There is something that God has been laying heavily on my heart the last few days.  I keep having a dream about a tree. 


I am standing in a small valley shrouded in mist that is empty but for a large tree in front of me.  It is a large and beautiful fig tree.  Yet even though it is the right time for this tree to be blooming it is barren.


I keep waking up from this dream with one scripture in my head.  Habakkuk 3:17-19


17″Though the fig tree may not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines; Though the labor of the olive may fall, and the fields yield no food; Though the flock be cut off from the fold, and there be on herd in the stalls.  18 Yet I will rejoice in the Lord I will joy in the God of my salvation.  19 The Lord God is my strength; He will make my feet like deer’s feet, and He will make me walk on my high hills.”


I feel in my heart the need to praise God for the things in my life that aren’t there yet but are promised to me.  I feel a tug to rejoice in the things that God will do in my life and to stop worrying about all the little things.


When I was younger there was a poem that I liked, that keeps coming back to me.  It was about a man who had something he loved that was broken.  He kept trying over and over to fix it but could not and was getting frustrated.  God asked the man to give it to him and He would fix it.  The man said okay and started waiting.  Nothing happened and he began to get impatient that it was taking so long.  He finally asked God why he hadn’t fixed it yet and what was taking so long.  God answered, “My child you never let it go.”


I feel sometimes that I am that man, who doesn’t now how to let go of something and let God do what needs to be done.  In my dream the fig tree isn’t blooming even though I knew it was the right season.  But sometimes God’s seasons are not the same as ours.  I just have to trust in Him.  He knows what is best for me and He will keep His promises.


11″For I know the thoughts that I think towards you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  12 Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  13 And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all of your heart.”
Jeremiah 29:11-13


Courtney

11 thoughts on “

  1. Very good post. I struggle with wanting things in my time instead of God’s time. You just helped me remember that. Thank you.

  2. You are very prophetic. Did you know that? These words here…were beautiful to my heart. A missionary prayed over me and told me that God wants me to stop using my brain to figure things out…but to listen to my heart. Then, through scripture and a lovely book I found…I learned that the image of God is inside our hearts…our very souls. No wonder it is my heart that speaks truth and light into my life…it is where God resides within me. But to listen to your heart…you have to let go.
    Lovely, Courtney. And that isn’t a qoute on my page. lol. It is me…speaking out loud. 
    -Gia:)

  3. Oh, I suddenly have a promise to share with you. God has promised me that I will be published because he wants to travel this country with this book and let people see his love through me…use me to bring healing to wounded hearts. And you know what? One day…I am going to meet you in real life and we’re going to have tea or something girly like that and laugh about xanga!
    Oh, yeah, and my little baby will meet yours…wrapped up safe in our arms.
    -Gia:)

  4. Beatiful! I always say that God has a plan for us and that is why things work the way they do…even if we don’t understand WHY, there is a reason for everything. How often I forget to take the time to thank him for the little things…..for instance….all of the friends I have made on xanga…and the computer I type to them on, and the electricity to run the computer and the house that I live in where the computer is at and ……..

  5. Hi hunny. Im sorry that I have neglected doing this for so long, but I am exhausted. Finals took what energy I had left out of me and my family is driving me insane right now with one demand from me after the other. I am so frustrated, but im doing alright. I read about your dream. So do you think it is a calling from God? Do you want to know what I think it is? I think youre going to be pregnant soon…seriously. Think about it…ohhhh. Everything happens for a reason!! Matt and I are doing great. Everyday he is such a blessing to me. It is wierd how God made me go through someone like Mike to find someone Like him..I had to learn a hard lesson I guess to see what was really waiting for me once I snapped out of it. I really hope to hear from you soon! I think im going to update really fast and then go to bed until this headache goes away. Talk to you soon and keeping you in my prayers.

  6. Sorry I haven’t commented much. Alot going on. I have caught up on your posts. Very nice. I love the way you write. Hugs.

  7. wow…it must be nice to know that kinda of promise from him. Wish I could get there, havent yet hopefully soon I will see it
    Leah

Leave a Reply

