The Bend in the Road


When we feel we have noting left to give
And we are sure that the “song has ended”
When our day seems over and the shadows fall
And the darkness of night has descended.


Where can we go to find the strength
To valiantly keep on trying,
Where can we find the hand that will dry
The tears that the hear is crying?


There’s but one place to go and that is to God
And, dropping all pretense and pride.
We can pour out our problems without restraint
And gain strength with Him at our side.


And together we stand at life’s crossroads
And view what we think is the end,
But God has a much bigger vision
And He tells us it’s only a bend.


For the road goes on and is smoother
And the “pause in the song” is a “rest”,
And the part that’s unsung and unfinished
Is the sweetest and richest and best.


So rest and relax and grow stronger,
Let go and let God share your load,
Your work is not finished or ended,
You’ve just come to “a bend in the road.”


Helen Steiner Rice


 


Dear God please just be with the families of those who have lost someone in the tradgedy of today.  Just hold and comfort them and let them know you are with them.  Let us all be more aware of the precious gift we have in every day.  Let us live each day to it’s fullest and please remind us to live with passion.  Hold us all as a nation closer to you.  In your name I pray.
Amen


Song of the day?  Heart of Worship by Michael W. Smith.  Because sometimes I need to remember to just go back to the simple things.


Courtney

8 thoughts on “

  1. I needed this today too. I feel like we’re (Jonathan and I) are under attack right now, and it’s hard to hold on. Thank you for this.
    RYC: I would *love* to make cards for you! You just let me know any time and I’ll gladly drop what I’m doing for ya! ;O) Have a great day, Courtney! (((Hugs)))

  2. Hey Courtney, I really miss you hun. we havent been able to really just sit and rant to eachother in a few days and it stinks. You are my strenghth and I miss you. I didnt know Matt was leaving so soon either. I think it is so amazing how God can just stick people into your life for whatever reason that we may not understand at the time, but appreciate later and understand..and I dont know what his purpose is for putting matt into mine..but I love it. He graduates from the post here on August 30th. From there he goes to Georgia for a month or so to jump school with the 82nd airborne and then off to his duty station…ALASKA. He swears hes going to fly me there to see him. I just hope he keeps his word. I really feel like if we both gave 100 percent as much as we could into it..that I could make it through this with him you know? I know it hasnt been long at all since we got together..but In December he is deploying to afghanistan for a year. sigh. I just need your prayers and guidance courtney because you know me..you know what ive been through and I need to know im not crazy for doing this again. when you get time..just talk to me and leave a comment and be as honest as you can (I know you always are:)) hope you two had a blessed friday. talk to you soon hun.

Leave a Reply

