Tomorrow my husband Ryan and I will celebrate our five year anniversary. 
It seems like only yesterday, instead of half a decade ago, that I stood side by side with my childhood sweetheart
and promised to love and cherish him and to be his for all my life.


This is our engagement picture…..



Ryan,


When I look at you I see my past, my present, and my future. 
Throughout all of our time together we have seen so many things.  
Though life was, at times, so hard to bear I could always count
on there being a smile on your lips.


The beginning of our new life…..



Sometimes when I look at you I see the child that I loved in innocence
still telling all his stupid jokes and laughing his loud laughs. 
Sometimes I see the man I want so badly to grow old with, to raise a family with, to love until the end of my days. 
But always I see just you.


The end of our first year together……



You have been by my side right there with me through all of the hard times. 
No matter what happened, no matter how serious the situation
you could always make me laugh.
(My mom says your the only one who can make me giggle but that can’t be true since I never giggle!)  
No matter what you always called me beautiful. 
Thank you for that.


The end of our second year together……



Whenever you were parted from my side it felt like half of me was missing. 
Yet I have always been so proud of you, of who you are, and of why you had to go. 
And when you returned, being in your arms felt like coming home. 
You are my destiny.


The end of our third year married……



Throughout all of the loss we have suffered together
you have always been there to hold me up and whisper of hope
and of a next time. 
I wouldn’t have survived without you.


The end of our fourth year together……



Now here we are. 
Five years have passed and to everyone around us five years seems so little,
yet you and I know that five years,
for us,
has contained a lifetime.


The end of our fifth year together……



A Lifetime of heartache, sorrow, pain, anger, hurt, loss, and tears.
But…
a lifetime of joy, triumph, happiness, love, healing, and laughter as well!
Yes there have been bad times but they have all been worth it
for all the good times that followed. 

Here’s to five more years so full of life!



Are you game?


Click Here to read Ryan’s Anniversary post!


Our Wedding Song


All I Ask Of You from the Phantom of the Opera


No more talk of darkness
Forget these wide-eyed fears
I’m here, nothing can harm you
My words will warm and calm you

Let me be your freedom
Let daylight dry your tears
I’m here, with you, beside you
To guard you and to guide you

Say you’ll love me every waking moment
Turn my head with talk of summer time
Say you need me with you now and always
Promise me that all you say is true
That’s all I ask of you 

Let me be your shelter
Let me be your light
You’re safe, no one will find you
Your fears are far behind you 

All I want is freedom
A world with no more night
And you, always beside me
To hold me and to hide me 

Then say you’ll share with me one love, one lifetime
Let me lead you from your solitude
Say you need me with you here, beside you
Anywhere you go, let me go too
Christine, that’s all I ask of you

Say you’ll share with me one love, one lifetime
Say the word and I will follow you
Share each day with me, each night, each morning

Say you love me
You know I do
Love me,
that’s all I ask of you
Anywhere you go, let me go too
Love me, that’s all I ask of you

15 thoughts on “

  1. Happy Anniversary my darlings. I love you both more than you will ever know. And I can’t wait to watch the next five years. I’m so looking forward to all the wonderful things I just know God has planned for you both. Keep doing what you are doing and I hope we’ll be able to get together soon. Much love, Aunt Sue  (I only signed it that way just this once, for you!)
    PS Great post Courtney, glad your back. MWWWAAAHHHH

  2. WOW! We looked so young. Well, we were young. These past five years, good ,bad and ugly have been the best of my entire life. I wouldn’t trade you for the world. I love you more than words can say. I look forward to the next five, and the five after that, and the three after that, and then the 4 months after that. Sorry, that is as far ahead as my mind can think. I love you my Courtneybear. Yours always,Ryan

  3. Aw Honey, what a lovely tribute!  And I love your hubbys comment too!  It’s fun to see the pictues as you progress through your lives together!  I can still see that gleam in his eye!  Sweet days ahead for both of you!~K.K.
    my word for you. . . . Loving

  4. Happy Anniversary Courtney and Ryan! It is so awesome to see two people so in love and so dedicated to one another. Congratulations on five years together…hope the next five are even better! :O)

  5. awhhh happy anniversary Ryan & Courtney!! I wish you guys MANY MANY MORE together….
    I miss you too Courtney!!! I know it feels like FOREVER since we’ve talked!
    You write soo beautifully…its amazing. I cry everytime I read your writting, its just so profounds, and breathtaking! Goodness…go into that as a profession (sp?)…lol
    beautiful pictures, and you LOOK AMAZING!!!! You two look soo happy, its adorable~!
    do you have AIM? let me know! I hope to talk to you later!! Miss you…thinking about you..once again…
    HAPPY 5 YEARS RYAN & COURTNEY!!!!!!!!
    Leah

Leave a Reply

