So this is my song of the day.  I have told you before that I will make peace when peace is needed and make war when there is need for that.  I am sick and tired of being beat down in life by all the little things that happen.  Sometimes I can focus so completely on the little things that happen (and don’t matter) that I lose sight of the things that truely need my attention.  So today, this is my song. 


Bring on the Rain.


Another day has almost come and gone
Can’t imagine what else could go wrong
Sometimes I’d like to hide away somewhere and lock the door
A single battle lost but not the war (‘cause)

Tomorrow’s another day
And I’m thirsty anyway
So bring on the rain

It’s almost like the hard times circle ‘round
A couple drops and they all start coming down
Yeah, I might feel defeated,
I might hang my head
I might be barely breathing – but I’m not dead

Tomorrow’s another day
And I’m thirsty anyway
So bring on the rain

I’m not gonna let it get me down
I’m not gonna cry
And I’m not gonna lose any sleep tonight


Jo Dee Massina and Tim McGraw



So what happened today you might ask?  Just what I said, nothing important.  You have heard me grouching the last few weeks about the rain we have been having and how it has delayed a home project that we have been planning for for almost a year.  We finally had the money for it and it was delayed by rain for three weeks.  So tomorrow was supposed to be the first day, and the weather is beautiful, no rain.  I have been so excited all day.  Then I got the call that our contractor is backing out of the job due to some isues at work.  Not his fault, just life, no problem we hadn’t given him any money yet.  It’s just frusterating.  So now we are back to square one and have to find another contractor and I really don’t think we are going to be able to find one for as low as this guy was.


There are other little furstrations that have been rearing their ugly little heads.  We have been planning a camping trip with my grandparents for the last two months.  It is in two weeks and we have been so excited about it.  I have been the kind of excited that makes the time creep by.  I feel like a kid getting ready for Disneyland.  We replaced some of our old camping gear and bought an air mattress.  We haven’t had a good camping trip in over a year and this would be the first one in years that I would be feeling good and have enough energy to take hikes and just have fun.  Today I got the call.  It has been cancelled due to our record breaking rain.  Lake Alamo is full and the washes are so full that the acess to the lake is all but cut off.  We are going to still go out to the White Tank Mountains about an hour from here but it won’t be the same. 


There are other things.  Too many to name.  Too insignifigant to talk about.  For example my new fish tank has a problem and I have lost half my fish.  My whole computer has crapped out in peices so I have reformated a total of five times in the last four weeks and we have spent way too much money replacing parts and upgradding.  My dog has an ear infection.  A thousand little things and nothing at all.  Just life.


So here is the deal.  I am sick and tired of letting these little things get to me.  I am a woman capable of making war.  God has given me strength, might, and a very strong will.  I will not stand here, a strong woman fully clothed in armor ready for a battle and let a few chigger bites bring me to my knees.  Like the song says “A single battle lost, but not the war.”  I am not gonna let all this junk bring me to my knees.  I will not.  I am going to move on find another contractor and smile.  I am going to go to the White Tanks and have the time of my life.  More mountains to climb anyway.  I will medicate my tank and replace the fish I have lost.  So I spent the money, the computer is better and faster now anyway.  I will buy meds for the dog.  I will deal with it.  I refuse to let these little thing ruin anything for me. 


So what it really comes down to is this.  I am being attacked.  I have been fighting off the attacks for years I think the devil just figured out that the big stuff won’t shake my faith so he is using the little stuff to distract me so here is my attitude….


Tomorrow’s another day
And I’m thirsty anyway
So BRING ON THE RAIN!

9 thoughts on “

  1. Awww.  I am constantly being told God would not let things happen to me if he didn’t think I could not handle them.  I have been dealt a crappy deck of cards! lol, I just go with the flow…..some day things will be right for me. I have to work on handling stress (right now i have two cold sores from my ex-hubby putting me through stress). I just can’t handle it any more.  Camping sounds like what I need…have a new tent too!  Last time 17 of us went, so maybe I should plan another.

  2. wow.
    i too can relate to all the small things that goes on. and of course satan likes to do the smallest things that irritate us the most. but thank God we can just stomp him out and move on. i’ll keep u in my prayers for all that little stuff!! and pray that God brings it all to you without it hurting you financially!

  3. Oh girl, you have been an awesome friend, don’t ever think otherwise!!  You and me are so much alike its just strange lol..And without you and your advice I would have broken down..So don’t ever think that you are a lousy friend k..
    As to your post, and your comment they both about brought me to tears..I hate that time in life when a bunch of little things attack you all at once..But don’t let it get you down..You got a second chance on life, and a few “little” things cannot bring you down!! 
    I get chills when I think about how it will be at that airport when I lay my eyes on him for the first time in almost 7 months..And to hear you mention that and how it will be was just awesome..I am so anxious, excited, nervous, etc., I can hardly stand it..1 week and 6 days to go!!!  *DANCES ON DESK*
    Much Love, 
    *hugs* kritti
    P.S.  I LOVE this song!!!

  4. Im sorry your dealing with all these little things.  If there is anyone on xanga that can get through it, its you.  Your so positive and I adore that about you.RYC:  I think we are going thave some people come and check our place.  I think we need to have our air ducts clean too.  Have a great rest of the day.Kelly

  5. Cheer up honey!  I know how it feels to fee like the entire world is falling down on you….sometimes we ket these little things that add up and it seems like EVERYTHING is against us. I try to remember that tomorrow is a new day. Love you little darlin…..chin up!   I was thinking of you today at Wal-Mart and you made me smile….I was in the office product section! lol

  6. You have had alot of crap lately. Your attittude  is great. Good for you not letting it get you down. I think I need to have more of an attitude like that instead of feeling sorry for myself. Cheer up and keep smiling. You have a beutiful smile.: biggrin :

  7. Awww hunny, I can so relate to you about letting little things get to me, I take things too personal sometimes. But after talking with my husband, and having him tell me I should stop worrying I realise that worrying gives us grey hairs sooner. LMFAO And we dont want that right?
    Dont worry sweetie, everything will work out. Just believe and have faith.
    (((HUGS)))

  8. It is funny how during all of your life’s problems…it is raining. Just remember…that it will pass with the rain and the sun will eventually come our. As they say, “It can’t rain all the time.” I hope things ease up for you and that you can have peace. I feel the same way these days…and I hate it.
    Thank you for your lovely comment. I greatly appreciated it. I wasn’t sure whether or not to post about faith…becuase I have so many new readers that seem a little on the opposite side. But, something told me to do it…show them who I am…and I did. I tell you, this xanga is quite a minstering tool. So many people are reading me, commenting on how beautiful it is. They are not believers…and it makes me smile that they are commenting on how beautiful our Savior is, because that is exactly what they are doing. You see, my words are through the Spirit. I cannot truly write beautifully…it is only a gift.
    -Gia 🙂

Leave a Reply

