Good Evening Xangaland!


I know it’s been longer than I said it would be but I am in the progress of saving everything because my and Ryan’s computers have to be reformatted in the next week… I am doing my very best to keep up and catch up.  I have so much to tell you all but let me just say that Ryan is doing well and has so far passed three of the four tests required during this schooling with a 95%, a 90%, and a 92.5%.  He is really enjoying it and I’m very proud of how well he is doing… A few more days and I should be able to catch up with everyone… In the meantime I went to the dentist today and just had a huge need to share with you all.


~~~~~


I hate the dentist.


openwide   


So today I went to the dentist for a cleaning. It has been six years since I last went to a dentist. Why you may ask? Well let me share.



I walk in and the hygienist says, “Hi, it’s so nice to see you again!” and although I have been here two times in the last month getting my checkups and medical release for overseas travel I am sure I have not met this particular woman… But my memory is not so great so I let it slide.



She sets me down in the chair and asks me three times in a row if anything in my medical history has changed since the last time I was in. I answered politely each time and was a bit perplexed as to the memory lapse but hey as I said my memory is not so great so I let it slide.



I should have been afraid.



She leans me back and opens my mouth. She grabs the little hook stabber which I hate but every dentist uses so it is not particularly scary…… Until she begins stabbing my gums!!!! Three full out puncturing stabs per tooth front and back. I am MORTIFIED and freaked. I know this is crass but I would rather have a pap smear than have this woman in my mouth. At least I could kick the doctor in the head if that goes bad. I submit that a woman stabbing you in the mouth while you quite literally grin and bear it is the worst and most violating feeling imaginable.



She finally stops comments on how she has drawn blood and rinses out my mouth leaving a nice little puddle of bloody water in the back of my throat that I am forced to swallow since she comes at me immediately with the polishing tool and attacks! It wasn’t so bad so I figure the worst is over.



Once more I was wrong.



So after that horrible violation she pulls out the floss…. Excuse me….. THE ROPE… and proceeds to jam this unusually thick bit of torture paraphernalia down between each and every one of my teeth so quickly and violently that every single one of the spaces between my teeth are bleeding.



We haven’t even begun to discuss how she had to get this stuff out! She jammed it down between two molars first and then “gently” pulled on it a few times and when that didn’t work she set her jaw braced her foot and yanked! So hard that my head actually lifted up off the chair! Holy Cow!!!



Then she comments on how my gums are bleeding “a little” and grabs the water squirter and sucker thingy. She gives three quick little mists and then says, “Oops we’re out of water, oh well.” I should have saved that mouthful of bloody water from before so I could rinse a little…. (Insert sarcastic face here please) She then just runs that hard little plastic sucker, not so gently, along the gums in the front and back of each tooth, pats my shoulder and says she has to write up the report so just hold tight a minute.



In the amazingly uncomfortable silence that comes next, during which I sit there in shock at just how violent that was and how this is the stuff nightmares are made of, I become aware of a cheerful little instruction poster on how to floss.


flossing 





  1. Take 18 inches of floss and wrap it around your two middle fingers.


  2. Gently insert the floss into the space between two teeth.


  3. Work the floss back and forth.


  4. Gently remove the floss and repeat until all teeth are flossed.


Um and you wonder why it’s been six years.


Song of the day?  Or week at this point? Hurt by Thousand Foot Krutch.  Song title seemed appropriate plus I love the song.


Courtney

11 thoughts on “

  1. HEY YOU!!  Great to see your post!! Sorry the dentist was such an awful experience today. YIKES!!! She really needs to go back to school or something!  Glad to hear that Ryan is doing great. I sure have missed you. Susan has not posted as much lately either. Have a great weekend. Love ya!

  2. I’m glad to hear that the relocation process is going smoothly. OUCH!! Ok..you’ve just set me back a few more years from going to the dentist! Man…that woman needs a serious career change! I hope you’re ok! Have a great weekend and good luck with everything.

  3. wow.  thats a terrible story.  i bet your little mouth is so sore.  ugh.
    i am glad to hear you and ryan are ok. 
    kelly

  4. Good to see you again!  But sorry to hear of your dentist experience.  Hard to find a good one, not to mention great one.  We had a great one who stopped taking our current insurance, so, when I needed major work done, I went to three whp did… estimates with insurance ran 11-17K, my share!
    So, at my husband’s urging, I finally went back to our original dentist who, without insurance, can get it done for under 5k… now how’s that?  Anyway, first major part, including extractions is done… what a guy!  Gives me a hug every time I leave…. (thank you, God, for making that happen!)
    God bless you, Courtney!  Prayers are with you as you get ready for this huge, momentous, move!

  5. I had person like that once too, she says to me do you normaly get navcane? I said no. I should of said only when my teeth are getting stabbed. I did not go back to this place. The one I have now is really good. I do not like going anyway, but I am not going to go to a person who me more then is needed.

  6. Hope everything is going better for you. I really need to catch up with everyone but I always seem to run out of time. Hugs.

  7. That sounded absolutely horrifying. Going to the dentist in itself can be a traumatic experience let alone to have your mouth violated by someone who obviously needs more training. Sounds like I could have done the job just as well as she, but I would have been a little more gentler. T

  8. Lord, I hate the denist too, I got something in the mail yesterday reminding me of my checkup..My gums bleed too when they go pokeing and prioring..I am going to have to re-shedule my appt though..They bug me about getting my wisdom teeth but he said they are a 3 with 10 being the worse so  I have some time b/c they are not affecting me in any way! LOL.. Congrats on the honey doing so well w/ test and stff..

Leave a Reply

