In the last few days I have been studying the war cry. 


 


It has been heavy on my heart, this cry of battle this shout.  The enemy we fight is not of flesh and blood but still the most dangerous enemy we face.


 


Ephesians 6:12-13 “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers of wickedness in the heavenly places.  Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all to stand.”


 


First let me begin by defining the phrase war cry.


 


The war cry is described in the dictionary as:


 


 1. A cry uttered by combatants as they attack; a battle cry.


2. A phrase or slogan used to rally people to a cause.


 


War Cry


N 1: a slogan used to rally support for a cause; “a cry to arms”; [syn: rallying cry, battle cry, cry, watchword] 2: a yell intended to rally a group of soldiers in battle [syn: war whoop, rallying cry, battle cry]


 


You can see by the definitions that there are several different war cries.  There is the cry used to bring together the group of people.  Used to unify the crowd into an army.  Then there is the cry of a warrior as they charge at the enemy.  Used to show the enemy the strength of the army they face and used to show the army the strength of the comrades around them.  And last the cry of a warrior engaged in battle.


 


I also looked the phrase war cry up in the Strong’s concordance that uses Hebrew root words.


 


Strong’s Concordance with Hebrew Lexicon describes War Cry as:


 


1993 “Hamah haw-maw” a primitive root (Compare 1949); to make a loud sound like English “hum”); by implication, to be in great commotion or tumult, to rage, war, moan, clamor: –clamorous, concourse, cry aloud, be disquieted, loud, mourn, be moved, make a noise, rage, roar, sound, be troubled, make in tumult, tumultuous, be in an uproar.


 


Notice that the definition is basically a sound that stirs something up.  That is a true war cry the sound of change.  The sound that tells the enemy we are coming.  I see again the part in my dream where the enemy hears our cry for the first time and they turn in fear.  We have stirred their hearts and their minds and they know now that we are coming for them.  I believe that cry was uttered in the following scripture.


 


1 Samuel 4:5-7


5 “And when the ark of the covenant of the Lord came into the camp, all Israelites raised such a loud shout that the ground shook.  6 The Philistines heard the sound of the war cry and asked, “What’s this loud shout in the Hebrews’ camp?” Then they understood that the ark of the Lord had come into the camp.  7 So the Philistines were afraid, for they said, “God has come into the camp!” And they said, “Woe to us! For such a thing has never happened before.”


 


One particular word in this definition that jumped out at me was to mourn.  A few months back in our Bible study group we studied the beatitudes.  The second is:


 


Matthew 5:4


Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.


 


We talked about all the different things that the word mourn means and in the course of study learned that it also refers to the prayer warrior, the intercessor, blessed is he who intercedes, who prays, who weeps for the lost and broken for he shall be comforted!  So in this the prayers of and intercessor are their war cry!!


 


I then went to the referenced Strong’s number and it was as follows.


 


1949 “Huwm hoom” a primitive root (Compare 2000); to make uproar, or agitate greatly: –destroy, move, make a noise, put, ring again.


 


This speaks more of the action behind the cry.  To do to make to move to agitate.  The call of an army as the move forward to meet the enemy on the battle field.


 


I then went to the third and final Strong’s reference for War Cry.


 


2000 “Hamam haw-mam” a primitive root (Compare 1949, 1993); properly, to put in commotion; by implication, to disturb, drive, destroy: –break, consume, crush, destroy, discomfit, trouble, vex.


 


The cry of the warrior during battle.  The cry uttered as the warrior swings the sword, axe, hammer, club….. The cry that speaks victory in action.  The cry uttered in the next verse by God himself.


 


Isaiah 42:13


13 “ The Lord shall go forth like a mighty man; He shall stir up His zeal like a man of war.  He shall cry out, yes, He will raise a war cry; He shall prevail against His enemies.


 


I love the picture of the battle painted in the following verses.  This is from Job when God is challenging Job.  He speaks of a horse being ridden into battle and it stirs up my spirit.


 


Job 39:19-25


19 “Have you given the horse strength?  20 Can you make him spring like a locust?  His majestic snorting strikes terror.  21 He paws in the valley, and rejoices in his strength; he gallops into the clash of arms.  22 He mocks at fear, and is not frightened; nor does he turn back from the sword.  23 The quiver rattles against him, the glittering spear and javelin.  24 He devours the distance with fierceness and rage; nor does he stand still, because the trumpet  has sounded.  25 At the blast of the trumpet he says, ‘Aha!’ He smells the battle from afar, the thunder of the captains and the war cry!”


 


This study has been something so very close to my heart.  I am ready for the battle, for the captain to utter the command to move out. 


 


Ephesians 5:14


 


14 Therefore He says: 


“Awake, you who sleep, 


 Arise from the dead,


 And Christ will give you light.”


 


Courtney

3 thoughts on “

  1. This has left me trembling and I wish I had the space to write out exactly why. It is so strange, things that have been happening here in my own home, with my husband and I, as if we can feel God preparing us, as if the war we can’t see with our eyes is moving too close…that at times…it overwhelms me. Last week, I sat down to pray and spend time with God. It had been a week since the last time I had done so because my heart had felt so heavy. As I prayed, there came a point when my lips would no longer move. I began to tremble and hot tears fell so fast. My head felt heavy and I leaned back against the pillows on the bed. It was the strangest thing…I’ve never felt that way before. There were shadows that I could see and all these bright colors, but there was such a heaviness on me. My head felt like it was being fought for…and I felt like my body was being pulled in all kinds of directions. My heart was pounding so hard and I remember and unbelievable amount of fear washing over me. All at once, I cried out, “Jesus! Please don’t let me die!” I have no idea why I shouted those particular words. I wouldn’t have died, but I just had a sense that I HAD to cry out for Him. For an hour and half I lay there without even knowing how quickly time was passing. I didn’t know what happened. I opened my eyes and stood up only feel like I had endured something terrible, something very strenous for my mind and body. Not mroe than a half hour later, Roger called and said, “I’ve been really apprehensive, afraid, and I don’t know why.” He said that He felt as if he wa leaving to go somewhere and had left something very important behind. I told him what happened, and he said to turn some worhship music on and he would pray while he was at work. Neither of us talked much about it until yesterday on our drive home from Cragfont. You see, while we were there, I felt the exact same way as I walked through one room of the house. It was’t a good feeling, my legs felt so heavy and I thought that I was going to faint, but something told me that I couldn’t. It was so strange…
    Roger and I have decided that we are coming to a fork in the road. If we can remain strong, then God is going to reveal to us the work He prepared long ago just for us. I don’t know what it will be, but I know it is very important. I can feel it in my bones. Yet, satan too is very aware of what is at stake. We believe very much in Spiritual Warfare. The more we thought prayed, the more we discussed it, the more we’ve come to realize that this war we cannot see is getting too close…so close that at times…we can feel the angels and the darkness fighting for us. It is as if…the fight has grown desperate…as if it has come to the last hour.
    I know this may sound strange, but the words wrote, even the comment you left on my page, has left me trembling. It isn’t fear…but in wonder of how no matter what, God’s will, His hand, is always mightier than he that is in the world.
    One day, I am certain you’ll come to Cragfont and we’ll have tea…and we’ll spend hours talking about all God has taught us. In the meantime, I will be praying hard for you and Ryan. I feel almost as if your marriage is a mirror of mine and Roger’s…that God is doing similar things in you two that He is doing in us. At least He is teaching us much about a war that sooner or later we will have to fight in.
    -Gia:)

  2. Hi there! I stumbled across your site and just read all of your links on the side and I have to say you have an amazing life story. You should really think about publishing it! Congrats on all the weight loss! Are you feeling happier and healthier now? I hope so!

Leave a Reply

