First of all.  Yay two more days two more days.  Look at my tickers at the bottom my life is catching up with me!


I have avoided posting any pictures of myself so far.  Since I am about to have gastic bypass surgery I thought it was time to post a few.  I want a record of my before and after since I will be going through so many changes in the next year or so.  The picture below is me just about three weeks ago.  I am currently 285 pounds.



The next picture is me five years ago when I had just gotten engaged I was about 180 pounds.  In one year I should be at this weight again although my eventual goal is 150 per my doctors.  ( Sorry I think this was Christmas morning in my mom and dads cabin just a few weeks after I got engaged and I don’t think I had had my coffee yet.)



So I am now about 8 days away from having surgery.  I am getting really excited.  This  is my new beginning.  I will finally feel young and have energy.  I will want to do all the things I have longed to do for the last four years.  My life will no longer be lived from the sidelines.  I want to be a part of this world not a watcher of it.  I can’t wait to finally get a positive on a pregnancy test and know in my heart that there is a chance I would hold that baby in my arms.  I can’t wait to just live………..


Okay I know this will make this a long post but I need to finish this part of my story before Ryan comes home and I promised to tell you about my wedding and honeymoon.  So here goes….


My Story Chapter 4: The Wedding


Ryan and I were married on June 24th 2000.  The night before we had a rehearsal which was hilarious.  I had the woman who sang at my parents’ wedding sing for mine.  She sang ‘The Lords Prayer’ during our communion and unity candle and ‘All I ask of you’ from Phantom of the Opera with another professional singer.  It was wonderful but during the rehearsal all the groomsmen lip sang along with the opera song in a really goofy way and had all of us cracking up.  We almost didn’t make it through on the day of the wedding.


On the day of the wedding it was crazy but wonderful.  My Dad walking me down the aisle and kissing my cheek was just about the most emotinal moment of my life.



Here is my favorite picture of my dress.  I am sitting with my flower girl. I figured I might as well post it too since I’m doing all the others.



Then came the vows.  My husband got about halfway through and then started laughing. I made myself get through mine but when I asked him later what had happened you would not believe it!  He told me that he was looking down my dress at my cleavage and when he looked up I was looking at him (duh we were facing each other)  he thought I caught him so he started to laugh. (I have to clarify here that we were wearing microphones so everyone heard him laugh, loudly.) 


Then came the kiss.  It was perfect.  I have posted the pic before but here it is again.



The reception was great we were surrounded by about 300 friends and family members.  My husband almost had a heart attack when he was taking the garter off my leg.  My dad yelled, ‘Hey what are you doing!’  just as he touched it and he just about peed his pants.



Notice the tennis shoes?  I refused to wear dress shoes I didn’t want my feet to hurt.  So this was my compromise with my mom.  Cute huh?


Then we were off on our honeymoon.  We spent the first night in a resort here in town and then went on to Las Vegas.  We stayed there for two nights and walked the strip it was so much fun.  Then we went on to Utah.  My grandparents got us a week in a resort but we got there a week early so we stayed in a roach motel.  I mean the kind where we opened a bottom drawer in a dresser and someone had left candy in it and there were four mice.  EEEEEEKKKKKKK!!!!!!! 


Then on to the resort where we both promptly came down with the flu and were sick for the whole week.  Yuck!  Then we drove to Montana and all the campgrounds were full so we drove right through.  46 hours of driving and we ended up in Cuchara Colorado where the pastor that married us lived.  They gave us free reign of a condo they maintained on the mountain we were there for 10 days.  It was wonderful.  They gave us tours of the mountains and included us in their church activities.  We had a blast.  Then we came home and began our life. 


I know this one was a little boring but I had to tell you that last part of our beginning so you would know right where we were before the world crashed in on us. But that story is for another time. 

10 thoughts on “

  1. lol that pic of ur husband taking the guarder belt off is funny.  i can’t wait to hopefully be able to keep in touch and see the changes u go through in the next year!!! yay for 2 more days!

  2. I love your dress. Ill have to post one of mine, i had long sleeves also, first dress I saw, fell in love with it, and it fit!, plus it was half off when we went to buy it! During pictures before the wedding (thank goodness), there were three stairs and a platform.  My heel to my shoe fell off and I fell down all three stairs! I just starting laughing as soon as i realized what happened.  My husband’s cousin ran home with my shoe and fixed it just in time. Then during our vows my oldest son (who was three at the time) was twirling on stage directly behind Chris (he was bored i guess)and the reverend started chuckling while talking.  Ill have to post pics later on. The Flower girl walked down the isle with my son who was the ringer bearer and she got flustered and threw flowers in michael’s face instead of the other side, and the photographer kind of caught that one.  Okay im rambling…again.  Im so excited for you.

  3. I love the picture with the garter. You had a beutiful dress. I’ve thought about the surgery but I need to try losing it first. I haven’t put an honest effort into it yet. For myself I need to try that first.I have to say I think you are a very pretty person already. I know how you feel about wanting the weight off. You and I are around the same weight so I really do understand. Please make sure to keep us updated on how you’re doing. Afriend of mine, she’s also one of my daycare moms had her surgery last April and she’s already lost 147 pounds.She is very happy.Let me know when you go for yours. ðŸ™‚

  4. I want to wish you good luck with your surgery. I had gastric bypass almost 3 years ago and I have lost over 100 lbs. I can’t seem to get past the weight that I’m at. Everyone tells me that I look good how I am but hello, I could deal with losing some more. If you want to chat or have any questions, you can send me a comment. Good luck and Merry Christmas!!!

  5. I love that Phantom with a passion. It is coming out as a movie (no way will it be as good), but I’m taking my mom because she would never go see the show with me.
    Your story is great and the pictures are beautiful. My marriage has been short and very painful, but it is okay because so many people around us comment on our maturity and how other people would have divorced if they has suffered half of what we endured. I just smile…because I love my husband more than I did four years ago when I married him.
    I will pray for you when it comes time for the surgery. I hope the husband makes it in time and is a great support to you.
    -Gia 🙂

  6. I’ve always thought you were beautiful, but you sure did pick two very contrasting pic’s baby.I can’t wait for your health and for your self, until you are once more comfortable in your own skin. Maybe by then it will be my turn.I’m dreaming again, just ignore the old lady in the corner, drooling….hahaha. Soon, soon, your mom told me today to not even bother trying to get a hold of you the first few days, so call me tonight for one more 3 hour tour before Ryan comes home, and you are consumed. I love that image, consumed by the love of your life. *Sigh*, such a love story…Love you, talk to you later.    Auntie Angel

  7. You are a beautiful person, inside and out..I’m so happy your hubby is coming home to you!  I will be praying for your surgery to go well, and for your man to get home safely..Oh by the way, your dress is gorgeous!!  I wish I could figure out the scanner so I could post some of mine..AAAH!! so frustrating!!  :huh:
    *hugs* kritti

Leave a Reply

