Patience

*EDIT*


 


Just realized I forgot the best part of this.  This is a true story though I’m ashamed to admit it and it was not thought out before hand.  I’m a terrible public speaker and the pastor was asking for volunteers.  After three people had gone and done an amazing job I realized I needed to get it over with now!  So I jumped up and said,


 


“I’m going next, I can’t stand to sit here any more and listen to all these good talks.  I just need to get it over with!” 


 


He turns to me and says,


 


“Okay, which one are you doing Courtney?”


 


I look at him and say,


 


“Patience.”


 


The whole room erupts in laughter.  It took me a minute.


 


Talk about an ice breaker.


 


*END EDIT*


 


Good Morning Xangaland!


 


Yesterday was a fun day at church…  Nine of us were asked to present a short talk on one of the nine fruits of the Spirit.  It was supposed to be between three and four minutes long and encompass the definition of the word, the Greek and Hebrew roots of the word and the Strong’s.  It was a lot of fun!  So I thought I would share my part in it with you.


 


~~~~~~~


 


Patience


 


I choose patience simply it is the thing I’m worst at and the thing I’m called to be the most.


 


Definition:


1. Bearing or enduring pain difficulty provocation or annoyance with calmness.


2. Tolerant understanding


3. Persevering constant


4. Capable of calmly awaiting an outcome or result not hasty or impulsive


 


Strong’s Concordance:


7663 saw-bar’ to scrutinize; by implication of watching, to expect with hope and patience: hope, tarry, view, and wait.


 


Greek Lexicon:


5278 hoop-om-en’-o to remain; figuratively, to undergo, bear trials, have fortitude, persevere:–abide, endure, take patiently, suffer, tarry.


 


Patience for me is having certainty in the fact that God will keep His promises.  The fact that my security is not based on anything I might posses or accomplish. 


 


I believe patience is the embodiment of trusting God.  Trusting Him to know and do what is best for me, to keep the promises He has made to me.  To let things in my life go that I would rather have in hand and in sight at all times and let Him do with them what He will. 


 


Some of the Bible verses that have carried me through the dark hours are:


 


Habakkuk 2:3  “For the vision is yet for an appointed time; But the end of it will speak, and it will not lie.  Though it tarries, wait for it; because it will surely come; it will not tarry.”


 


Ruth 3:18 “Then she said, ‘Sit still my daughter until you know how the matter will turn out; for the man will not rest until he has concluded the matter this day.”


 


Lamentations 3:25-26 “The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him.  It is good that one should hope and wait quietly.”


 


Deuteronomy 28:7 “The Lord will cause your enemies who rise against you to be defeated before your face; they shall come out against you one way and flee before you seven ways.”


 


Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to me and I will listen to you.  And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me will all your heart.  I will be found by you says the Lord.”


 


These are verses along with many others that I have clung to when I feel like I can’t wait one more moment… I’m not a very patient person at all and most of you know this… but in my life there are many things that force me to sit still, to wait, to trust…. 


 


Just like the position that Ryan and I are in right now… We sit here with no knowledge or control over what our future will be, whether or not we will be here in six months…  We could choose to worry and fret and push against the place we are… but it would change nothing… we have to choose every day sometimes more than once to sit still and wait.  To trust God that what He’s doing is what is best for us, to have patience.


 


Or the fact that we have been barren for the last five years… it is a daily struggle to be at peace, to have joy, contentment, patience, when the one thing you long for is denied you.  But Ryan and I believe that God has a plan for our lives and that everything has a reason, even this… and we struggle to trust and to believe that God knows best….


 


~~~~~~~


 


Song of the day?  Yet Will I Praise Thee.  A song from my childhood that is the embodiment of trusting God through the storm… of living the belief that He will be there no matter the circumstances.


 


Yet Will I Praise Thee


 


Verse 1:


Though the fig tree fail to blossom


And no fruit be on the vine


And the fields yield no food


I will praise thee Lord divine


 


Verse 2:


Yet will I praise thee


Even in the night


Even in the midst of the storm


Yet will I praise thee


Even in the night


Even in the midst of the storm


 


Chorus:


I will rejoice in You my Lord


I’ll joy in the God of my salvation


I will rejoice in You my Lord


My God my strength and my song


 


 


Courtney

14 thoughts on “Patience

  1. I love jeremiah 29:11, that verse really helped me through our miscarriage.  Another verse that always helps me is   “You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on You,Because he trusts in You.” Isaiah 26:3 and Romans 8:28 “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” 
    Hope you have a good day.
    April :0)      

  2. Hey Courtney
    Thank you so much for stopping by my site, and giving me those links. I went to them right away. The have a wealth of information and insight. Thank you so very much. I am going to show these to my son too, because I believe this is what God wants me to teach my son. The Full armor of God, to equip him to live his christian life. Again thank you very much. I also really liked your post…..

  3. Once again, your post has spoken to me. God has been trying to get this lesson through my head…well, atleast since forever! I suffer from impatience, and even right now I’m so impatient about something….but God keeps whispering in my ear, “just hold on a little longer.”
    *sigh* Courtney, you really are such a blessing in my life. Thank you!

  4. That is too funny. I had to read it twice to get it though, where is my brain these days. I also wanted to say thanks to you for keeping my job search situation in your prayers, if I get the job I’ll be wanting to send you money to make abby a blanket really soon.

  5. I was going to read this whole thing, but gosh, I’m in such a hurry!  (Just kidding honey!). . .thae funniest thing was your edit!  Too funny!  I suppose patience IS your short suit!  I have many, but I am patient (well, mostly!) K.K.

Leave a Reply

