Mountaintop Experience

Good Morning Xangaland! (Or Evening as the case may be.)


 


I had some request for pictures of my mountain and I have yet to pack a camera up there so here are some pictures from city site.  One of these days I will take a camera and post some pics of me and Ryan climbing.


 



 


I love this mountain.  Hundreds of people climb it everyday and if you go often enough you begin to recognize the faces and the lives of these people.  It is an island in this city a place where you can go to run, to think, to go slow, to enjoy.  A place to experience the life we are generally to busy living to notice.


 


 


 


My heart was pounding so hard that I could hear it ringing in my ears in time with my music.  I was so out of breath.  This was as far as I was going for this day.  I sat on a bench and rested for a few moments.  Enjoying the crisp fall breeze and the mellow morning sunshine.  What a beautiful day, what a beautiful feeling.


 


I stood up after a few moments of rest and started heading down the mountain my muscles burning.  I met a man on his way up and said a causal “Good Morning, how are you doing today?”  He replied with a big smile and “Every day on the mountain is a good day!”


 



 


He’s right you know.  Every morning that I am blessed with the ability to get up and do the things I love is a good day!  I thought about that as I walked back down the mountain, this challenge in the middle of my busy city.  Then it happened, I found my self in the middle of an honest to goodness commercial.


 


Let me take a break from the commercial to tell you this…


 


The song of the day is This is Your Life by Switchfoot because at that moment this song came on.


 


Okay back to the commercial….


 


It started when I was in a small valley of the trail and then right as the chorus built up I crested a small ridge with the city spread at my feet and just then a gust of wind blew back my hair and cooled my tired body and the words struck me like a ton of bricks.


 


Here I am, a 25 year old married woman with my hair pulled back in work out pants and tennis shoes, hiking a mountain with the wind in her hair, looking down at a sprawling city on a crisp fall morning with the following words echoing over the scene.


 


don’t close your eyes
this is your life, are you who you want to be
this is your life, are you who you want to be
this is your life, is it everything you dreamed that it would be
when the world was younger and you had everything to lose


 


 


And I knew then that my life was different.  It has happened so gradually.


 


Three things have changed in my life.


 


Physically~  I have lost all this weight and for the first time ever I am enjoying being outside and doing something strenuous.  Hiking this mountain is almost a spiritual experience for me, I feel brand new every morning.


 


Spiritually~  I have this new prayer group and with it comes a renewed calling a sense of purpose.  I feel as if I am drawing closer to God and to where He wants me in this life.


Mentally~  I am becoming comfortable in my own skin.  I am happy with who I am in all my facets, wife, daughter, friend, so many more.  I am becoming comfortable with the place I am in my life and I am beginning to have hope again for the places I might be in my life in a day, a month, a year.


 


This is my life and for the first time I am who I want to be!  I feel today as if I am at the beginning of something new.


 


Welcome to my very own ‘Mountain top’ experience!


It’s not often you get the experience on a literal mountain top.


 


Courtney


 

12 thoughts on “Mountaintop Experience

  1. Love that song! We were listening to that CD today too. Beautiful mountain! It is amazing how God made mountains look different in various parts of the country. I really enjoy our mountain too… Pikes Peak. It is my goal to be able to climb it someday… all 14,000 feet!

  2. that’s a beautiful sight! our mountains here dont look like that.
    that is sooooooo awesome that you’ve lost all the weight you wanted to..that didn’t even take a whole year! congrats to you and your life =) now you can experience everything like you want and God is blessing you!

  3. Congrats on everything..I am so gald u are feeling good in your own skin..I think not is the worse thing ever!! The mountain is beautiful..And Congrats on the weight loss..I know that is a wonderful feeling in itself..

  4. You know Courtney…this is what it’s all about. Finding your way, and I’m so glad you’re getting there. Isn’t it wonderful to realize that God has kept His promise to you!(((Hugs)))

  5. cool experience on the mountaintop–that’s neat!  and the pics are cool!
    RYC:  Thanks so much for your kind words.  I think I know what you mean and I will take your advice to heart, to be sure.  Don’t worry about a long comment–I love it!!!!
    LOVE the Switchfoot song!

  6. What a beautiful post.  It feels so good to read what you write and it really has nothing much to do with me.I know I have said this before but I will say it again.  Arizona is by far the most beautiful state.  I just love it there.Have a great rest of the day.

  7. What a glorious post honey!  Your inspiration has been passed on to me!  What a wonderful revelation you had!  And just think, you have many more years of them to come!  Thank you for sharing this one!~K.K.

Leave a Reply

