I was talking to Sulimb the other day and we came to a realization.  Those of you that now make up this wonderful web of friends that are there for me, rejoice with me, support me, and pray for me don’t know who I am. 


So I have decided that I am going to tell my story.  I am going to use this blog to record a little of my history, some of my stories from my childhood and from my marriage.  Who I am now, who I was, who I hope to become.  No worries it won’t be every entry just here and there.  So I have decided to begin tonight with an entry about my husband.  This is the story of how we met…. both times.


My Story Chapter 1: How we met


First let me say that my story is at best unusual.  My husband and I have know each other literally before either of us can remember.  Our fathers (and mothers) played softball together when they were teenagers.  When I was but a twinkle in my father’s eye my uncle started a church called Faith Family.  My parents and his parents were 2 of the first four families that joined this new church. 


Our whole lives we were sweethearts he was my boyfriend for as long as I can remember.  You know the cute kind.  We held hands on the playground and went everywhere together.  His best friend and my best friend were an ‘item’ too.  We went everywhere together, the four of us, his best friend ended up being my husbands best man and she was my maid of honor.


When I was seven he won my heart.  Not just my hand.  We were sitting on top of a gate in the church yard waiting for Sunday night service to start, watching the sunset.  I sighed and said that I had always (at seven hahaha) wanted my wedding to be red, orange, and yellow to match a sunset.  He looked deep into my eyes and said, “No it has to be blue to match your eyes.”  Ahh how cheesy sweet.  So that was it, I was in love. 


Things went how things will go and when I was twelve my family made a gut wrenching decission to leave the church.  Two years later the church broke up and we, this wonderful extended family were scattered to the winds. 


I saw him once at a wedding.  He was going away to boot camp and I was engaged.  I saw him and my heart broke a little.  He was standing there talking to a group of boys I had known my whole life and I was too shy to say hello.  I can’t express to you how afraid of him I was.  After all that we had done together as children, the friendship we had, what would he think of me?  So I didn’t speak to him.  Here he was the love of my life that little boy who wanted me to have a blue wedding.  But it was not to be we had seperate lives. 


One year later.  I was living in my parents back yard in a travel trailer.  The ultimate freedom.  My best friend was living with me at the time.  We were sitting there watching TV on a Friday afternoon and she gots a call from a family member.  A few minutes later she turns to look at me and says, “Courtney, Ryan Laube”  Amazingly I get this huge goofy grin and go bright red.  She laughs and says, “That’s what I thought!  Apparently his mom wants you to go to thier church on Sunday.  Ryan saw you at a softball game a few weeks ago and told his mom that if you went to his church he would go more often.”


And so I went.  It was the usual cute teenage bantering (after church of course) but after a little time he asked if I would go to the mall with him.  I went.  He watched me the whole time and I must admit I watched him.  After an hour or so we decided to go home and I was in the truck driving away and he ran out in front of it.  His eyes met mine and as cheesy as it sounds it was like my soul recognizing it’s soul mate.  I could see the little boy that was my puppy love and my heart flipped over and then flopped.  I knew in that moment that this was it.  He was it.  To bad I was driving the whole time.  I ran him over.  Good thing I was in a truck!!! 


He told me later that it was the same for him though I’m sure with less drama.  He also told me that when he saw me at that wedding that he wanted to ask me out then and there but he found out that I was engaged so he didn’t even talk to me.  He was afraid that he would say something he shouldn’t.


And so it began.  This life we have together.


……………………..To Be Continued……………………….

10 thoughts on “

  1.  :throb:I LOOOOVE THIS STORY :throb:, GREAT JOB. HUM…I WONDER WHICH ONE COMES NEXT? :hug: :wub: NOW THIS IS WHAT WE STARTED THIS FOR, HUH? LET THE KIDS HAVE THE CANDY, I’LL TAKE THE MEAT!! :pease: TOO MUCH FUN, I’M HAVING TOO MUCH FUN HERE…LOVE YA, ANGEL

  2. Your a quick responder, i had just posted it turned around and there was a comment.  Alex my youngest is a handful.  Michael my 8.5 year old is the laid back calm one. They are like night and day…remind me of my brother and i growing up.  You will find out what its like in 2007.

  3. Even though Iwas there for the story and heard the excited girl (you) tell me in her bedroom the story face to face as it unfolded… I can’t wait to hear the next part…I’m so excited! This is how God intended it to be from Adam and Eve.I love you, I’m proud of You, and HAPPY for you. True love is so obvious to anyone that knows you and Ryan. Anyone out there reading this response…. I have the best sister in the world , I know that everyone says that, But that’s because you havn’t met the blessing in my life who’s helped shape the woman I am becoming and supported me through thick and thin! In fact every member of my family my brother Ryan included, is more that I could posibly imagine wanting in my whole life. Without Pride I must say in ALL HONESTY that I have the best family ever put together ever! I am one of the few I believe that can say that and truly mean it with all my heart. Just thought y’all should know!
    Love you Courtney,Charly

  4. Ahhh man! And I thought I had the butest story! 🙂 That has to be one of the sweetest things I have read in a long time. Roger says that he saw me once when we were little, but I think he pulled that one outta his ears!! To love as a child and then end up with each other in the end?! That is amazing…but what happened to your engagement?
    -Gia  🙂

  5. SHanks for my comment your soo sweet anyways have a good night I know I will mikey will be here sooon! I Love Ya!
    **Nina**

  6.  :wub:  How sweet!!  Thats so cool that you guys knew each other as kids!  Just from the way you write about him I can tell how much you guys love each other..That is awesome!  Can’t wait to read more! 
     :wave: *hugs* kritti

  7. OH..THAT MAKES ME VERY HAPPY. *BIG SMILE* I AM NOT SURE WHAT IT IS ABOUT THAT LITTLE PART OF YOUR STORY FROM YOUR LIFE THAT YOU DESVRIBED, THAT JUST MAKES ME VERY HAPPY?  I REALLY WANT TO HEAR MORE. THE PACKING IS NOT GOING WELL. MICHAEL HAS BEEN HOME FOR NOT EVEN A WEEK YET AND I SAW HIM FOR ONE DAY. *TEARS* AND EVERYTIME I TRY TO PACK ALL I DO IS CRY AND THINK ABOUT HIM. THERE IS SO MUCH TO CONSIDER AND SO MUCH RESPONSIBILITY THAT IS ABOUT TO TAKE OVER OUR RELATIONSHIP..BUT WE LOVE EACHOTHER AND I CANNOT WAIT TO BE HOME WITH HIM AGAIN. BEFORE I EVEN MET HIM..JUST LOOKING AT HIS PICTURE..THERE WAS JUST SOMETHING ABOUT HIS EYES..YOU KNOW? SOMETHING THEY TOLD ME ABOUT HIM THAT I UNDERSTOOD FAR MORE THAN I UNDERSTOOD..LOL.
    DAPHNE

Leave a Reply

