My Everything…

Today is my 26th birthday… and I am reminded of all the stages my life has been through, all the changes.   This morning I heard this song for the first time in quite awhile and it seemed to speak so perfectly of my life and of the one thing that has remained a constant in it…  My Superhero, my Best Friend, My Shepherd, my Everything.  Today I am reminded of how He has always remained by my side, the same.


“He is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” Hebrews 13:8


***


 cm2withdad





Pencil marks on a wall, I wasn’t always this tall
You scattered some monsters from beneath my bed
You watched my team win
You watched my team lose
Watched when my bicycle went down again
And when I was weak, unable to speak
Still I could call You by name
And I said, Elbow Healer, Superhero
Come if You can
You said, I Am


Daddysgirl 





***


A little girl so curious, constantly in and out of trouble… never staying in one place… and yet He was there… He is…


My superhero.





***



cm15

Only sixteen, life is so mean
What kind of curfew is at 10pm?
You saw my mistakes
And watched my heart break
Heard when I swore I’d never love again
And when I was weak, unable to speak
Still I could call You by name
And I said Heartache Healer, Secret Keeper
Be my best friend
And you said, I Am


 emily5





***


A girl with a broken heart… so angry at the world around her.  Wishing she could just fade away and yet He was there beside me… He is…


My best friend.





***



weddingdress



You saw me wear white by pale candlelight
I said forever to what lies ahead
Two kids and a dream, with kids that can scream
Too much it might seem when it is 2am
And when I am weak, unable to speak
Still I will call You by name
Shepherd, Savior, Pasture Maker
Hold onto my hand
You say, I Am


Theperfectkiss 



***


A young woman balancing on the edge of the rest of her life.  Not knowing of the trials that lie ahead, and through them all He has remained, making my lie down in green pastures and leading me beside still waters… He is…


My Shepherd





***



firstdaysunset

The winds of change and circumstance blow in and all around us
So we find a foothold that’s familiar
And bless the moments that we feel You nearer


 100_2372




***


And here I am, trying to find peace in this life and in the moments when I settle long enough to feel Him close beside me…  and I find that He always has been.




***




courtneybyfirelight



When life had begun, I was woven and spun
You let the angels dance around the throne
And who can say when, but they’ll dance again
When I am free and finally headed home
I will be weak, unable to speak
Still I will call You by name
Creator, Maker, Life Sustainer
Comforter, Healer, my Redeemer
Lord and King, Beginning and the End

I Am
Yes, I Am


Looking out


***


And I find that no matter how much I change, no matter how my moods whip and lash at the world around me, no matter how much I stumble or how frequently I fall, that today in the quite of reflection, He is there and always has been… and He is…


My everything.


***


Song of the day?  I Am by Nichole Nordeman


***


Courtney

16 thoughts on “My Everything…

  1. I saw you on my footprints so I thought I’d check your site out…and then I saw you have the same birthday as I do! (And Pablo Picasso, and Julie Andrews and Minnie Pearl…) Anyways, Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

