Peace that passes ALL understanding.

Guten Morgen Xangaland!


Today is our two month anniversary of moving to Germany.  Can you believe it’s been that long already?  Me either!  I started thinking back over the months that led us to where we are now and thinking of all the things we’ve been through.


For many months now our lives have been in absolute upheaval. With the move to another country and all that it entails, leaving our family behind, renting out our home after we had just finished it, leaving a prayer group that was fulfilling our needs for the first time in many years… so much surrender.



I won’t pretend that we didn’t question… that we didn’t desperately seek answers to why this was the thing we must do… I won’t pretend that there haven’t been many nights that we’ve lain awake talking into the wee small hours about how afraid we are about not knowing.



Throughout all of the struggle and the questioning one answer has been repeated over and over into our ears. Have peace.



Simple? Yes. Easy to swallow? Absolutely not! For those of you that know Ryan and I you know we’re not… um… exactly the most peaceful two people on this planet! In fact we’re quite the opposite… so I decided to dig a little further into what it means to have peace… and as simple as it sounds it’s not that simple at all. I thought I would share with you, what I learned…



~~~~~



PEACE:



“6) Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your request be made known to God; 7) and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7



When I began to break down and study this verse some of the things I found were quite simply amazing.



The footnotes in my Bible pertaining to this verse are as follows:



4:6 Paul exhorts the Philippians to pray about their circumstances instead of worrying over them. BE ANXIOUS FOR NOTHING: He prohibits the Philippians from worrying about their own problems. Instead they are to commit their problems to God in prayer, trusting that He will provide deliverance.”



I love the last part… He prohibits them from worry and entreats them to instead be in prayer and trust God… Trust Him that there WILL be deliverance! What an encouraging and uplifting thought!



4:7 WILL GUARD: Paul’s choice of a military term implies that the mind is in a battle zone and needs to be “protected by a military guard.” Since the purpose of such a guard in a wartime situation is either to prevent a hostile invasion or to keep the inhabitants of a besieged city from escaping, the PEACE OF GOD operates in the same way; to protect the mind from external corrupting influences and to keep it focused on God’s truth.”



I found this to be an amazing analogy for me. How true, for me at least, that the mind is a battle ground. What this basically says to me is that if I will set my worries on God he will deliver me from them and in the meantime He will set his peace around me to protect my mind from the influences of my enemies.



The verse refers to this peace as, “…the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding…” For most of my life I assumed that this meant that because we are saved and covered in the blood Christians enjoyed a peace that the world could not understand… it does mean that but it means so much more… The Bible says “ALL” understanding… it took me a while to understand that it meant me to. That there would be times when I prayed for peace and in those times God would give it to me according to His promises, but that did not necessarily mean that my trials were over or that my problems were solved… it simply meant that God would give me peace beyond even my own understanding… That I could continue to function in His will for my life with the full and complete knowledge that everything was under control… For my God had taken my burdens.



Sometimes it’s the little things that can rock your world.


Auf Wiedersehen!


100_1331


This is me doing what Ryan likes to call my ‘Cardassian face’!  I am a Trekie after all.  (Thought you might need a laugh by now.)



Courtney

14 thoughts on “Peace that passes ALL understanding.

  1. hi Court!
    I don’t know the story of you guys moving to Germany (though I’d love to know it. but it sounds like Abraham “going out and not knowing the land where he was going….” God must have something really big in store for you both!!!! How exciting!
    Hugs!
    Melissa

  2. Thanks for posting this!
    And thank you for your kind encouraging words to me.  I know you understand, unfortunately.  Thanks for praying, I really appreciate it.
    And that face is just too funny!!

  3. Lovely picture, Courtney. 😉 This is a wonderful post and so helpful in so many ways. It reminds me of the Casting Crowns’ song that I believe puts to words mine and Roger’s life: Praise You In The Storm. That song paints the perfect picture…
    I miss out talks as well. I need to be able to get on the computer more often, but I just don’t have the drive or patience. 🙂 Oh! My family did pick out a clock. Can you email me your mother’s address so they can send the money? THAT’S why I need to get on the computer more often. To tell you that! hehe…oops.
    -Gia:)

  4. I cannot convey how much I need to read this post over and over again in my life right now…I am in DESPERATE need of both peace and trust in God right now (well…aren’t we always?), but I really am feeling it right now very keenly.  Thank you so much for writing this! 

  5. I am with Melissa, not sure the reason for the move to Germany but maybe I can find out from some of your previous posts.  I am so encouraged by your post because I know what it is like to worry and be anxious, but yet receive the peace from God that like you said, does not solve our problems but helps sustain us through the storm!!!  You seem to have such a positive attitude despite some of the big changes (your move) you have endured and that is encouraging to me.  Thanks for the post!!
    Have a wonderful weekend!!

  6. that is awesome about peace..i didn’t know all of that!!
    lol, i know you comment most now on my site. u know i’ve gone thru the whole threat of shutting down thing. lol i just can never get myself to. hehe. the pic is great! lol

  7. YIKES!! lol….I have to say….that is probably not one of your BETTER pictures….but that’s just my opinion! lol (you’re so funny) This is a beautiful post. I don’t know HOW it would be to move to a different country so far away from everyone. BUT…..you might as well enjoy the adventure while you can…before you have to uproot your kids! Love ya!

  8. That is a great post. With all that’s going on in my life too I really needed that. It’s amazing how God speaks to your heart and then uses you to speak His words to other’s hearts. Thanks for that post! I’m glad you and Ryan are becoming more peaceful people, ha ha! Thank you for the prayers and hugs and know you two are in my prayers as well! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

