Update from the Eifel

Guten Tag Xangaland!


I know it has been awhile since I have done an update.  It has been quite a busy week here in the Eifel.  So I decided to do a random picture update.


First and foremost, we got our car!  Though we have been very lucky to have a loaner while we have been here it is so very nice to have my own car here at last! 


100_2079


It came in clean as a whistle with not so much as a ding and we are very pleased.  The only thing that as annoying is that we had to drill holes in the bumper to put on a front licence plate.  However, it’s a small price to pay to have our own car here.  It’s funny how much I missed it, can you tell? 


We can’t wait to take our first road trip in it.  We may do that this weekend as it is a four day weekend.  We are considering going to Koln.  We shall see though.  We ended up not going to the Manderscheid jousting fest this past weekend.  Quite honestly we ran out of money.  Everything here is extremely expensive and on top of that the Air Force changed a few policies which caused us to make a $1000 dollar payment out of pocket with our last paycheck that may or may not be reimbursed.  So we decided to wait until next year and see it in style!


Ryan is doing really well in his new job.  He is enjoying the work and is really getting into the swing of things.  Things are about to get very busy for him though, as we are approaching the end of fiscal year.  I have been told by some of the other wives to expect him to not be home sooner than 10pm every night as we near the end of September!  He says that he is enjoying working in the office although it is very different from working in a shop.  He does miss the mechanical work from time to time but is excited about the opportunities that are opening up for him in this career field.  He should actually begin classes to finish off a double associates degree and then start on his bachelors degree in the spring. 


carandwalk


The boys are doing well here.  They are starting to get the hang of this walking five times a day thing.  It’s been a bit of a battle since they have been raised with free access to a yard but we’re all getting the hang of it.  (Ask me how well it’s going when we are battling snow and sleet to walk them… these are Arizona dogs who will, quite frankly, refuse to poop in the rain.  We are going to have trouble I’m sure!)  But all in all I think they are adjusting well and are happy. 


theboys 


Yoda is doing really well though I think that I may be forced to make a few sweaters and booties for him when the snow and sleet start coming in.  He leans up against the building to get out of the rain!  He is enjoying having material furniture again, since for the last few years all that we have had is leather!  He is as much daddy’s boy as ever of course.  I’m in the process of trying to find a groomer for him though.  You would think that it would be relatively simple to find someone who did a basic schnauzer cut in Germany but alas no such luck yet!  This has become a common site around here.


 yodaback


 Just look at this face!  Hmmm he is getting a bit scruffy.  Luckily we had him cut very short before we left Phoenix because of the heat so I have some time but  maybe I should trim the hair around his face in the meantime.  I’m sure that he would probably like to see! 


yodafront  


Gandalf is doing much better now!  We had some trouble at first with him getting up on the furniture when we left the house but the problem is now solved!  We should have known what the problem was in the first place.  We should have remembered that his favorite thing in the whole house was our family room rug!  As soon as we got a rug for the floor here he settled right down and is now happy as a clam!  Here is a picture of him and Ryan right after a rousing game of tug of war.  He decided he was done and flopped down and Ryan joined him.  They were so cute!!!


 restingafterplay


 I’m trying to think of what else I can tell you all… Oh I know!  The building across the way from us has been condemned. You will never believe how they have decided to tear it down either!  They are going to use it for training for our fire department, that’s right they are going to burn it down.  We got a notice on our door the other day to expect heavy smoke and ash.  But no worry the fire department would be on hand.  I won’t lie I’m a bit nervous.  The building is very close by just see for yourselves….


condemned


 But you better believe that I will get pictures and maybe video if there is anything worth seeing!  We have a good view of the building from our porch!


Speaking of the porch, my mom and dad have requested pictures of my flower boxes.  They have grown quite a bit since I put them in a month ago.  I must admit that it’s weird for me to have anything grow in a flower box since back home you can’t keep them alive even if you water them every day since the water evaporates so quickly.  But these are flourishing!


flowerboxes


 This picture is for my mom.  Mom, see that variegated plant in the middle?  That’s swedish ivy!  It is everywhere around here.  It is extremely quick growing with little white flowers and a wonderful spicy smell.


flowerbox2


 Here is a front view of the rest of my boxes, and of the yard in front of our apartment building. 


flowerbox


Behind that weeping willow tree is our trash building and then beyond that is a field with horses in it!  Gandalf is enjoying watching them and just a few days ago had his first close encounter.  One of the horses came close to the fence and he barked at it, the horse came closer, curious about this weird barking horse!  Gandalf, my protector, freaked out and hid behind me.  So much for my brave boy!  But of course that didn’t stop him from barking like mad at a bull that came runing at the one wire that was the only fence between him and us… that was a scary few moment!


 In other news I’ve been crocheting like crazy.  Here is our very first blanket!  LOL It’s the truth… in the four years I’ve been doing this and out of the 50 odd blankets I’ve made this is the only the second thing that will call my home it’s home. 


blanket


 I’m doing really well here too.  Just spending most of my time updating all of you, crocheting, walking, exploring, and learning how to cook some of this fabulous food.  I can’t wait for our things to get here so I can begin getting my house in order and making it really home.  I will be making an appointment soon to talk to my doctor about starting up my infertility treatments again soon.  I’ll let you know how that goes as soon as I have some news.


Well I think that’s about it, a nice random post to update you on the day to day happenings of our life in the land of fairy tales!  Hopefully we’ll be able to go out and about this weekend and have some interesting pictures and stories for you.  For now I’ll leave you with a picture of my little family.


ryanandtheboys


Auf Wiedersehen!


Courtney

13 thoughts on “Update from the Eifel

  1. haha, thanks for your comments!  I think i’ll heal by seeing him being a jerk, it will make me realize i shouldnt waste my time on him.  I’m actually 1/2 way there now.  πŸ™‚
    Love the pictures!!  I wonder whats wrong with that building.  The condemned buildings i’m used to seeing are well falling apart and that still looks pretty nice.  And your boys are still so adorable!  ~hugs~ 

  2. I bet it’s nice to have your car back. Using loaner stuff is fun for a while but eventually you just want your own stuff! Here’s a question, if Ryan gets his BA (or BS, I’m not sure what it’d be in so I don’t know which it’d be) is he going to try and get a commission? I think we’ve had this convo before and you said that he really wasn’t interested in going that route, but I couldn’t remember if that was you or someone else. How exciting that you are going to start your infertility treatments again!!! Hopefully we’ll see a little pregnancy ticker on top of your site before to long!!
    I have to say, I think you hit it right on the head when you said “Just because you were to immature to do anything worthwhile”. I mean, I lived the life she was saying was so great for about 2 years and I realized in that time that I didn’t want to waste 10 years of my life being selfish. I got no fulfillment from that life. And I’m not saying that being a stay at home mom is the most fulfilling thing I’ve ever done in my life, honestly, I’m bored for quite a bit of my time, but I would be in the same boat in an entry level job. At least staying home with Nora, I feel like I’m doing something important, rather than just going to 4 different pointless meetings a day. I think it comes down to being selfish. If you have a selfish view of life then you’re not going to be happy unless you’re doing something for you. I like to think that I put my family before myself. -Michelle

  3. Love the pics. Thanks for sharing. Sounds like you’re settling in very well. I’m happy for you. Love the blanket. I’m working on one for my youngest right now.

  4. thank you for the prayers if you have yahoo messsenger I will more than tell you the story, but since I dont have “premium” anymore and I cant afford it right this second, I will go without for a while. boo. 😦

    but IM me on yahoo armywife_19 or something.
    or email me armywife_19@yahoo.com NOW. New email. πŸ™‚
    LOVE YOU.

  5. wow, you guys have a very nice car! πŸ™‚ your flowers are so pretty and i LOVE your crochet blanket! that is so beautiful!!! i have not attempted a blanket yet because i need to order some yarn for such a large project. i just finished making a drawstring bag and its so cute! i love crocheting. πŸ™‚ glad to hear youre enjoying the weather!! stay warm & dry! πŸ™‚ my mom said in maryland its about 100 degrees and hasnt rained in a long time and all the grass is burnt and dried up looking. 😦 we need to send them some of our german rain, haha! πŸ™‚ well have a great day!!! πŸ™‚

  6. What a beautiful blanket! I hope Gandalf doesn’t think it’s his… Where did you get the pattern, or did you make it up? That sounds like a project for this winter, hmmm…

Leave a Reply

