2 Year Gastric Bypass Update…

Guten Tag Xangaland!


On December 27th I passed an anniversary that I honestly didn’t even realize was going by…  The two year anniversary of my gastric bypass surgery.  For those of you that don’t know why I had gastric bypass surgery you can read THIS.  It explains in detail the medical reasons for this drastic action.


In the two years since I underwent GBS I have become a person reborn.


I have gone from 285 pounds to 140 pounds a staggering loss of 145 pounds… 


I have now lost more than I currently weigh…


I have gone from a size 22 to a size 4…  9 pant sizes…


I have gone from 6 prescription medications to only a handful of vitamins…


I have gone from being dead by 30 to having a long, healthy, and happy life ahead of me…


It has been a long road… much of it painful…


…But…


I am happy, I am healthy, I feel wonderful, I am content…


~ll~


Here are my before and after pictures from the front… The first was taken just two days before my surgery on Christmas day of 2004 and the other was taken today.


 beforefrnt  100_2817


Here are my before and after side shots…  The first was taken at an early Christmas dinner of the same year…  And the other today (By the way I love my shirt!!!  I got it on uber sale at the BX… total cost after all discounts?  $1.75!!) 


beforeside  100_2816


 Looking back I am shocked to see the drastic difference but honestly the head shots are the ones that really get to me…  This was taken just a few days before Christmas of 2004…


beforefront


 And this one was taken today.   


100_2824


I had to go through so much to get here but looking back I would not change a thing…  Through all of the illnesses and the medications, the infertility and the heartache I have become the woman I am today and fat or thin I’m comfortable in my own skin… and I feel as if I am becoming the woman God wants me to be…. I wouldn’t have it any other way.


Song of the day? A Living Prayer by Alison Krauss… 


Auf Wiedersehen,


Courtney


 

21 thoughts on “2 Year Gastric Bypass Update…

  1. First I love that shirt πŸ™‚  But I was just thinking about your surgery and thought the anniversary had just passed.  Can’t believe i’ve been reading your site for over 2 years now… time flew by.  Thanks for keeping me in your prayers… this year is off to such a rocky start.  But good news, (kind of?) they can’t find anything wrong w/step dads heart and he will be released in just a few short hours… so i better get going to get dressed and meet up w/them.  ~hugs~

  2. Wow I guess I didn’t realize how much you had lost. You look great but then I think you looked great before the surgery. Now you are in great health and that is a blessing. Careful by those cupboards. lol

  3. I Love your site! You are such a postive person!! In the fall of 2005, i startedmy weight loss journey so that i could get healthy enough to get pregnant (which worked btw!). I lost from 270 to 194…size 20 to 11. Well, i gained it all back while pregnant, and i am currently on that journey once more! So far….i’ve went from 290 to 228….size 20 to 14/16. I still have more to go, but i am on my way.
    Thank you for posting all this and being such an inspiration….surgery or not, lossing weight is hard enough.
    Stop by my site anytime! I’m protected for the most part, but i’ll add ya if ya want!
    Do you mind if i sub?

  4. Hi Courtney. You are beautiful! And I don’t just mean aftershot pictures. You, the person you are, is beautiful. You were that same person before GBS and after (though I’m sure you did change somewhat, internally, as much as externally in the past two years). I’m SO glad, that you had the surgery, for the sake of your health! You, dear, as such an inspiring person! I am so blessed to know you!
    Hugs and love!
    Melissa

  5. I didn’t realize it was that time for you either! I guess I’m just so used to the way that you look now that I’ve forgotten a time when you looked like me. You look amazing, of course. Love you and miss you.

  6. You don’t even look like the same person. I love reading your posts…(I know I’ve said that to you before) You are a wonderful writer! I think I started on xanga right before you got the surgery…it’s hard to believe that it’s been 2 years! So many changes in all of our lives!

  7. You look so beautiful, Courtney. So beautiful! God is transforming you in so many ways. What a lovely job He is doing…
    I’ll be sending you an email soon.
    -Gia:)

  8. I always love to look at your pictures…my computer is SO slow but I HAVE to look at your pictures!! They are so pretty. It honestly looks like two different people. Wonder what I would like as a size 4? lol Kelsie was wondering how tall you are? I know I remember that you are pretty tall aren’t you?  I am also curious…..how much are you allowed to eat now….isn’t it just small amounts or something? I am always fascinated to see how people do with weight loss. Your shirt is awesome by the way…..we ALWAYS like bargains like that! lol Love ya!

  9. Wow. It is wonderful how God has helped you lose the weight and regain health! You are beautiful!

    How did your eating habits change after the surgery? Did you struggle with low energy from all the changes? It is wonderful that you have kept it off. You must be disciplined!
    Thank you for sharing it is so encouraging to me and others to keep hoping!

  10. Wow. It is wonderful how God has helped you lose the weight and regain health! You are beautiful!

    How did your eating habits change after the surgery? Did you struggle with low energy from all the changes? It is wonderful that you have kept it off. You must be disciplined!
    Thank you for sharing it is so encouraging to me and others to keep hoping!

  11. Hey! Sorry it has taken me a couple of days to get back to you! LOL! I think that we actually used to be subbed to eachother maybe? I have been on xanga for 2 yrs…i have always seen ya around and stopped by every now and then. πŸ˜‰
    I’m an Army wife…bleehhh. LOL…really though….My hubs, Josh and i have been married 6 yrs (7 in Aug.). Madison (9 months) is our only child. We’re stationed out of Ft. Hood, TX, but MadiGrace and i are back home in MS while Josh is in Iraq. He’ll hopefully be home in Oct.
    Which seems so far away now that i actually typed it. ;(
    Hope your weekend is going great! And hope to get to know ya more too!
    (((HugS)))
    April

  12. Hi there, browing thru military blogrings and happened upon your site.  I see no resemblence between your before and after pictures!  I bet your surgeon’s office have you plastered all over their walls.  And yes loving the shirt from the BX!  Especially the sleeves. 

Leave a Reply

