*EDIT*


Weird I totally thought I said this but sure enough nope…  We can’t go to the base hospital, which has always been awesome for us, because they closed it down.  They now refere you to your nearest ER.  Well ours is Thunderbird Banner at just about 3/4 of a mile.  They have the best Maternity program around but other than that,…. the reputation is not the best….   Oh and did I mention that when we told them he was queasy and having trouble staying awake, they told us to go ahead and let him sleep in the waiting room?!!!  Maybe I am wrong but I freaked….


*END EDIT*


Good Morning Xangaland!


Ok so we spent from about 6:45pm until 11:30pm or so in the ER last night. 


Ryan was doing yard work and at the time was trying to remove a poll in the backyard sticking up out of concrete.  He cut it around the bottom and the sucker wasn’t moving.  So he was just wiggling it from side to side to loosen it up……  Yeah on the pull the thing snapped.  A 20 pound solid metal pipe with butterfly edges hit Ryan at the full force he could pull it, on one of the butterfly edges right into his scalp.  Instant blood………. everywhere.  So we loaded him up and took him to the ER.  


What a joke. 


The last time I checked they took the bleeders first.  Especially the one’s who are still bleeding 2 and a 1/2 hours later.  And who is dizzy and vomiting from a head wound.  Especially the ones who get there when there is no one else in the waiting room and sit and wait through two rushes before they pay attention.  We got there at just before 7 and left at 11:30pm. 


It ended up being an inch and a half long and very deep.  Four stitches and some Vicaden later he is resting more or less comfortably.  My Father-in-law and I are going to run the stuff to the dump really quick. 


Thank God this was the worst it was.  It could have been so much worse……………


All I have to say is the base needs to reopen their ER before I have kids doing this kind of thing…


You all take care I’m off to the dump!


Song of the day?  Just Watch the Fireworks by Jimmy Eat World..  Cause that is all poor Ryan is doing.


Courtney

8 thoughts on “

  1. I’m so sorry for Ryan but I’m glad that is wasn’t too serious. Military hospitals are the worse! Roger will never go back into the military simply because of that…and he never went to the doc…it was always me! They nearly killed me once.
    -Gia:)

  2. Oh, and I forgot to add that for over a year…they had me in my charts as being 35 years old. Now, if you ever saw me…you’d know what that is so outrageous! I don’t look older than sixteen and I’m 23!
    -Gia:)
    Ps: But you will meet me on a book signing…so then you’ll be able to laugh at how silly it all was. 🙂

  3. Where did you go if not to the base?  Thunderbird? What a joke! Hope your baby is better. Poor Ryan. Have fun at the dump. Believe it or not, I actually like going there! Yeah, we all know I’m a sick puppy…Love ya, Me

  4. WOW! I hope everything went ok and he is doing better this evening! I was always taught in college to triage and the bleeders go first (or heart patients). That is how I was also taught when deciding on urgent doctors appointments at the doctors office I worked at. Then one day in the ER for Sterling (thought he broke his wrist), there was a guy in there who had been in a fight and he was bleeding all over the place but he was waiting just like everyone else. It was nasty and unhealthy to the rest of us. Hugs to you and Ryan.

  5. gosh! how’d i miss this post???  i’m glad he is okay. that type of thing is very scary. it happened to my dad before, he had a big wall fall on him during a house construction. aly and i were in the ER last week becuz she was having shaaaaaarp pains in her shoulder and arm, she was crying she was in so much pain. we spent from 11 pm to 2:30 AM there…nooo fun. anyway, i’ll keep him in prayer!

Leave a Reply

