Good Morning Xangaland!


I feel as if I must explain a little better what has been going on around here and how Ryan and I are feeling about it. 


We will definitely be moving though where or when are still unknown.  It looks like Ryan has an excellent chance of getting the job that he wants and probably the base that we want as well.  In the entire Air Force there are 55 slots open in the career he would like to retrain into.  Out of those 55 slots all of them are for the continental 48 states.  Which is good since, because of my surgery, we cannot be stationed overseas (which includes Alaska and Hawaii).  So with a greater number of jobs available in a concentrated area we have a better chance of getting what we want.  Especially since Ryan is the first volunteer in the whole Air Force.


He has to have a routine physical, which will then have to go through an approval process, however he was told that if you pass the physical it will be approved, but as with all things government there is just a lot of red tape.  The approval process could take a couple of months, although he was told if he really wants to keep on top of them it can go a little faster.


Past that we don’t know much, just that once he is approved they will slot him for tech school and give us orders.  


For those of you that are interested we went through all the Air Force Bases in the continental united states and came up with our top eight for our dream sheet.  Keep in mind that we were actually very limited in choices due to the kind of planes that each base supports.  For the job Ryan is pursuing each base has to have certain kinds of planes.   Actually when all was said and done and the research complete there are only 12 bases and only 8 of those we could afford to live at.  So since we needed eight bases it works out!


Our Top Eight AF Bases are as follows.


1. McChord AFB, WA  (Near Tacoma)
2. Fairchild AFB, WA (in Spokane)     
3. Altus AFB, OK                              
4. Wright-Patterson AFB, OH             
5. Charleston AFB, SC                      
6. McConnell AFB, KS                       
7. Keesler AFB, MI                           
8. Scott AFB, IL
                                         


We would really love to go to Washington as I have family there and it would be somewhere our families would love to visit.  However wherever God needs us will be perfect.  We will make the best of wherever we get.


So there you have it as much of the technical information as we have.  LOL


I know that my initial reaction was to freak out a little and I apologize for not explaining that that has changed.  I haven’t had much time to come on here in the last week or so. 


Ryan and I were shocked in the beginning because the timing seemed so bad.  But as I have said before God’s timing is not our timing and I trust Him to do what is best for us.  Yes we are sad to be leaving our family and friends behind.  However the plain truth of it is this, we are excited.


We have been praying hard for the last couple of months for direction and for God to put us where we are needed the most.  We were thinking on a bit smaller of a scale I must admit but obviously God had other plans.


We believe whole heartedly that the best place for our family to be right now and in the future is in God’s plan for our lives.  Only there can we be truly happy and fulfilled.  We have complete faith and trust in God’s will for our lives.


God has promised to never harm us but to prosper us.


“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” 
Jeremiah 29:11


He has promised to be by our side through all the trials and hard times to come and protect us.


“When you pass through the waters I will be with you.  When you walk through he fire you shall not be burned, nor shall the flame scorch you.  For I am the Lord your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior.”
Isaiah 43:2-3


He has promised to make sure that I am taken care of in every situation.


“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.  Therefore do not worry about tomorrow for tomorrow will worry about its own things.  Sufficient for the day is it’s own trouble.
Matthew 6:33-34


So we trust Him completely.  No matter where we go or what we end up doing we trust God to put us where He needs us.  And if we are moving in His will we trust Him to meet our needs. 


Thank you so much for all of your comments and encouragement.  I just wanted to let you know that we are okay.  We are happy and excited and content.  Both of us have a complete peace about leaving. 


Okay I’m off to crochet for another day.  Only two days left until this blanket has to be finished!


Song of the day?  Only Hope by Mandy Moore.  Beautiful song and just how I feel today.  When God is for you who can stand against you?


Courtney

15 thoughts on “

  1. I know…I think thats the worse thing about this whole ordeal. He left here, both of us under the impression that we would be together FINALLY as a family in 3-4 weeks, and then this……
    No goodbye, NO person to hug goodbye, nothing. So its really 11 months to 19 months till I see him again…just a phone. I cant help but cry thinking about it. Its just one thing after another…
    Leah

  2. Thank you so much for posting that.. it really reassures and encourages me and our changes as well.  And again you will always be in my prayers.
    love you guys,
    Stephanie

  3. COURTNEY,
    Hey girl! yes, a secret!! can you believe that? whatever! I hate them but he says after im done being mad I will be happy and mixed with emotions so I am so curious to know what it is now!! blah to him. that nerd head. lol. yeah I have been super busy and its only about to get even more buys since they switched my hours at work which is fine. i dont mind. god will be with you two as you make your choice and what happens is in his hands. I just dont ever want to lose contact with you!! it would break my heart. I miss talking to you but things have been so off lately that theres just not any good time I guess. blah. everything will work out for you…you know that. im praying for you and ryan and i miss you,
    Daphne

  4. I’m praying you get your top choice! Courtney, your faith just amazes me. That is just a great gift to know that everything is going to be alright. You are an amazing and gifted woman and you always manage to blow my socks off. (((Hugs))) to you!

  5. Hey! If you go to McConnell, that’s like a 2 and 1/2 hour drive from Lawrence!! I would have to come down and have lunch of something. And Wright-Pat is one of the bases that Dave could get! And Altus is where my grandma lives! So, there is a chance we could hang out together, or at least have lunch sometime. Good luck! -Michelle

  6. Wright-Patterson is a few hours from me. Not that I wish you away from your number one choices. I am praying hard for you and Ryan…that God will place you exactly where He wants you. Well, that sounds silly! Of course God will place you where He wants you…I guess what I am praying is that you will be okay with wherever that is. lol
    You have remarkable faith and trust in your Lord Jesus. I am sure He is very happy and pleased with how willing you are to put your trust in Him. It will all pay off. I am sure of it.
    -Gia:)

  7. I hope that you get the place of your choice….although, you know, Scott Air Force Base is a WONDERFUL place (and only abo8ut 80 miles from me!!) lol  God will send you in the direction that he feels you should be. I know you both must be in a turmoil over all of this but you are both TOGETHER and that is what is so great!! Love ya!

  8. Oh Lord, DO NOOOOOOT come to Wright Patterson… it is awful here!!!!  We CAN’T wait to get out of here… that’s part of the reason why Steve is going to Korea!!!!

Leave a Reply

