in pictures. You did a great job of making me feel like I was actually on a tour.
    I’m so glad you got to go! Have a great day! Love ya!

  2. Browsed past yoru site, im married to an American based in england, try Barcelona, Rome and London, they are all on a par!!!

  3. Oh Paris! Brett has been to Paris, but I never had…he has pictures of a lot of the same stuff that you did. I LOVE the pictures…it’s so beautiful there and I’d love to visit someday. I think it’s so great that you are in a place where you can take advantage of things like hopping a train to Paris!

  4. What a wonderful tour guide you are! What a wonderful experience you were able to share with your in-laws. Paris was very memorable for us too.  We visited Paris in April 1999 and it rained as soon as we arrived in front of the Eiffel Tower.  So we were unable to get a good picture there.  We did get to visit the Louvre which was a wonderful experience.  You need a full day just for the Louvre–not kidding!  Thanks for the wonderful tour.   Blessings, Darlene

  5. wow!  how amazing is that place!  you are very lucky.  maybe someday when my boys are older we will visit Paris. 

  6. Wow, wow, wow, and wow!    You have left me just about speechless with your pictures!  Those are incredible!  I had never had much of a desire to see Paris…I was like you in thinking “What’s the big deal?”  But now, I would love to go there!  Being able to see Paris at night from where you did…incredible!  And seeing all those famous places!!!  Thank you for taking the time to post all of those!

  7. I am so completely jealous of you right now. Ever since I was a little girl I had dreams of going to Paris. They have changed slightly in the past 5 years or so from Paris to Italy but there’s still a part of the country bumpkin that would love to visit.  Do you remember that show the Torkelsons.  It starred Dorothy Jane who was a teenager that had dreams of going to Paris but you knew that she’d never make it.  That’s me.  I want to get out but I’m content now where I am.  I would still jump at the opportunity though.

  8. What great pictures!!! I’m thinking I might do a post soon with pics from my trip to Paris.  It was 3 years ago…a mission trip with my church.  We did prayer walking through all of those places you have pictures of.  It is a very beautiful place…but one of the hardest places in the world to share Christ…because the government is their God.  They have no desire to seek God or hear about God because they feel like they don’t need anything.  If they need something, they turn to their government.  There are so very few Christians in Paris and the missionaries we met with there have been there for many years and have only seen a handful come to know Christ (which it’s wonderful that there are at least some, but if you go somewhere that people are literally starving….for food…like in Africa….they are also starving to hear about Christ!) The Notre Dame was beautiful…but as I was there I cried and cried as I sat through one of their services.  I got a sense of disconnection from the people from a RELATIONSHIP with Christ.  It’s very much a ritualistic type service…and felt more like they were just going through the motions rather than having a relationship if that makes any sense.  I would LOVE to go to Paris again one day because it is absolutely beautiful, but I pray so hard for the people there as I’ve seen first hand the hearts there that have turned cold to the gospel.  It is encouraging though that there are some churches and schools that are longing to reach their community for Christ.  

  9. Ah…I want to always have Paris! Sounds so wonderful, Courtney. I have decided that you need a Mac. As much as you seem to like photo editing and taking these gorgeous photographs, you would love a Mac. I now have one and I love the way my prints come out. I had some trouble printing from Picasa because the tones were a little off and such. But I just printed enlargements and it was breathtaking the was the colors looked so natural and crip…and clear. So, anyways, next time you need a computer, you should consider a Mac for fun!! I know it is like talking about religion and politics when it comes to Macs and PCs…but I just know you would love the software!~Gia:)

Leave a Reply

