Dinner, Dolls, and Daily Ramblings…

Guten Morgan Xangaland!


I hope and pray that all of you had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend. We had a lovely time. We invited a coworker of Ryan’s and her family (husband, two boys and one girl) over for dinner. I pulled out all of the stops and cooked everything my family usually has and she brought some trimmings (green beans, corn, mashed potatoes, rolls, and an italian dessert.)


I made:


Spinach Torte,


100_2663


Homemade (and I mean chopping bread home made) cornbread stuffing.


(and of course some olives and cranberry sauce)


100_2662


Sweet Potato Pie


100_2664


Turkey breast with roast potatoes and onions ( I choose not to go the 12 pound turkey way since there were only four adults, the oven here is VERY small, and I don’t have a roasting pan, I’ve always used my mother in law’s)


100_2665


Then for dessert I made homemade Eggnog bread and it was yummy!


100_2666


Cream cheese pecan pie (it looks nasty but it’s so good, a nice alternative to the oh too sweet pecan pie)


100_2660


And last but certainly not least, homemade pumpkin pie!


100_2661


Ryan insisted on making me pose before my spread to take a photo…


100_2659


We really did have a very nice time though we missed our family gathering so very much. And I must say, I really must that cooking all of that alone is a lot harder than the huge family potluck we are accustomed to… I cooked for almost 15 hours total over two days.. I enjoyed every minute but it gives me a new healthy dose of respect for my mother who doesn’t particularly enjoy cooking and has done this for years!


clip_image001


In other news, winter is fast approaching here… actually we are experiencing a heat wave… our highs have been in the 50’s all week! LOL But the time of last years first snow has come and gone so we are hoping for it any time… And the daylight is getting shorter and shorter… right now we have sunrise at about 8:45am and sunset at 4:30pm… that takes some getting used to!


I took this picture from my balcony this morning… Most of the leaves are gone now and this is the tree right outside my living room window. There were big beads of dew shining of every branch in the sun but I couldn’t capture it since my back had to be to the sun to get the picture… pretty non the less…


100_2667


I do have some wonderful news, my best friend Emily is coming to visit!!! She will be here on the 24th of January for two weeks! I’m so excited, she’ll be the first to visit me here and I simply can not wait to see her again!!!


Soon after we will be going home to Phoenix! My little sister is getting married! I have tried to keep my mouth shut long enough for her to get the news out but I just have to say something.


becky and tyler


They will be getting hitched in April but I’ll let her put out the details. So we will be flying into Phoenix on the 7th of April and returning to Germany on the 1st of March!


**Disclaimer**


Gia if you’re reading this stop now unless you want to see Lucy’s Christmas gift and spoil the surprise! I leave it up to you!! šŸ™‚


***


Okay last but not least I have to show you some pictures of a Christmas gift I made for a special little lady who will shortly be celebrating her very first Christmas.


Meet Mutig


100_2654


His name means Lionhearted in German. He is holding a little pink star with an L on it because his little girls name is Lucy and her name means bringer of light.


100_2655


How cute is that little tail!?!


Well that does it for me today! I’m off to finish up my Christmas cards and to visit with all of you.


Auf Wiedersehen


Courtney


Song of the day?  Love is a Movement by Switchfoot just because I haven’t heard it in a while…


16 thoughts on “Dinner, Dolls, and Daily Ramblings…

  1. Wow! Look at you with your gorgeous and yummy Thanksgiving dinner! Hey, is that a cranberry square baker from Pampered Chef? I just got one a few weeks ago because I couldn’t stand it anymore not having one for brownies. :O) That cream cheese pecan pie is super yummy…I made one two years ago and was really please with how it turned out. *Love* the lion! We were in World Market Friday and they had something similar that they wanted $14 for. They weren’t very soft, either. Congratulations to your sister. How great that you’ll get to return to the States for a bit. Oh, and yeah…gotta love that “heat wave” you’re having out there. It’s in the 80’s here still!

  2. now that is a thanksgiving feast!  holy cow.  i think i am going to try and make a homemade pumpkin pie.  its my absolute favorite.what will you do with your doggies while you are back here in the states?congrats to your lil sis!  have a good day.kelly

  3. Geeze just make me hungry now.  Your pumpkin pie looks SOOOOO good.  I love the lion too.  And welcome to winter šŸ™‚ It sounds like my days… we’re waiting on the snow.  Had a few snowfalls but nothing stuck around long.  And its been oddly warmer… we’re actually getting rain now which is just odd for Wisconsin in winter.  And just to warn you… with less day light people tend to get a tad depressed… so use as much daylight as you can… taking the boys on walks or something.  ~hugs~

  4. Wow!  The cream cheese pecan pie looks interesting!  Last year in England we tried to make pecan pie…but the sugar was different so it turned out being pecan soup.  I love the Lion!

  5. WOW!!! That’s a lot of cooking. I’m impressed. Glad you had a fun Thanksgiving and yay for friends coming to visit and you getting to go home soon! That lion is adorable.  You are pretty much amazing.

  6. I ‘ll admit, and I’m sure you will find this amusing…for just a second after everyone showed up and all the food was laid out on the bar and we were getting ready to eat, I had a moment. A deja you know what moment where the house was still yours and you were standing just around the corner out of site and I was just there helping out. It was rathewr disconcerting if you want the truth of it.
    You were both missed so much, and as fun as it was…yes, lies, great food and better company notwithstanding…your presences were both felt.Wish you could have been here.Listen for a group call on Christmas, even if we wake ya’ll up!
    Mucho love you so much…Me

  7. I ‘ll admit, and I’m sure you will find this amusing…for just a second after everyone showed up and all the food was laid out on the bar and we were getting ready to eat, I had a moment. A deja you know what moment where the house was still yours and you were standing just around the corner out of site and I was just there helping out. It was rathewr disconcerting if you want the truth of it.
    You were both missed so much, and as fun as it was…yes, lies, great food and better company notwithstanding…your presences were both felt.Wish you could have been here.Listen for a group call on Christmas, even if we wake ya’ll up!
    Mucho love you so much…Me

Leave a Reply

