Do you have the Code?

Guten Tag Xangaland!


Song of the day?  More Than it Seems by Switchfoot… because when I listened to the words again after all these months of living here it seem eerily appropriate to where I am in my life, right down to the little detail about living in a far away land!


I hope that all of you had a lovely Christmas!  Ours was truly wonderful.  I had expected for it to be sad and bitter sweet but, really, we had a wonderful time!  We were able (through the miracle of technology) to sit with both sides of our families and open each other’s gifts, to be a part of the conversation, and chatter back and forth (We all have webcams and ours is hooked up to our TV so it was almost like having them here for Christmas)  It was really splendid. 


In between phone calls Ryan and I made our traditional Christmas breakfast and then I made a full Christmas dinner!  Here I am posing with the full spread right before we ate!  Goodness it was a lot of food!  We still have leftovers!  (Or we did until I emptied the fridge to make room for groceries today!)


100_2776


We got to sit down at our little table for two and enjoy our first Christmas dinner alone…  And though there wasn’t raucous and loud conversation there is something to be said for a quiet dinner for two.


 100_2771


After dinner we decided to take a few more Christmas pictures with each other in front of our very first real Christmas tree…  (We took it down next day so we wanted to make sure we had a few good pictures) 


 100_2777


We really love it here so much more than we expected…  it surprises me sometimes to see how happy we look!


100_2783


And here is where it begins….  We had taken another picture before this one with me standing up all the way and my hair blocked out Ryan’s face… but he wanted a picture of the new shirt he bought me for Christmas so I ran over after I set the timer and crouched down and almost fell right before the flash…  all seriousness left our little photo shoot… as you will see…


100_2780


 Here we decided to do a nice Wesley and Buttercup pose and it didn’t quite work out…  He said something funny and I started to laugh and then that was that… (by the way when did I grow elf ears?)


100_2782


 And then I bit him.. yeah I said BIT!  I got Jaws Unleashed for Xbox and we had been playing it just before this…  You get to BE Jaws and really it’s more fun than it should be!  Well Ryan started humming the Jaws theme right before I took the picture and so I played Jaws and bit him!!!  Look at those pearly whites!


100_2788


Ah and our very favorite Christmas picture… maybe you had to be there for this to be truly funny but I’ll give it a shot…  We have a DVR so that we can still watch our TV shows (all of them are on while we are sleeping so the DVR is kind of crucial if we want to watch our shows AND get some sleep)  All day Christmas Eve we were catching up on shows and the commercial for the new Armani Code cologne for men kept coming on…  It’s so soap opera cheesy that we just giggled at it all day long… then when we were taking pictures Ryan blurts out the line from the commercial… and we posed and got this…


 “Do you have the code?  The Ultimate code of seduction?”  


100_2787


“The Armani Code a fragrence for men.  By Georgio Armani.”


Maybe you did have to be there but it really was funny!!!


And then of course we started giggling about it and couldn’t take another serious picture!


100_2786 


 And just for fun… I made a slide show of our (almost) first six months in Germany!



And that as they say is that!  We hope and pray that you all had a Fröhliche Weihnachten! and that you have a Frohes Neues Jahr!


100_2790


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney


 

11 thoughts on “Do you have the Code?

  1. technology is awesome, isnt it?  sometimes my webcam has been the best money we have ever spent living so far from home.  i am glad your christmas was great.  i hope your new years is the same.kelly

  2. Sounds like you had fun!! I’m glad, I was worried that you would be really homesick being so far away from family. Get anything good for Christmas? I’ve discovered one thing I like about being far away from home is the Christmas Box. It’s almost like a second Christmas when it gets here, even though you can’t open the presents, you get to open the big box and shake everything and try to guess what it is, and the pile of presents under the tree grows exponentially overnight, I LOVE it!!!
    RYC: I LOVE my KitchenAid mixer. Dave got me one from Amazon, with free shipping, a 20% coupon, and some discounts so he only paid like $120 for the thing, and normally it’s $200. But I tell you, now that I have it, I would have GLADLY paid full price for it. It’s awesome, I have made cookies, it kneads homemade bread, whips homemade frosting, and I can make mashed potatoes in it. It’s seriously awesome. I have been cooking so much more just because it makes it so much easier. The motor is powerful enough that it doesn’t strain, even when kneading bread dough. Dave thinks it’s got like a weed-wacker motor in it!! And what really sets it apart from other stand mixers I’ve had (I’ve had like 3 and hated them all) is that the beaters actually go all the way to sides, so you don’t have to scrape the side of the bowl while it’s mixing. Which means, I can set it and leave it while I do something else and not worry about the ingredients being unevenly mixed! Like I said, I’m in love. I told Dave I was going to leave him for my mixer. Then he kissed me and asked if the mixer could do that. I heart my husband. -Michelle

  3. Thanks so much for the comment.  It’s just so hard since it’s not the grandpa we were half expecting to pass away (remember my grandma that died 2 weeks ago? we thought it would be her husband first, not the one on the other side of the family).  So we’re all still in a state of shock, and just waiting for it all to hit home.  ~hugs~
    Glad to see you had a good Christmas!  I was wondering where you were since it’s been awhile since a last update from you.  Hope you have a Happy New Year!!

  4. Love the pictures.  The one with you in your cloak are my favorite.  My husband has two Harleys – do the two of you ride the motorcycle a lot in Germany?  I can’t tell from the picture if it is a Harley or not.  My husband would be able to tell.  : )

  5. courtney….i am so glad that you were able to open up presents with your family even if it was through the computer…how neat!!!  I love that pic of you in the kitchen by the food…you look like such a good cute little wife!!  You look beautiful in these pictures.  You and your husband look so happy together!!! I am glad your ok and happy in Germany!!! If I was rich, I would come visit you!!!

  6. Hey there, this is Jennifer (xoilovepxo) this is my other xanga site that I was going to use just to post my crochet & knitting projects but it seems as though someone may have hacked my main xanga site. I can’t seem to log in and I’ve changed my password three times and it keeps saying my account is frozen and I will be able to log in in 30 minutes, but I’ve even waited overnight and I still can’t get in. It’s really frustrating and of course I didn’t add this other username to my friend list so I can’t even SEE my site! LOL! I hope whatever is going on with my site gets resolved though, I’m not going to try and log in at all today and see if maybe tomorrow I can. I really hope so or else I may have to start a new site from scratch. 😦 Just wanted to drop you a line since I may not be updating for awhile ! Your Christmas pictures look great, you guys look like you had so much fun and are so happy!! 🙂 Hope you have a great New Year as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

