I found an excerpt from a book that so completely spoke to my heart I had to share it. 


I have talked in the not so distant past about my faith and God sending me something that I did not quite expect.  Here is a story of a man that experienced this too.


“Once there was a man who dared God to speak.


Burn the bush like you did for Moses, God,
And I will follow.
Collapse the walls like you did for Joshua, God,
And I will fight.
Still the waves like you did on Galilee, God,
And I will listen.


And so the man sat by a bush, near a wall, close to the sea
and waited for God to speak.


And God heard the man, so God answered.


He sent fire, not for a bush, but for a church.
He brought down a wall, not of brick, but of sin.
He stilled a storm, not of a sea, but of a soul.


And God waited for the man to respond.
And he waited……
And he waited……..
And waited.


But because the man was looking at bushes, not hearts;
bricks and not lives, seas and not souls,
he decided that God had done nothing.


Finally he looked to God and asked, Have you lost your power?
And God looked at him and said, Have you lost your hearing?


I have to be honest that this story hits me right between the eyes.  Sometimes even a warrior needs to lay down her sword and kneel in silence.  For even someone full of zeal and power needs to know the direction they must take those gifts.


Isn’t it amazing what you can see God doing in your life if you will only sit still and listen to His voice?


Courtney


I have felt so very introspective lately.  It’s not that I’m questioning or doubting my faith or my God.  I am simply relearning some of the things I have grow to accustom to having in my life.  As maudlin as I may sound I feel so incredibly alive and fired up.

6 thoughts on “

  1. That’s one of my favorite books.. and my favorite author.  I have been learning alot in the sit back and listen department when it comes to my prayer time.  Thank you for posting this.. I needed to hear it again.  Well, there’s much to talk about when the time is right.  Thank you for being a great friend.
    Stephanie

  2. this comment in ur last post – –
    “Sorry everyone I know it’s not for everyone!  I didn’t intend to leave that up for so long… (embarrassed face) lol ”
    what’d u leave up? ::  lol. 
    praying for you!!

  3. I wish I had as strong faith as your Courtney. Its amazing that in this world anyone still has any. I admire you for it!
    Leah

Leave a Reply

