Seven years…

Yesterday was our 7th anniversary. An enternity in the blink of an eye… Some days it seems that our life together is all I’ve ever known and other days I’m still in awe at how blessed we are to be together.



Seven years ago we stood up together and pledged to love each other for life…


wed12



“In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, I take you to be my lawfully wedded husband/wife, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, until death do us part.”



Those are the vows we spoke to one another.



Better? The moment we learned that we were expecting our first child… Worse? The moment we found out that we would never hold this child in our arms… And though we find laughter and cry tears of sorrow in turn we thank God for the chance to do so together.



Richer? Times like now, when a surprise bill doesn’t send our world into a tailspin, when we are blessed to be able to bless… Poorer? Oh yes… there were moments when a pot of pinto beans was all we had for third month in a row and all we longed for was a pan of cornbread to spice it up a bit… And through all of this we thank God daily for each other…



Sickness? Oh yes… There have been so many moments of sickness and through it all we have stuck by each other (Ryan more so since he’s never sick!)



And we do love each other and we do cherish each other…



Seven years ago as we stood together at the alter and said our vows we had All of Ask of You from The Phantom of the Opera played… We choose it because it was a beautiful song and because it sounded perfect for a wedding…



wed10



Yesterday was a bit of a hard day for us, we found it hard to celebrate our day and so we sat together and watched movies to pass the time together.  On a whim we watched Phantom of the Opera. Ryan likes the movie as well so we enjoyed watching it…



(Now I should take a moment to say that I was not supposed to ever tell anyone that… but I figure only saying it one time isn’t too big a deal right? Even if I copy and paste it to a few different sites and forward it to everyone I know? *Insert evil little elf face here please*)



And when it came to the song that had played at our wedding we sat there and listened to the words… and somehow after seven years it means far more than it ever has…



wed9


No more talk of darkness
Forget these wide-eyed fears
I’m here, nothing can harm you
My words will warm you and calm you


wed11

Let me be your freedom
Let daylight dry your tears
I’m here, with you and beside you
To guard you and to guide you


wed13


Say you love me every waking moment
Turn my head with talk of summertime
Say you need me with you now and always
Promise me that all you say is true
That’s all I ask of you


wed14

Let me be your shelter
Let me be your light
You’re safe, no one will find you
Your fears are far behind you


wed6



All I want is freedom
A world with no more night
And you, always beside me
To hold me and to hide me


wed4

Then say you’ll share with me one love, one lifetime
Let me lead you from your solitude
Say you need me with you here, beside you
Anywhere you go, let me go too
That’s all I ask of you


wed3



Say you’ll share with me one love, one lifetime
Say the word and I will follow you
Share each day with me, each night, each morning

Say you love me
You know I do

Love me, that’s all I ask of you
Anywhere you go, let me go too


Love me, that’s all I ask of you 



wed5


 And seven years later here we are…  We have had some hard times and there were days when we didn’t think we’de make it… 


 b179


But in the end we have made it…  And I love him now more deeply than the day we said our vows… 


In the Bible the number 7 represents completion…  And that’s exactly how I feel…


Complete.


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney

26 thoughts on “Seven years…

  1. Beautiful, Courtney.  Thank you for sharing…and may you have a year full of unexpected blessings to surprise you around every corner!  Praying for you stil…annette

  2. Congratulations Courtney, on SEVEN years! We are celebrating two years today.
    I am going to subscribe to this site of yours, and invite you as a friend, so please accept it.
    We are still praying for you and Ryan. *hug*

  3. Oh Courtney…It was such an emotional weekend for me, too. My best friend got married on the 23rd (the one who got engaged the week David broke up with me). I had so many emotions going at once…and now reading about you and this beautiful post of your wedding and on your other site. I love you so much…even though I’ve never net you. You mean so much to me. I have prayed for you every day this week and I want you to know I will keep doing so. Email me with anything I can do in addition.

  4. Okay, now I can remember. 7 for you, 21 for us. And how many for your mom? I get so confused…Happy Anniversary darling. Love you and miss you.

  5. This is breathtaking, Courtney. What a beautiful couple God has made in the two of you. Seven years…for me as well on the 9th. I have no idea what we’ll be up to.~Gia:)

  6. <TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height=”100%” cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=”100%” border=0 UNSELECTABLE=”on”>
    <TBODY>
    <TR height=”100%” UNSELECTABLE=”on” width=”100%”>
    <TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width=”100%” background=”” height=250 UNSELECTABLE=”off”>
    <TR UNSELECTABLE=”on” hb_tag=”1″>
    <TD style=”FONT-SIZE: 1pt” height=1 UNSELECTABLE=”on”>

    Oh, you were so young! 🙂  What beautiful pictures! 7-wow! 

  7. This was so beautiful. Both of you look just as great if not better than you did the day you got married. Thank you so much for sharing all the pictures and wonderful sentiments with us. My husband and I are having our 1st wedding anniversary July 27th this year. I hope we will be just as blessed in love and life as you and Ryan.

  8. That was a beautiful post. Happy Anniversary.I didn’t know about your baby…I’m so sorry girl. Our little babies are playing together in Heaven right now. That’s a neat thought, huh?And your house is soooo cute!!! I’m so glad you posted pics, it’s so quaint, I love it!

  9. beautiful…I just got a chance to read and look at your pictures celebrating your seven years with your hubby!!  I love that song…Jim and I both love that song and I find myself singing it a lot!  Thanks for sharing your pictures, song and story…very beautiful!

Leave a Reply

