One Year Ago Today…..

One year ago today my Grandfather died.


 


It seems like only yesterday he was here and yet it seems as if years have passed since I last heard his voice.  One year ago today I stood in a room and looked down at his face for the last time, and I said goodbye.  One year ago today my world tilted.


 


He was a rock. Someone I could turn to in any situation, someone who could steady me no matter what in my life was off balance.  His prayers covered my life, and the lives of everyone else in his family.


 


He died knowing that five generations of his family were saved.  He died knowing that his prayers had worked in the lives of us all.   He left an amazing legacy on this earth.


 


Today I know he sits at the feet of his creator, all his endless questions answered, all his dreams fulfilled.  He has seen my grandmother once more, he has danced in the arms of his Jesus and he is complete.


 


What more could a man ask?  What more could a man want?


 


I know that today is supposed to be about what I am thankful for and in a way it is.  I am thankful that my Grandfather, one of the most amazing men I have ever known, is home today, celebrating in heaven.  I am thankful he isn’t sick, or in pain, or unsettled.


 


I am thankful that for 24 years of my life I was blessed to know him.


 


Today as I gather with my family to partake of a meal and remember all the things in life I am thankful for, there will be a part of me thinking of him and of his life, and knowing that he would have enjoyed the food and fellowship of this day.


 


Today the song is I’ll be seeing you by Bing Crosby.  I’m dedicating it to my Grandfather, because today of all days I will be seeing him in everything……


 



 


 

I’ll be seeing you
In all the old familiar places
That this heart of mine embraces
All day through
 
In that small cafe
The park across the way
The children’s carousel
The chestnut tree
The wishing well
 
I’ll be seeing you
In every lovely summer’s day
In everything that’s light and gay
I’ll always think of you that way
 
I’ll find you in the morning sun
And when the night is new
I’ll be looking at the moon
But I’ll be seeing you
 

May this, your Thanksgiving Day, be filled with blessings and new memories.  May you know joy on this day of togetherness and may you never forget to love those close to you with all your heart.


 


16 “Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 in everything give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”  1 Thessalonians 5: 16-18


 


Courtney


 

7 thoughts on “One Year Ago Today…..

  1. I’m sorry for your loss sweetheart. . .I know how emotional it can be at this time of year and especially when the hurt is fresh…I do hope you can enjoy your holiday though. . .love th family your with today, and remember the love shared in times past. . .it’s good for the soul to reminenesse (gad, bad, bad, spelling!)  He sounds like he was a rock for the entire family and I’m sure he is missed today and everyday. . .God Bless~K.K.

  2. Oh hun. I will say a prayer for you today because im sure that youre hurting and celebrating all in the same emotions. I love this song..where on earth do you get them from? I am glad you like the pictures! My apartment will be more cozy once we have furniture. HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!! I love you and I hope that you and Ryan have a fantastic day and celebrate all you can. I will talk to you soon!!

  3. what a beautiful tribute to your Grandfather!  It’s obvious that he was an amazing man of God and I know your life is blessed because of him.  I lost a beloved aunt two years ago.  It’s always so hard to loose one that we love, but knowing that they are with our Savior and that we will see them again helps!  I’m thinking about you today and praying that you have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family.

  4. 3 years ago today my MIL passed. So I know how you are feeling. I was really close to her….. she was a great woman. I will say a prayer for you today.

  5. Thinking of all of you who have had losses in the past on this day. It’s so hard to deal with the loss of a loved one around the holidays but even more so when it is ON the holiday. Hugs to you dolly. Love you!

  6. I remember that, last year. Keep him close to your heart. I still think of my grandma non-fail at least once a day and she has been gone two years. Actually last month I was so depressed and angry I picked up the phone and automatically dialed her old number and then had to hurry and hange up after I realized what I did. She was always there for me.

Leave a Reply

